Monday, 30 November 2015

Wow..


Wow, 

Hey everyone how are we all doing? 

I can't believe that the last time I did a book review was in July, that's so crazy! I used to post one or two up nearly every month! 

Life has been so busy recently, what with my new job, the cakes, college and all the crochet I've got to do, there's just so much for me to do and I hardly have the time to do it, do you ever feel like that too? 

I promise that there will be a book review up soon, certainly before the end of the year. I think that I won't be beating my 2014 reading challenge this year for sure, and I know for a fact that I haven't logged onto Goodreads in so long, I don't even know what my last read was! 

Thank you to everyone who has still been coming onto the blog, either to see updates, read past reviews (I hope they help in your choice of reading, let me know!) or whether you're just passing by, you're always welcome!

I've not been every well over these past months, and if I'm honest I'm still trying to figure out what's wrong with me. They say that you know your own body and when there's something wrong with it and that's what I'm trying to do. So when it comes to the wind down of the day, I just want to snuggle up with Netflix under a blanket and chill, not read which I am so sad about. 

Though hopefully, I will start to feel better soon and there will be more posts on this dusty old blog, I mean I do love it to pieces and I do love blogging. So why not do more of it right? 

I hope to post soon and to see you all back online looking for reviews and suggestions on what to read next. 

Until next time (not too long though) 

Much love, as always.



Tuesday, 20 October 2015

Long time no speak


Morning all, 

how are we all doing? 

Just a quick one to say Hi, and that I haven't disappeared off the face of the earth and that I am intact still alive and well! 

I have been so busy over the past few months, I don't know where to start! I haven't read so much which I am gutted about, I've got about 5 blankets to make and only just nearly finished one for next month - ahh! I also have been so quiet on my cake page which I am not too happy about either. 

In-between doing all this, I've been visiting family members, looking after family (my dad recently had a sinus operation so he's not been too great, but is slowly not he mend now) Looking for jobs, going to interviews, going to college and catching up with said college coursework! 

It's been hectic! But hopefully I will be able to relax a bit soon and get some reviews up! I'm halfway though The Mortal Instruments: City of Glass, which I can't wait to get back into - If I can remember what is happening in it. I also want to be able to find some new book series's to read, anyone have any ideas let me know!

On the other news, as you know - I like to read books by set months so: 

Spring - Anything that comes (usually some YA) 
Summer - Romance and chick lit
Autumn - Halloween / Crime / Horror
Winter - Christmas Romances

So when it came to my Halloween reads - Immediately I thought to re-read The Halloween Tree by Ray Bradbury. But when I went to find it, I couldn't place it anywhere, I've looked high and low frantically and i just have no idea where it is, I am so sad as it was an original too. Damn, I shall have to see If I can find another to replace it - I'm so gutted though, I love Ray Bradbury! 

I do have another Bradbury book that I haven't read yet though, so I can give that one a go and it's only a short read so hopefully there should be a new review up at some point this week! Hoozah! 

For now though, 
I must get off as I have college coursework, update another two sites and some projects to finish! 

Much love as always, 

Wednesday, 22 July 2015

A Walk In The Park * Jill Mansell

A Walk In The Park by Jill Mansell 

It's been a while, but Lara Carson's back in Bath and lives are set to change as a result. 

Because Lara left her family and boyfriend Flynn eighteen years ago without a word to anyone. Why has no one heard from her since? 

Things have changed since Lara last left Bath, but returning eighteen years later hasn't changed her mind on what she has to do. She wouldn't have come back if the solicitors hadn't asked for her to be there at her late fathers funeral. 

Sitting at the back of the church, it seems like not everyone has forgotten that she left home when she was eighteen. Especially not her evil stepmother, if she had to be in any Disney film, she would place herself in Cinderella. 

But not everything is as bad as it seems, when she bumps into her oldest and best friend from school Evie, they act like as if Lara had never left. Evie has waited all her life to be able to see Lara again, and to ask her one simple question: Why did she leave Bath, and not tell her? 

Things are looking up for Evie, as far as Lara can see. She's getting married and Lara couldn't be more thrilled! But things aren't what they seem when Evie receives a distressed call from the hairdresser and make up artist for the big day, only to find out that her loving fiance Joel has been sleeping behind her back, could she of found out at a worse time? 

Lara never thought this would happen, but bumping into Flyn eighteen years later was like a kick to the chest, all the air was sucked out of her lungs and she felt like fainting. He still recognised her and he still looked as beautiful as ever, if not more handsome since he was eighteen. So when Evie grabs her hand to make a dash from her wedding and for her to follow, Lara couldn't be more thrilled. Though now she had to tell Flyn that he had an eighteen year old daughter, and nothing could be more complicated if she tried. 

