Monday, 29 December 2014

The Vicious Deep * Zoraida Cordova

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova

For Tristan Hart, everything changes with one crashing wave. 

He was gone for three days. Sucked out to sea in a tidal wave and spit back ashore at Coney Island with no memory of what happened. Now his dreams are haunted by a terrifying silver mermaid with razor-sharp teeth. 

His best friend Layla is convinced something is wrong. But how can he explain he can sense emotion like never before? How can he explain he's heir to a kingdom he never knew existed? That he's suddenly a pawn in a battle as ancient as the gods. 

Something happened to him in those three days. He was claimed by the sea...and now it wants him back.


Tristan Hart has everything going for him, he's a talented swimmer on the swim team, he's popular, good looking, has the best group of friends anyone could ask for and has all the girls chasing after him. So what could possibly go wrong? 

Besides the fact that he drowned trying to save a child from the ocean and when he came back after blacking out, he couldn't remember anything at all apart from a weird woman with a mermaid tail and razor sharp teeth haunting his mind and dreams.


Though all things soon go out of shape when he falls asleep in the bath then wakes up with a mermaid's tail and fish pouring out of the taps and a scar on his back that burns like hell. So when he confronts his mother about his strange and bizarre problems, all things start to make sense...well, if you can say it makes sense, seeing as your mother is the sea kings daughter and you so happen to be the next heir to the underworld thrown and that your mothers evil sister is out to kill him, then yeah, Everything makes total sense!

Soon Tristan learns he's not the boy he thought he was and his life isn't what he thought it was, wiping away at the frosted windows Tristan realises he needs to think fast if he wants to save everyone and everything he loves, including his best friend Layla. Hart is a whole new world and doesn't know where to start, but with the help of his family, his grandfather and friends, he may just be able to pull it off, and save the world. Just.

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova is the first instalment in The Vicious Deep book series and is about a young boy who finds out his life is quite different to what he thought it was and learning how to change fast to be able to save everyone he loves. 

I picked this book up from the Library a while a go and I admit I finished reading this book a few months back but never got round to writing the review so I apologise for the really late review, I have another review to do after this one as well, but we will be up to date then :) 

I really liked Tristan and Layla's characters in this book, to be honest I loved all the characters, the way they we're written and portrayed was great and it was a good and exciting read. I did sometimes find myself being a bit lazy and not wanting to finish it as in some places it did drag on a bit, though I am glad that I finished it. 

The book ends with a cliff hanger which is always good, to which it will then go onto the next two books, I don't know if I will be reading the other two books just yet but I will pick them up at some point and finish it off. 

The only thing I have about the book is that it was a bit slow in places and I felt it dragged on a little bit, but it did pick back up and Tristan's character was brilliant! He's cocky bu not too much, just the right amount and he's brave. Layla's character was mostly annoyed at him but you can tell that's she's smitten for him which it was lovely. 

This is a big one, but the other thing is that it reminded me of the Percy Jackson film (I've not read the books but would like too!) a bit too much in places which I feel lets it down a little regarding that this book came out after the Jackson books. There are some similarities in places. 

I will give this book 6.5 out of 10



Saturday, 1 November 2014

Knight and Stay * Kitty French

Knight and Stay by Kitty French 

Sophie black has turned her back on both her cheating husband and her sexy, enigmatic boss Lucien Knight. When she hits rock bottom, she finds herself drawn back into Lucien's glamorous no strings, high stakes world of intensely erotic encounters. 

Bold and beautiful, Lucien is a walking, talking Viking sex god-the ultimate rebound guy. His is a seductive world of pleasure without limits or commitment, but can Sophie's already bruised heart survive his strictly no ties rule? 


After walking out on her husband and leaving her job at Knight Inc, Sophie Black is at a loss for words. Slumming on the couch at her best friends Kate, Sophie decides she needs to get a hold of herself, meaning no more weeks spent on the couch eating ice-cream and drinking wine. So with her head down and her tail between her legs she returns to her old job at the building firm in the small cramped office with her leech of a boss. And with Dan returning to her bed with his tail between his legs, could anything else go wrong in Sophie's life? 