Flyn can't believe his eyes, Lara was just standing in front of him, his Lara from eighteen years ago and she was still just as beautiful. But questions needed to be answered and he needed to find her and soon before he lost her again, his love for her was still strong and he's never been able to forget about her ever since.  

Join Evie and Flyn on their journey as they go from the past and into the future. Will Lara ever be able to love him again? Can Flyn really trust her and will Evie ever be happy ever after? And of course, the most important question on everyone's lips...

Why did you Lave Lara? 

A Walk In The Park by Jill Mansell, is the 23rd novel by the wonderful Jill! Now if you've been following this blog for a while, you will know how much of a Jill Mansell fan I am. I just adore her books and he writing! The first ever book review I did of one of Jill's books, was To The Moon And Back - and even though it was one of her newest books at the time, I just loved it, and since then I have reviewed many of her books and still reviewing them to this day! (Please take my apologies for the book review, it was a few years ago and not up to the standard of the reviews now) 

I had a bit of a thing the last time I read a Jill Mansell book, and although I love her, the last book I read I didn't really find enjoyable. I found it was a bit repetitive compared to some of the other books and you could tell what was going to happen. So I didn't read any of the books for a while and then I just decided I wanted to read a good old Chick-Lit this summer and I am so glad that I picked up one of Jill's books on my shelf because I loved it so much! This is the 5th book I have read by this incredible author and I will always continue to read the books as I just can't get enough!

I loved the storyline of this book so much, on how they we're just teenage sweethearts but it was so much more than that, it was a bit like a modern Romeo & Juliet but with a child into the equation. I loved Gigi's character and Flyn's the most, Flyn sounded devilishly handsome and Lara was just too cute. I found Evie was the heroin out of all the other characters in the book. I felt like she had to deal with so much more and my heart went out to her.  

Such a brilliant book and it has been added to my re-read list. 
Fantastic Jill! Keep up the brilliant work! 

I will give this book 9 out of 10

Broken * K. Webster

Broken by K. Webster

Andi has the perfect life. She is about to graduate with an Architecture degree and marry her-All American baseball star-fiancé. Her world is soon turned upside down.

Left to pick up the pieces of her shattered life, she takes on a new persona—a promiscuous one. This new role protects her heart from ever being broken again. 


Andi had it all, with finishing college just around the corner and an All-American, baseball loving fiance who she is destined to marry, things we're starting to look up for her. 

So when she decides to surprise her finance with an early visit, she wasn't expecting her world to come crashing down around her feet and her heart to be broken into a million shattered pieces. He had only gone and slept with another woman. 

Since then Andi has taken on a new persona, she meets a new guy every weekend and only sees them for three nights, doing whatever tickles there fancy. Her best friend Pepper, doesn't agree with what she is doing and doesn't like this new life that Andi is living, but what can she do or say to stop her? 

That was before Andi met Jackson.

But she can't shake the feeling off that there is something about Jackson, something more than meets the eye, and she's going to find out what that something is. Even if she has to play a bit hard to get.

Jackson has skeletons, and baggage, lots of it. But when he first sets his eyes on Andi, he instantly feels alive again and it's not only his mind that's springing to attention. He likes that she's not like all the other girls, and he likes a woman that knows what she wants. So when the chips are down and the tables are turned in his favour, can he stand up to the test that's in front of him? 

Broken by K. Webster, is the first instalment in the Breaking The Rules series, but not the first book by Webster. The book has been been written in past tense and the present, flicking from stages in Andi's life whilst with her ex and what happened after the break up. I wasn't too sure on this when I first started reading the book if I'm honest, but after I got into it a bit more, I loved the idea of it. 

Let me just get this out of the way before I carry on with the verdict. You all know that I have been trying to find a great series like, The Knight Trilogy, and I searched high and low for some books to come up close but always failed. So let me tell you now, that this is it. Yes, ladies and gentlemen; I have finally found a book that is just as good if not better! 

Broken, was such a great read! It has so many twists and turns in the book, the plot was brilliant and the characters we're amazing, I'm telling you now, that if you have read The Knight Series and thought that Lucien was hot, then you've got another thing coming until you read about Jackson cause my god! What a smoker he is! 

I loved the book more on it's terms of the plot, there was never a dull moment in the story from when it kicked off up until the very end, I was constantly turning those pages and finished it within about 3-4 days. I could not put it down! 

I am a little disappointed that the next books don't follow on from Andi and Jackson's relationship as I would Love to read more about them. From what I have gathered, the books go on to talk about the relationships of the other characters in the book, which is also like the Knight Series. I would definitely re-read this books and possibly the series once I have got my hands on it. I loved the authors way of words and once again, the plot was amazing and very creative! 