Lucien can't function straight, to be quite honest, he misses Sophie Black more than anything. He doesn't know what it is about her, but she has him by the balls and the heart and he can't do anything about her. It's not her beautiful curves, or her hot body, it's her face, her heart and her personality, that his mind, heart and manhood have gotten him into trouble. 

But when Ms. Black said the three words that some men don't want to hear, can he put those words behind him and get on with his life.

So when he told Sophie that she could no longer work for him for a second time round, it was a blow for Sophie and a gut turning mistake for him. But when his father is taken to hospital for a turn for the worst, he must put Sophie and everything else behind him in order to make peace with his father, if he can do that. 

Sophie soon finds out that Lucien is back in Norway on a trip to visit his father, and without a second glance she has packed her bags and on the first plane out of London and to Norway to visit the man she loves. 

Soon Sophie and Lucien are reunited, but under different circumstances, one that they both can agree on is the best option for them. They will have to get to grips with each other again, but they don't have to get to grips with each others bodies again. 

Though when things are once heated up again will Lucien push Sophie away for the third time? Or will he love her back? 

Knight and Stay by Kitty French, is the last instalment of the Knight series by Kitty French and I must say that I am quite saddened by this. After finding an erotic series that I quite liked, I would of loved for the story to follow on a bit longer rather than two books. However, the two books that have been written about Sophie and Lucien's relationship were great and I really enjoyed them. 

I loved Sophie and Lucien's characters hugely, I thought they had a great background behind them, more so of Lucien's. I really liked this as I started reading Fifty Shades of Grey and just felt that there was no story line to it, I admit that I didn't read very much into it, but what I have gathered from people telling me about it, is that it is mostly sex. 

Yes, the Knight series did have quite a lot of sex in it, but it did have a good storyline to also follow as well as the erotic features. In some ways, even though that the book is an erotic novel, I find it did have more of a plot to it than sex, which in someway's I also enjoyed.  

I love Sophie and Lucien so much and wished they we're making a film about them instead of FSOG as I feel it would be a much better plot to watch than FSOG.I just loved how they we're with each other, how that Lucien acts all strong but cares for her so much and just wants to protect her all the time and to show her just how beautiful she really is, which I thought was just beautiful. 
How he changes towards the end is lovely. 

The ending of the book is great, although as I have stated I do wish there we're more books coming. There is a third one, but it is loosely based around Sophie and Lucien and more around Kate and her lover, which I soon shall be reading and doing a review of. 

I will give this book 8 out of 10




Friday, 17 October 2014

Knight and Play * Kitty French

Knight and Play by Kitty French

There's only one thing in life Lucien Knight really hates, and that's husbands who cheat on their wives.

There's only one problem in Sophie Black's life. Her cheating husband...

From the moment Lucien and Sophie meet, the seal is set.






Sophie Black is at a junction in her material life, she doesn't know whether to turn left or right and she certainly doesn't know what's happening. With her husband gone most of the time on business, but with a slight inkling that he's away for a little more than meetings and more for pleasure, Sophie doesn't know which way to turn.  

But when she decides to take the chance of leaving her old job, a job from an older man with wondering hands, Sophie soon confronts her best friend's mind on what she should do. But when she tells her to go for it, what has she got to loose, Sophie is all for it. 

Kissing envelopes and dressing rather sexy for her interview with Knight Inc. Sophie soon finds herself in a whole new world, one where she's definitely not in Kansas or with Toto. 

Lucien Knight is a highly sophisticated business man, making a living from his adult clubs around the UK and his sex toy industry, who wouldn't be successful in such a market? His blond hair and piercing blue eyes could scorch anyone with the passion that he holds in them, and his height and other regions would be a bit of a competition. No one can knock him from his feet and walk all over him, that is, until Ms.Black walks through his office door and changes everything. 

From her small statue and long flowing hair, Lucien can see under that fragile skin of hers that there is a better, beautiful woman waiting to get out and play. He just needs to get her attention away from her husband to prove and show it to her. So when things start to get steamy in his office, he might be en route to showing her what she is really made of, and they beauty that lies within her.  

With a trip to Norway, a fumble in the woods and a husband that needs to learn his place in their relationship. Who will Sophie choose? 

Knight and Play by Kitty French, is the first novel in the Knight erotic trilogy, spanned over two books, there is a third but it's more based on another couple - a bit like the Sole Regret erotic series (Which you can read the first review here ---> Try Me Review.

But anyway, this is the first novel out of the other books and I must say I rather liked it. I started to read 50 Shades of Grey last year or before but I just couldn't do it. My friend was telling me to wait till chapter ten and I hadn't even finished one chapter! I couldn't read it because I found the writing skills very poor and it just didn't have a story line based around it, it was just soft porn. You might as well have watched it online is all I'm saying and the woman character just annoyed me. 

I mostly couldn't read it down to the poor writing skills and I couldn't understand why everyone thought it was amazing! But - That's just me haha. I really did try to read it so I could write a book review for it on how I felt but I couldn't put myself through it, I felt like I was watching paint dry and it felt like torture. 

But! On the other hand, I really did enjoy Knight and Play, after reading Kitty / Kat French's romance novel - Book review located here --> Undertaking Love Review,
I went in search to find more books by the author and found these little beauties! 

The book is based around three characters, mainly focusing on Sophie Black and Lucien Knight. For me Lucien is quite a sexy name. Knight first meets Sophie when she is looking for another job and her friend forces her to go and seek out a job with Knight Inc. But little did Sophie know that it was a business in the sex industry. 

In places I felt that Sophie was a little bit prudish, with not knowing what anything was and thought that she should stop being a snob in some places, but then it all started to change. I also think on the whole cheating thing with her husband was, well...

Her husband is having an affair with some other woman, and she ends up sleeping with Lucien. I can see from peoples points of view that it is just as bad, but then that annoys me a little for the fact that "Well he did it and didn't give a toss, so why should she sit and wait for him if he's been unfaithful" But then some people are all "Thou shall not do, what it is done upon to others" Or something or other, and to me not being religious anyway, I just think that's a pile of nonsense. 

It would be the same it it we're the other way round for me, so I'm not saying that cause she's a woman she should "wait" for her man. If she did it and it was her husband who didn't cheat I would say he can do the same! If they clearly don't love each other anymore, then what is the point in them staying in a relationship, just for the sole purpose because you have a piece of metal around your finger?

I didn't think there was anything wrong with the way Sophie was being, I agree on some level that she probably shouldn't of just let Lucien grope her straight away but each to their own! All in all I did enjoy the story, I feel there was romance in some part, as well as just pure lust. There was drama and there was a story line that was based around Lucien which hasn't come out yet which makes it a bit more secretive into what will happen in the next book. 

I will give this book 7.5 out of 10

Wednesday, 15 October 2014

October Update!


Hi Everyone!! 

How are we all doing this afternoon? 

I'm terribly sorry I've not been updating in a while, I can assure you that I have still been reading, just not been updating! I have been keeping up to date with my cake page which we are on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. 

Facebook: Search for Sprinkle, Sparkle and Magic
Twitter: Search for @SSMCakes
Instagram: Search for Sprinklesparkleandmagic

We have this logo! 




Please see the links for all the above if you wish to have a look, I do have a blog for it but it's not quite finished yet. Which is on my to do list! 

A lot has been happening this month and some of it has been pretty rubbish to be honest. I will start with the good though!