All in all, I loved this book and I can't wait to read the rest of this series! 

I will give this book 9 out of 10


  

Tuesday, 30 June 2015

Tigers In Red Weather * Liza Klaussmann

Tigers In Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann

Nick and her cousin Helena have grown up together and shared long hot summers over at Tiger House. With husbands and children of their own, the girls keep returning. But against the background of parties, cocktails, moonlight and Jazz, how long can perfection last? 

There is always the summer that changes everything. 

Set int the elegant 1940's Nick and Helena have always been close family members and best friends, spending hours chatting and having cocktails in the hot summer sun, to spending every summer holiday together in their Holiday home - Tiger House. 

All goes to plan, Nick falls madly in love with Hughes, a fighter in the war but soon feels disengaged and lonely when he is hardly ever there, searching for more glamour and romance in her life, Nick decides to go in search for it, but going in completely the wrong direction. 

Helena on the other hand has married into a disastrous marriage, even though madly in love with him, she just can't seem to get away from her obsessed and a little unnerving husband. Soon she starts to despise of her cousins relationship with her husband, her wonderful, romantic and glamorous marriage, but the grass isn't always greener on the other side. If anyone knows this, it's Nick. 

Fast forward to a few years and both cousins have children, Nick has a lovely young and beautiful daughter Daisy. Who is head strong and knows what she wants, even if she does get a little bit blind sided along the way, but her best friend and cousin also, Ed; there as thick as thieves and no one can stop them. 

But Ed has other ideas, ideas that only he knows. Suspicions of people's lives, how his family live theirs. He analyses them one by one, picking out flaws and things that they are unhappy with in their small and meaningless lives. 

He doesn't understand for example, why his mother stays with his Father, constantly giving him money for this "business" of his and why all those nights ago she slept with another man. Or how Daisy loves Taylor, a boy from the tennis club, but not him. 
Why his Aunt Nick has a better life than his mother and him, why she's perfect and gets everything and his mother has had to suffer. 

Or how his uncle Hughes is always watching him, like he doesn't trust him at all...
and he shouldn't for that matter. 

Tigers In Red the Weather by Liza Klaussmann, is the first novel by this wonderful author. The book is very well written (Which I appreciate) the story line was great and the plot always thickened. 

I'm slowly starting to really enjoy books that are set in the 1940's and on wards, the love I have for their fashion back then is overwhelming and everything about it is just beautiful!

I must admit, this was the first ever book I bought for my Kobo and he's been sat on the shelves of it for quite some time collecting dust. So, since I started the To Be Read Pile, challenge I decided to dust the ebook cover off and give it a whirl, and I was not disappointed. 

The book is set out about a different character per so many chapters and is told through different different years, so you have to pay more attention to detail and where the story is going, who your reading about and the year. I found this a bit difficult if I'm honest, took me a while to understand it and even near the end of the book I was flicking back to the contents to see who was matching up with who and what year. 

Nevertheless it was a great read and had such twists and turns in, which by the end I was quite shocked if I'm honest and quite dark in some places all the while making me want to read it in the sun with a nice glass of wine by the beach. Portrayed in the elegant and glamorous years, full with dinner parties, cocktails and fabulous dresses. 

I would happily read this book again, even if it may confuse me a little bit again! I recommend this book for this summer, a great summer read sat outside in the sunshine. A historic book in someways, filled with romance, lust and mystery and suspense I was very eager to turn the pages to find out what happened next! I was a slow start I must admit but I'm glad that I perused with the book otherwise I would of found this author! 

I will give this book 8 out of 10

Monday, 8 June 2015

Operation Sunshine * Jenny Colgan

Operation Sunshine by Jenny Colgan

Sun, Sea, Sangria and...

Evie is desperate for a holiday - a good one. Not only from working all hours as a receptionist but also because every break she's ever been on has involved sunburn, arguments and projectile vomiting - sometimes all at once. Why can't she have a holiday like everyone else? Peaceful sunbathing and (fingers crossed) some much needed sex. 

And then Evie's employers invite her to a conference in the beautiful South of France. At last, the chance to party with the rich and glamorous. It's the holiday of a lifetime - but things don't work out in quite the way Evie imagines...


Evie can't seem to get away, she's always working, being pestered by her idiot brothers and is still single. But when her employers talk about going away for a conference  Evie  can't help but jump at the chance to go on a holiday of a lifetime. Even if her employers have other things for her to do whilst she's there, like still doing all the paper work.  