I don't know if I told you, but I recently started college! I am studying Level 1 cake decorating and loving every minute of it, it's great! I'm only there for one day but it's awesome. I've also been searching for jobs on the job front but no such luck at the moment, got to keep trying I guess but it is kinda a downer when no one wants you to work for them :/

And then in other news, my cat Marmalade, of 15 1/2 years died on the 3rd October, which was crap. He was a lovely little ginger cat and I'd had him since I was 5 and now I'm 20. I miss him so much, it was so rubbish. But he was getting old  and he couldn't breath so we had to put him down sadly, it was the best for him. Obviously I wanted him to always be here and at first didn't want him to be put down, but then he would of  had to undergo tests and whatnot and he's just too old for it so it would of only caused him distress. 

We got him cremated though and he is back home safe and sound on my bookshelf so he's still with me :) I love him to pieces and always will. 


This is my little handsome fluff ball, Marmalade :) <3 xxx="">

But! On a happier note, I will be getting into the swing of reading for Halloween so any suggestions let me know! The background has been changed for the spooky holiday and then we will be on to Christmas soon! I've nearly finished a couple of books so expect the reviews to be up in a couple of days :) 

Hope to see you all soon! 

Love, Emma xxx

Undertaking Love * kat French

Undertaking Love by Kat French

Sexy and smart, with an extremely desirable male lead, this a delightful debut from an exciting new new voice in women's fiction. 

When Marla Jacobs discovers that the shop next door to her Little White Wedding Chapel is to become a funeral parlour, She declares an all-out war. 

Funny, romantic and dangerously sexy.


Marla Jacobs is a highly functioning, strong independent woman and she knows what she wants. She's an American woman living in England running her own little wedding chapel, just like the ones back out in the States. Everything is going well for Marla, she has the job, the house, the family and friends and of course her loveable big dog Bluey. 


So when she hears the news, that the new shop opening up next door to her beloved Little White Wedding Chapel, is not the Cupcake shop that she thought it would be. But is in fact a Funeral Parlour, things start to get a bit messy. 

Gabriel Ryan is down on his luck, and after a death in the family, he moves away from Ireland to set up the funeral business somewhere else and follow in his fathers footsteps. He feels like he's got the luck on his side when he finds out Marla is his new neighbour, but all starts to turn sour as soon as she finds out who he is and what he is doing. 

Marla won't be going down without a fight, she can see it before her eyes: Brides bumping into widows, bouquets being swapped for wreaths, and Limos being held up by hearses. Marla can't stand the thought and soon starts up a campaign to get Gabriel out of town and to take his parlour with him, but when it turns into a hate campaign, things start to get a bit out of hand. 

It's all war when Ryan gets his hands into the situation too. Soon the couple are fighting against each other trying to win the votes over from the public, but when one of Marla's close friends does something unforgivable, will the pair start to iron out the creases in their relationship or will it heat things up more? 

Sexy and Irish, Gabriel has a few tricks up his sleeves and is happy to get his hands dirty in the battle for the right of who's shop stays on the street. Even if it means grabbing Marla's friends behind her back.

Though she starts to see Gabriel in a different light, she starts to have other feelings for him How is she supposed to argue with him and claim her title of her shop being the only one on that road, when she just wants to jump into the shower with him? 

Undertaking Love by Kat French is the first novel by the author, (although she has written other books under the name of 'Kitty French' which are under the Erotic category) is the first romantic novel the author has written, and I must say it is amazing!


I know that sounds a bit far fetched and you may just think that "well she thinks that about every book she reads" But I don't and I'm starting to be more strict on what I am reviewing. Though I can honestly say that I really enjoyed this book and wish to purchase it one day so I can read it again. 

I borrowed it from the Library after reading the blurb and it sounding funny. I can tell you now that it is quite funny in places, rude, crude and downright dirty with foul play from both sides of the sex to get what they want. It's the perfect Love-hate relationship book and couldn't get any better. 

One of the books where you're begging the characters to get together, even though they hate each other. But you know they will soon fall in love and everything will click into place. The story behind the book is great and the plot is brilliant. There's always something happening in the book as the story unfolds.

There are some shockers, tear jerkers, edge on the seat, infatuated love, frustration, anger and annoyance moments with all characters. In a way the book reminded me of the TV Stella, if I could describe the book as a TV show that's what it would be. 

It is worth a read and I would recommend it to anyone! Get yourself a copy! 

I will give this book 10 out of 10! 

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Little Beach Street Bakery * Jenny Colgan

Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

Hi - Authors don't usually write this bit - the bit on the back that tells you the story. And this story is dead simple: Polly opens a bakery! 

But, to me, what this book is really about is being brave; about striking out on your own when everything's against you. It's about daring to drop out of the rat race; about the satisfaction of making things by hand; of sharing with friends and neighbours; and how a simple creative act with a touch of flour and yeast can produce something quite magical. 

And it's about how simple things can bring you joy - the changing seasons; the sea; hard work - all these can lift your spirits, even when life tries it's hardest to kick you in the teeth. - Also it contains some very daft jokes about puffins. Probably too many, really, I got very attached to that puffin. 

Polly Waterford is on the run, from a relationship gone wrong, her job and the people coming round to take away her beloved possessions. So when she moves away from Plymouth and ends up in the quiet and peaceful town of Mount Polbearne, things couldn't get any worse. Apart from her flat that she is living in if falling around her, her new landlady is a horrible old woman and she hardly has any money to live off. 

So, putting her mind to use Polly starts to bake. The only thing that keeps her sane and calm is to bake a homemade loaf of bread, though things start to get out of hand when she takes some down for the local fishing crew and ends up making a pack with half of the people in town to make secret loafs. 

Though Polly has a few other things on her mind, what with her new best friend being an injured puffin and Mrs. Manse not liking her baking in "her" village, to which is threatening to boot her out of the home to make sure she never bakes bread again.  To which this infuriates Polly and she goes on every quest possible, to annoy the old lady. 

Soon Polly has become good friends with all the fishermen, even more so with Tarnie ,the captain of the lot. As well as the rest of the town folk, but there's one mysterious man that everyone talks about that she has never laid eyes on. The quiet and laid back beekeeper of Mount Polbearne, Huckle. But when Polly bumps into him, she soon knows who he is, with his beautiful eyes and long, surfer boy blond hair how could Polly not miss him.  

But when a tragedy hits Polbearne unexpectedly, will everyone's life go back to normal? Will Polly keep her business going and has she ruined it with the one man she wanted more than anyone in the world? And will Neil come back? 


Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan, is the first book I have ever read by this author and I'm actually questioning myself, why? I should have been reading Colgan's books years ago and cannot understand how I have only just picked this up. 

Having a huge passion for baking myself, this book stood out to me straight away in WHSmiths with it's title alone, then after reading the blurb I soon put it on my list to read and was over the moon when I finally bought it. I couldn't wait to read it! 

I loved this book so much! I loved all the characters, especially Polly and the little Puffin Neil, I loved his character so much. I thought the story line was really good, I didn't feel it dragged on like some romance stories. Though I find this book was more about finding yourself and who you really are, and that once you have a dream to do something in your life. To never, ever let it go and pursue that dream. Which is exactly what I am doing, and this book and inspired me even more to keep going with my dreams and ambitions, so I thank Jenny Colgan for that greatly. 

The story was written very well, it flowed throughout the book and the characters we're amazing! There wasn't one character I disliked or didn't take a shine too. They all had their own little personality which I think is a big thing to do when writing characters. 

All in all, I can say that this book has helped me not to let go of my dreams and to keep pushing at them if I'm honest. It's inspiring, heart warming, funny, and romantic all at the same time. There's even a big twist in it too! I will definitely be reading more of Jenny Colgan's books. 

I will give this book 10 out of 10

Thursday, 24 July 2014

You're The One That I Don't Want * Alexandra Potter

You're The One That I Don't Want by Alexandra Potter


How do you know he's the one? Are you getting butterflies just thinking about him?

Have you dreamt of marrying him? Do you just know?

Nate was the one for Lucy,but after ten years they've lost contact,then New York brings them together; how is she to lose him.