Though after booking the flights, hotel and the places of fine dining, Evie finds she has got more than she bargained for when she arrives in the sunny paradise. 

To start, she wasn't booked in on first class like everyone else, she wasn't in the same hotel as everyone else and to top it all off the other receptionist, Lydia is in tow, will the holiday get better? 

To somewhat does, she meets wonderful and sexy Tom another Dr amongst the mist of all the others, but his bright orange hair changes her mind and it looks like that she will finally be getting her summer romance. 

Soon everything starts to spiral out of control, everyone isn't who she thought they we're, the holiday turns into something out of a James Bond movie and her brothers are acting strange.

Follow Evie with her sunburns, bad romances and over all her mad holiday of a lifetime. 

Operation Sunshine by Jenny Colgan, is the second novel that I have read from this amazing woman. I managed to read Operation Sunshine in under a week, it was such a quick summer read. Though apart of me wishes I saved it for when it got really sunny, needs to be read during the summer, just perfect!

The book is hilarious in places and I felt like it had such a good storyline! I've seen other people's reviews and they thought it was a bit bland. I can't possibly understand why, there's so much going on all the time you don't know where the book will turn. 

From first reading the book to the end, I did not think it would end like that at all! It had such a twist, was hilarious and had some good action as well as romance. Just what you need for the summer. 

I loved Evie's Character, Tom was a nutcase but was hilarious and Dr. Benentt changed from Dr.Good to Dr.Evil in a matter of seconds, which was quite funny! Be warned though, if you are partial to animal harming then you may need to take this book with a pinch of salt. 

It doesn't word it all in a good way, they all rebel against the "scientists" and save the animal rights so it's quite heroic! Just a warning that is all!

All in all I thought the book was great! I can't wait to read more of Colgan's books this summer, I think I would definitely read this book again at some point. If you're wanting a quick summer read this summer, I suggest reading this book! 

Quick, fast paced, action, humorous and full of romance, perfect for the beach or the park. 

I will give this book 8.5 out of 10.

Saturday, 18 April 2015

Practically Perfect * Katie Fforde

Practically Perfect by Katie Fforde

Anna, a newly qualified interior designer, has decided it's time to put her money and her expertise where her mouth is. She's risked everything on buying a tiny but adorable cottage so she can renovate it, sell it on, and prove to her family that she can earn her own living.

But all is not what it seems, after all, one should never judge a book by it's cover. 

On a super of the moment and to start up her dream job, Anna has bought at the perfect cottage of her dreams, in the tiny town of Amberford. 

But there's another reason why Anna moved to the picturesque village, her old tutor. Max, the charming, sophisticated, handsome and downright dishy tutor from her student days that she's held a candle for the past three years, lived somewhere near the town. Or at least his mother did, and she just might get to see him again. 

Upon closer examination Anna has realised that there is a lot more work to be done, than just sanding and decorating. For a start, she has no staircase, just a ladder to get up to the second level and there is no flooring to walk on, just beams. Determined, Anna will still progress with the building and the work that needs doing on it, after all how hard can it be this time? 

Soon Anna starts to feel a little homesick in a new little village with no one she knows. But when her new next door neighbour's stood on her doorstep waiting for the plumber, Anna soon finds that she won't be friendless for too long. With Anna fixing her plumbing problems and Chloe being ever so thankful by handing over tea and wine, Anna and Chloe soon start to become great friends. 

Along the way Anna has been persuaded by Chloe to take on ownership of an ex-racing greyhound Caroline. Soon it was just Anna and Chloe taking the little cottage house by storm, even if i t meant having to see some of Anna's possessions being broken in the process. And not by Chloe's three boys. 

But not everything is what as it seems, for one she has Rob Hunter coming round and demolishing her dreams of owning her house by informing her that it is a listed building, and that he is none other than the listed buildings officer. To Anna's astonishment and annoyance, she now has to go by him and change all her plans, and if it couldn't get any worse. The irritating yet handsomely attractive Mr. Hunter is also the rehoming officer for the Greyhound rescue services, who just so happened to see the state of her house. 

Anna's not going down without a fight! She's worked too hard for this house and she will get it back up to running and legal order, just the same with her dog Caroline. With brilliant friends along the way and using every strength she has, Anna will get everything she has ever dreamt of, even if it means sacrificing a few things along the way. 

Join Anna as she embarks on the adventure of a lifetime, through love, hate, betrayal, friendship, romance and not forgetting family. On this roller coaster he calls her life. 

Practically Perfect by Katie Fforde, is one of her many novels that I should of been reading years ago! This is the first book that I have read by Fforde and wish that I had been reading her books sooner. Her writing style is on the same Parr with Jill Mansell and Jenny Colgan and I loved it! 