When 18 Lucy Hemmingway makes the trip of a lifetime, she's gone to Venice to spend the summer at Art college, a perfect dream for her which has just come true in such a beautiful city. Though when she meets Nate, everything changes.Soon though couple become inseparable, spending their free days eating galato and moping around in bed then walking around Venice centre in the evening.

But when a loved up Lucy and Nate encounter an old man who lets them in on the story about the legend of the bridge of sighs, the couple soon think it's a great idea and with their split coin pendants, a trip on a gondola under the bridge of sighs, with the sunset going down and the bells chiming in the background. They both kiss, and if anything the old mad said is true, they will be together for eternity. 

Fast forward ten years later and Lucy is 28 and living in New York with her new flat mate and hippie chick Robyn. Though even though it's ten years on she is still hung up over Nate and every small detail reminds her of him. Maybe the legend of the bridge of sighs wasn't so true after all. But when she's helping take a delivery of paintings to a penthouse in New York for the gallery where she works. She can't believe her luck when she bumps into Nate ten years later and snooping around his house no doubt!

Soon Lucy and Nate become inseparable and it's like nothing has changed between them, apart from Nate still wearing the pineapple boxers his ex-girlfriend bought him because they we're to precious for him to get rid of. But everything isn't as it seems as the couple seem to be arguing more about trivial things than having lovely, passionate sex according to Lucy. Plus Nate has changed so much, gone we're the days of shovelling pizza into their mouths in Venice, now it's exercise and state of the art juicing machines! Plus an iPhone which seems to be glued to his ear constantly. 

Being in love with Nate isn't as good as what she can remember and Lucy soon wants out, don't get her wrong, the sex is amazing! But he's a total obsessive nut! With Nate and Lucy rowing too soon into their precious relationship, she goes off to look at art and bumps into Adam - a lovely film student. But things are as good as they seem in Lucy and Nate's relationship isn't it? 

Wrong - Lucy bumps into Nate, again and again and again.

Everything couldn't be worse! Soon Lucy starts to believe that Nate is The One, but not the one she wants, he's The One she wants to get rid of, for good. But all that is a bit impossible since he is everywhere she goes! On a trip to the Vineyards - He's her double booked room mate. Sharing a taxi - Think again, it's with Nate. Out on a dinner with her uptight sister - Guess who's sitting next to her? 

It's almost as if Lucy Hemmingway is stuck in a nightmare and not a romantic love affair, there's no way of getting rid of Nathaniel and she wants him GONE. Her kooky, hippie and spell loving room-mate Robyn believes it's the Legend coming to life back in Italy. But is she is right, then what is Lucy going to do and how will she get rid of Nathaniel? 

One things for sure, you can't play with Fate


You're The One That I Don't Want by Alexandra Potter, is the second book and I have read by this author and I loved it to pieces! I admit that at first I was a bit unsure and thought that the book was a bit slow at the beginning. But I carried on reading it and I loved it! I really liked the story line and thought it was a great romantic, summery book. Lucy's character was hilarious and I really did feel for her as she could never get away from her Ex-boyfriend. I thought their antics we're funny and it was just great!

I really loved Robyn's character, I have a friend just like her and it really did remind me of my friend and her sense of humour and care free look on life was beautiful. She had no worries or stress and I wish I was like that haha. I liked all the characters honestly, I thought they we're all very well written and their story lines we're great. Potter really went the extra mile to give each character a detailed part and life within this book.

Really great and I would recommend it if you're looking for a lovely little summer read!

I will give this book 8.5 out of 10

Monday, 21 July 2014

Share Me * Olivia Cunning

Share Me by Olivia Cunning

After a benefit concert, Lindsey longs to spend an amazing Christmas Eve with her favourite band, Sole Regret, to thank them for their generosity.

Even though she followed their tour bus up a slick mountain pass during a blizzard, she never expected to spend an entire snowy night with two generous rock stars who love to share their gifts. 