The book was well written, funny in places and a downright summer read! It was very fast paced that I loved and the characters we're well written. I think of all my favourite character was Chloe, her laid back attitude towards everyone and her mothering over Anna just in some ways felt like home, I don't know. I guess what I'm trying to say is that is had a lovely homey and family feeling to the book which I'm sure in some ways with Anna's fair share of bad look and tiny snaggles in romances that everyone woman has been in those laughable but cringe worthy moments! 

The story flowed nicely and it is a perfect book to read on a warm summers day, or even if you wanted a quick read. I would say that it is a perfect book to read if you have kids and have a spare couple of hours ;)  

I picked up the book from the Charity table for 50p from Tesco's and I'm so glad I did otherwise I wouldn't of found out about this author, well I probably would of but probably not so quickly. I am glad though because I will now read more books by her and can't wait for all the lovely summer reads! You know how I am with the reviews and seasons, hey! That could be a new name for the blog! But who knows, what do you all think? 

I also liked the sound of the book from the blurb, and when I got into it I loved it more as Anna followed her dreams to be able to do what she wanted and she never  gave up or let anyone or anything get in her way as well as people who thought differently of it. Which I loved and is exactly the pick me up that I needed to be able to push my bum into gear and get on with my Cake pages! 

In some places Anna did annoy me a bit, just down to the pure fact that she was having after a man who didn't give a rats arse about her and she knew, but because she had pined after him for so many years she just put up with it for a little while, but she came to her senses in the end! 

All in all I will give this book a 9 out of 10! 

Sunday, 12 April 2015

Three seconds To Midnight * Clarifications (Wattpad review)

Three Seconds To Midnight by Clarifications 

In which Death answers the questions of the dead and discovers himself along the way.

Have you ever wondered what conversations went on with death and the people he meets along the way? Ever thought what it would be like to pass judgement onto people and their doings in life or thought what Mr. Reaper might say? 

Then read this book, don't just take a glance at it read it.  

Throughout history, things have happened there has been the devastating Holocaust, people on Death Row, children being killed or taking their lives and people dying in general for the sake of being somewhere in the wrong moment at the wrong time. 

Follow death as he has very in depth conversations with children who have died for no reason, horrible nasty people who hate everything and wish to know why they aren't going to Heaven and why Death has to make his mind up on where to send these people on their merry way. And why sometimes people need a good lesson or two on life, and that some just want to have one last chat before they go to the other side. 

Three Seconds To Midnight by Clarifications, is a short story that I found on Wattled and man what a great app that is! Filled with loads and loads of different books and stories for free by very small authors with so much talent that need to be recognised and this is one of those authors. 

I know this is a very short review and I couldn't really put much into it as it would give away the whole story, plus it's really short as stated. I actually started this book today and finished it within an hour! I just could not put it down! 

The book is very very well written and it is well set out, it flows smoothly and is very intriguing  The book is very very deep I may warn you, it's a little bit dark but it's not bad as it is based on big parts in history so it has already happened, horrible things that have happened I may add. 

I thought the book was very clever as since it's based in History, it's basically just Death having conversations with people who have died and how they may have reacted and how Death had to in some ways look after them or teach them a lesson or two. All the characters have been written wonderfully and Death's character is also quite funny as well as very smart and witty with a slap stick sense of humour, which is a nice twist. 

In each character the writer has reflected on what they have done in the past to either make them die or how they died, each chapter starts with a little fact file about this person who has been admitted to Death, who will 'Judge' them on where they are going. 

Although I am not religious myself, I find the book is lightly based around the bible and what Death would of said to some people, though reading this book and the responses he gave to some of the people I would totally agree with his response. 

The book is really deep and does make you think about the world and the universe and how it works, and how if someone does exist why would half of this stuff, the bad stuff happen around the world. To me I think the book is lightly based on the Bible, but in some ways, it's not 'slamming' the Bible in anyway, nothing against the Bible, I think that it just questions what really exists and the existence of any other human life in the world up there in the sky and if that someone, something did exist, then as it is mentioned in the book, why would half of the people die and have to suffer? 

I know I have waffled on a bit in this review, but I feel that if you're reviewing books, then you are allowed to have your view and say. After all, it's a creative hobby / activity to do / have and we should all be able to have our say on books and listen to other peoples opinions too. 

Have you read this book? What did you think to it? If you haven't read this book I suggest you do as it is fantastically written and it has wonderful background and just creativeness towards it.  I think this book deserves way more recognition than what it has and should actually be in the shops! Also, the book which surprised me, was written by a thirteen year old, that just blew my mind! For the sake of how much thinking process has gone into it and how deep the book go's it really starts to get to you and to get you thinking on how the world actually works and in someways if anything that people in the past was worth it? 