Trapped on a tour bus with her best friend, a rock band, and the bus driver, what can these naughty ladies possibly do to keep warm? Perhaps a better question is what won't they do?


Lindsey and her best friend Vanessa are about to have to time of their lives. They have just witnessed Sole Regrets benefit concert in their hometown, for the sake of a little girls life. Both think that it couldn't get any better than this, but when Lindsey's desires get the best of her, both girls soon find themselves to be behind the bands tour bus, following there every move. 

It's winter and that means it's Christmas time for the boys of Sole Regret. They all have places they wish to be, but it's never that simple when you're in a band and travelling around the world. Shade wants to be able to see his little girl on Christmas, Gabe and Adam want to be able to see their woman, Kellen can't get over the death of his late wife and Owen. Well, he doesn't mind one bit, he just wants to have Christmas wherever he is, though it would be good if he was with his family, but he's easy. 

So when Lindsey and Vanessa turn up in the parking lot of a closed cafe where the boys have decided to take camp for the night. And when Lindsey gets hit in the face with a snowball, things start to get heated up as both girls are taken for a ride of their lives. 

Soon things are warming up and everyone on the bus is put through their paces as they go on one big ride. Quite literally with everyone, much to the boys happiness. 

Share Me by Olivia Cunning, is the first / 4th instalment in the Sole Regret erotic series. I say this because on her site, it is at the start of the series and numbered at 0.5. Though Cunning's herself has stated that this was a Christmas novella and was brought out separately, but she decided to add it into the series at a later date. So when I went to purchase the next book, it said that is is best read before the actual 4th book. It's complicated I know.  

Anyway! On to my opinion, what can I say? I don't really know what to say to be honest, I'm quite disappointing with this book and sadly the last one before this! Which is such a shame and I know I said it in the last review I did on this series but it is! I really enjoyed the first two, but the ones after it have been quite a let down. 

I found once again, that this book didn't have any story line to it really, much like the one before it: Take Me. Though that one had more of a story line than this one. This was just pretty much about an orgy (If I'm going to be honest and frank with you) The book then started to get a bit weird, too weird for my liking. Though I will continue with the series and I hope that it does pick up! 

Once again, I know it's not a long review but because they are such short books, I can't really write about a lot other wise there would be no review! Hope you enjoyed the review thought!

I will give this book 3 out of 10


Wednesday, 16 July 2014

July Update


Hey everyone! 

How are you all doing? 

Just a quick update to say what has been happening recently, and I feel I owe an update seeing as I haven't done one in a while and just been posing book reviews, let, right and centre. But that's a good thing I guess! Haha 

I recently took a little trip to The Works, an amazing cheap bookstore (for those of you if you don't have one near you) And I picked up some books for £5 - Such a bargain! 
(Again if you don't know about The Works, it's simple - Books are £1.99 each or 3 for £5!) Once again, such a bargain!!

So I picked up the three books below, some of which I've been wanting for a while. 



So I got... 

Miranda's Big Mistake * Jill Mansell - Miranda is overjoyed when she meets Greg at a cocktail party. Greg is handsome and funny, but he has not told Miranda everything about himself, such as the pregnant wife he has just abandoned. From the author of PERFECT TIMING, MIXED DOUBLES and HEAD OVER HEELS.

HEARTSIDE BAY SERIES - The New Girl * Cathy Cole - Life, love and everything in between...Lila Murray is determined to leave behind the drama of her old life and make a fresh start in Heartside Bay. But when she falls for Ollie the hottest boy at Heartside High, she makes an instant enemy of Eve, the school's Queen Bee. Eve wants Ollie for herself and now she will do anything to keep them apart...

Take a Look at Me Now * Miranda Dickinson - How far would you go to make a new start?

When Nell’s on-off boyfriend Aidan calls her into his office, losing her job is the last thing she expects.
Heartbroken and unemployed to boot, she makes a radical decision to blow her redundancy cheque and escape to the untested waters of San Francisco.But is the glamour of the city too good to be true? And can Nell leave her past behind?