The author may not have meant it to be like that or how they are portraying their work, but to me that is how I see it, but it is a good way in which I see it. I just feel that we all need to open our eyes a bit more to what has/was and is going on around the world in the past and in the present now and what will be happening in the future, before it is too late? 

After all, one of the things that was mentioned in the book was that the biggest feeling you get when you die is Regret. I feel that is such a big and powerful meaning and to say that a thirteen year old has written this and said this in a story, makes me think that everyone needs to stop and think about what is happening to our world. 

I will give this book a wonderful 10 out of 10 as that is what I feel the book and the author deserves, well done! I was going to post this review as part of the 'Small Authors reviews' At the end of the month but just couldn't wait to post it and felt it needed to be reviewed asap. 

I highly recommend this book. 

Friday, 10 April 2015

April Update - "Where have you been!"


Hey everyone! 

Long time no speak, how are we all? Good I hope? 

It's just a quick post to say what has been happening lately! So, so start with, I'm sorry that I haven't been posting anything recently, I've been tied up with the Cake page - Sprinkles, Sparkle & Magic That I haven't been reading in a while, wait! I have before everyone panic's haha 

I've been doing a little bit of reading now and then, I'm currently reading about 4-5 books, simply because I can't make my mind up on what genre to read and what mood I'm in. Since it's getting into the summer, I want to go straight to my chicklit's and summer romances, as you know! If you have been following this blog for a while, there's a certain way in which I go through my books haha. 

The books that I have been currently reading (Or that are on my Goodreads 'currently reading' shelf are as follows: 

1. The Yard by Alex Grecian 
2. Tigers In Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann
3. Love, Nina by Nina Stibbe
4. Practically Perfect by Katie Fforde 
(Picked up from a charity table for 50p!) 

So as you can see, I do have a fair amount of reading to get through, I can't promise which will be the next review as I'm just going on which one I fancy reading on that day. I have given up reading Horns at the moment, simply because I don't feel in the mood to read it. But it's on my Kobo so I can pick it back up and go straight into the chapter where I left off! 

I just fancy really light summery reads at the moment, does anyone else do this or know what I mean? ;) 

In other news, I have been baking many cakes and decorating them all in lovely pretty colours and flavours! So that is why I have been so busy, if you wish to look at my page, please go and take a look at the other blog! (Link is placed up at the top of the page!) Thanks!! 

I have also decided that I will be doing something new! I have gained a new app called Wattpad, which has loads and loads of little hidden gems by very small authors! So I have decided that in the last week of every month, I will find a book from the app that's from a hidden author and do a review of it! Oooh that's a good name actually! 'Hidden Authors!' 

There we go then, it's settled last week of every month starting this moth there will be a post called "Hidden Authors!" Keep any eye out for the reviews! I have a new signature too, cute huh? 

Lots of love and happy reading as always, 

X X

Saturday, 28 February 2015

Undenied * Maya Banks

Undenied by Maya Banks

Payton Ricci is the last person Wes Hoffman ever expected or wanted to see again. After the disastrous sexual experience between them twelve years ago, he was only too happy to put the whole episode behind him. 

Wes Hoffman is happy in his life, he's surrounded by loving friends, a great job and no commitments. But when his group of friends slowly start to all get married and pop out children, he soon starts to feel a little out of place and like a third wheel. 

Payton Ricci is on a night out with her best mates, it's a bachelorette party and she feels like she is always the bridesmaid and never the bride, but that's okay. She's not really looking for a strings attached kind of relationship, just a quick fondle with a handsome man. So when she catches her eye on Wes Hoffman sat at the bar, Payton can't believe her luck. 

There couldn't be anything worse than spotting Payton Ricci at the same bar as him. All Wes wanted was a quite night at the bar after a stressful day at work with a nice cold pint. Not at all to be reminded of the past and for it to brought up in his face, but he should of known better with Payton. 

Soon there's an argument and Wes is running out of the bar as fast as he can with his tail between his legs, he doesn't want to be around her, he felt embarrassed twelve years ago when he was a teenager he doesn't want to bring up that embarrassment again. 

But Payton does, knocking on the door of Wes Hoffman's house, she wants an explanation and she wants one now. So going on a drive, Wes explains everything and to bust his ego even more she finds it hilarious, but soon finds him sweet and caring. 

Soon both of them are in too deep and out of their depth, with the amazing romantic gestures and passionate but hot sex, have they become a big part of each others lives or are they just "friends with benefits"? Which if they are, they have both bargained far much more than they thought, their feelings towards each other and love. 

Will both Wes and Payton declare their love not only to each other but to themselves? And what will it damage on the way there? Friendships? Family? Or their future? 

Undenied by Maya Banks, is the third and last installment in her Unbroken Trilogy series, and I must say I have really enjoyed reading the series. For once I didn't get board throughout the books as there was a plot all the way through like I've said before, and not just sex. 

Each book has all the same characters in, but are all about different couples and relationships, but Banks has managed to make sure everyone else's relationships flow smoothly throughout the books. I think I will read more of Banks's books in the future as I am very happy with them, I feel I am closer to finding a set of books like the Knight Trilogy, which I am so happy about!

I loved Payton and Wes's relationship, it was essentially like reading a book about two love struck teenagers. Awkward, shy, lustful and a head full of questions. I don't know what else I can say about the book or the books, I've really enjoyed reading them and will definitely be reading some more of Maya Banks's work. 

They we're so good, that I ended up reading all three books back to back! Now that's something!

 I must say before I forget that the cover art for the three books are absolutely beautiful! I mean, just LOOK at them. I love the cover art for these books, they look lovely and beautiful! It made it even better too read, as I do love a book with a good cover ;) Beautiful, I know it's simple but they're perfect! 

Also I finished the book yesterday, so I've not let anyone down by posting it too late ;)





I will give this book 7 out of 10 

The book series all in all: 8.5 out of 10 


Thursday, 19 February 2015

Overheard * Maya Banks

Overheard by Maya Banks

Gracie Evans is a woman tired of the men in her life not satisfying her in bed. She’s had a string of boyfriends, but none of them have come close to satisfying the vivid fantasies she has. 

Two weeks before Valentine’s Day, she breaks up with her latest boyfriend after a night of lackluster sex. 

Gracie Evans isn't afraid to say what's on her mind, or of the consequences after she's opened her mouth and said a few words. So when she splits up with her boyfriend because the sex wasn't up to standards, she isn't surprised when he hits the roof and nearly her. 

Luke Forsythe has known Gracie for as long has he can remember. They we're in school together, college together and now they don't live that far away from each other. So when Luke bumps into the argument brewing up outside, he couldn't help but interject. But something is on the tip of his tongue that he wants to ask her, something he knows she will be angry about.

See, Luke overheard Gracie talking, talking about her wildest fantasies and what she wishes to do with whoever gets with her. And Luke just can't wait to tell Wes, cause he knows he will be up for it as much as he is, and also Gracie. 

So the weekend of Valentine's day, Gracie is in for a treat. After going on a date with Luke and enjoying it, a weekend at the cabin filled with love and passion will be a great thing for her, and a change from the usual boring sex in her life. 

But things aren't what they seem when she walks in on Luke and Wes having a conversation, about her fantasies and what they wish to do to her and for her. Half of her is downright annoyed that they planned this and didn't tell her. The other half is over the moon and aroused.  

Going with the flow and daring to try a new experience is frightful and nerve-racking, but Gracie has excepted the challenged and she cannot wait to get started. 

Overheard by Maya Banks, is the second installment in the Unbroken Series. In this novel, we follow the life of the main character Gracie Evans, a young woman who likes a challenge, new experiences and isn't afraid to speak what's on her mind. A girl after my own heart! 

Gracie has a secret that her best friend Luke overheard (hence the name of the book itself) and decides to jump to to the task, whilst dragging his friend Wes along with him. I thought this book was quite good and well thought out. Even though it was a bit like Not until You Risk ~ Part Two - Roni Loren (which you can find the review here to get a jist of this book that I'm reviewing now)

I thought it was better on a whole than the book by Roni Loren. 

The book series is quite short but the actual stories themselves aren't quite bad. I love the fact that they have an actual storyline and not just about sex which is great as it starts to get a bit boring with it just being about it. To put it quite frank, to me if it doesn't have a storyline to go with it, you may as well just watch porn. 

Now I know that some people may find me prude for saying that, I assure you I'm not, otherwise I wouldn't read books of the sort. I think there better when they have a story to go with it, it makes it, lets say "thicker" It is sexy as hell though! Scorching infact! 

All in all there is one more book in this series that I am currently reading and a new book review shall be up soon. Once again I am sorry that this book review is so late. I have been trying to update my cake page :) 

Thank you to everyone who is reading the reviews!

I will give this book 6.5 out of 10 

Monday, 26 January 2015

Understood * Maya Banks

Understood by Maya Banks

Jake Turner committed the ultimate mistake of falling in love with his best friend’s wife. The distance he puts between them costs both him and Ellie Matthews dearly. 

Jake will never forgive himself for not seeing what a bastard his friend was. Now that Ellie is free from her nightmare, Jake waits, needing and wanting. He’ll be there when Ellie is ready to spread her wings.

Ellie Matthews is still haunted with what happened to her in the past, and she won't ever be able to get over it. Not just yet at least. 

Jake has always been in love with Ellie, ever since she married his best friend and NFL Football player, Ray. When Ellie married "The golden boy" of the area, everyone loved it, everyone apart from Jake. It tore him deeply, cut him in two that she married Ray, so he kept himself at a distance to keep him away from the pain. 

But whilst he did that, Jake didn't know the shocking truths behind Ellie and Ray's marriage, until one night when she knocked on his door. In tears, ripped clothes, blood splattered legs and bruises all over her face, Jake soon realised that the grass was definitely not greener on the other side, especially not for Ellie. 

It's been two years since Ellie and Ray's divorce, though Ellie is still not up to scratch, mentally and physically. So when she walks into the local bar, shirt mini skirt on, boobs nearly on show and red high-heeled boots, Jake knows that there is something wrong. 

Soon Jake and Ellie are in it together, Jake trying to do anything to make her happy, and Ellie just trying to get away from it all. A relationship starts to bloom filled with love and sexual tension and everything is looking up for Ellie. 

But when Ray comes knocking on Ellie's door furiously and refusing to leave, Ellie soon goes back into her shell, refusing to come out and all of Jake's work has gone back to square one. 

Will Ellie go back to her normal ways, or will she be a scared woman forever? 

And will Jake ever get to love the woman of his dreams, or will it all shatter around his feet? 

Understood by Maya Banks, is the first instalment in the Unbroken book series, the series to my knowledge doesn't follow the story of Jake and Ellie, but it does follow other characters in the book and their relationships. 

I am quite happy with this book and feel I am a bit closer to finding some books that are like the Knight series haha. The book has a story line, more of a story line that a sexual story line, which is good. Although I do like the other parts. 

In some ways I did like the story line, but in other ways I didn't, simply because it had abuse in and no one wants to read about that. I loved Jake's character, he was so lovely and determined to look after Ellie and it didn't bother him at all if she had done anything, he just wanted to love and care for her, to not let anything bad happen to her and it was lovely. 

Ellie's character was very well written I think, the way she was described and her attitude towards everything was very well written. I loved how she was with Jake and her relationships as well as her emotions. 

All in all I liked this book, I thought it was okay and will happily read the next instalment in the series. 

I will give this book 6.5 out of 10 

Because You Are Mine: Part One * Beth Kerry

Because You Are Mine: Part One by Beth Kerry 

Francesca Arno has been commissioned to create a grand centerpiece painting for the lobby of Ian Noble’s new skyscraper. It’s at a cocktail party in her honor that she first meets him—and the attraction is immediate for Francesca. It’s also bewildering.

When Francesca Arno is invited to a dinner party to celebrate her paintings, she is a little bit nervous. Though it soon starts to change as she is introduced to the man who wants her to paint more pictures for him. 

Ian Noble is a highly successful billionaire. He has the brains, the money, women and a fine eye for art. So when his eyes fall onto the work of Miss. Arno, he can't wait to meet her face to face. Though though when he does, he don't think he will be able to hold himself back for much longer. 

When Ian invites Francesca back to his apartment, he is merely showing her around his house just so she can get a taste of where she will be doing her paintings. But something strikes her as unsettling, since when Ian shows Miss. Arno a painting he has of hers, she soon realizes that the man she painted years ago in the late night of the park, was in fact Mr. Noble himself. 

Soon their relationship starts to blossom as both Francesca and Ian can't stop thinking about each other. Will they start a new blossoming romance? Or will secrets start to come to the surface? 

Because You Are Mine: Part One by Beth Kerry, Is the first installment in the 'Because You Are Mine' series, it is another one of those series that is panned out over eight small erotic books, instead of a couple of larger books. 

To be honest with you, I couldn't fall in love with this book. I am still on the quest to find something as amazing as the Knight Series but I am failing miserably. I thought these new books could be the one, but I felt I nearly had to place matchsticks under my eyes to keep them up, I was that bored. This books honestly reminded me of Fifty Shades Of Grey, to me, it was boring. The same as all the others and lacked imagination. 

The same old billionaire, same old naive woman who can't fight her own battles and believes she needs a man in her life, the bloke brooding and being miserable, they end up having a "steamy" relationship and that's that. A book series that I can't see they hype about. 

No I can honestly say I didn't really like this book and don't think I will be reading anymore of this series. I may try some more of Beth Kerry's books but certainly not this series. 

I will give this book a 2 out of 10