So there you have it! That's the book update for July! 

Now onto other things! I have recently been accepted back into college (Not that I flunked out, I didn't really want to study music anymore but I did finish!) At Sheffield this time, not Rotherham. And I will be studying Cake Decorating Level 1 ABC. Which I cannot wait for!

I am so stoked! And for this, I DO have a Facebook page for my cake decorating and things, as well as a new blog (After much messing around trying to find the right blog, I ended up coming back to Blogger. Cause I do love it and I'm building my cake blog to make it feel nice and homey like my book review page! 

So if you wish to have a little look at the blog (Sprinkle, Sparkle and Magic) Here is the link! 


Think that's it for now! Hope you're all well, speak soon! 

Happy Reading! 

- Much love, Emma xxxx 

Friday, 11 July 2014

The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me * Lucy Robinson

The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me by Lucy Robinson

Sally is an incredible singer but she sings only in her wardrobe where nobody can hear her. She'd rather join a nudist colony than sing in public.

That is until she ventures to New York where a wild and heady summer of love and loss changes her forever. No longer able to hide in the shadows, Sally must return home to London to fulfil a promise she cannot break - to share her voice.


But just as she's about to embark on her new life, a beautiful man turns up on Sally's doorstep bearing a sheepish smile and a mysterious hand-written message.

Sally Howlett has a secret, a secret she has kept since she was a young girl. She loves to sing, and not just any singing. Opera singing, and she's been singing ever since she was seven. Something that her mother and father really don't want to be doing, since a tragic death in their family. 

Since then Sally has been sworn to secrecy by her parents that she will never sing again, though that won't stop her. She just sings in her wardrobe, to no one else in the world apart from her teddy bear Carrot. But when her cousin and best friend Fiona hears her sing, her whole world comes crashing down.  

But whilst she's a wardrobe mistress and working as close to being in opera as she can, she's in a dream come true. Working with her friends Barry and Bae and even her freckle, Fiona. Though when she bumps into the handsome Julian Bell, after he opens the door on her stealing his candle. Her whole world flips upside down and she is on top of the world. 

Julian has a heart of gold and a vice like silk, he also makes Sally feel wonderful about herself. She has found her man! But Fiona starts to take a turn for the worst with alcohol and drugs and is soon off the rails,so Sally doesn't know what to do. She doesn't know who to trust anymore and what to believe, she's spent her whole life being a friend, a sister, cousin and a mother. But now that the tragedy has happened, how can she move on? 

Stepping into the Royal College of Music in London was a big move on for her. How can she sing in front of people when she's only sang in a wardrobe? Nothing could be worse than this, but when she soon finds out that Julian is her singing coach, the same man she fell in love with and soon fell back out of love with him. She wants a big black hole to open up and swallow her whole. She also wants nothing to do with Julian ever again and wants him out of her life.  

But when things slowly start to change is Sally's little bubble of a life, what will she do? Could this be a new act in her life waiting to unfold into something wonderful? Or could it be a disaster on wheels going at 100mph? 

The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me by Lucy Robinson, is the third book to be released by the author and I honestly cannot get enough of her work! I've been waiting for ages for this book to come out and nearly passed out when it did! It's smart, creative, hilarious and just down right laugh out loud. I feel I can always connect with Robinson's books as he writes about real life problems, and the little feelings that every woman gets and feels like that at some point in her life. 

I feel some books don't really put much humour into their books, such and putting things in that would never happen in a million years to someone, such as yourself. But with Lucy Robinson's books, half of the embarrassing things that happen in her books, you can count on has happened to you or someone you know and you can really sympathise with the characters which I think is great! 

I really loved the story line for this book, I thought it was very well written with the right amount of drama, comedy and romance. I loved Sally's character and can totally understand how she feels with not wanting to perform any music, because that's how I feel with playing the drums. I liked Helen's character and think I liked her a bit more than Fiona. I was torn between Julian and Jan as I couldn't make my mind up on who would be better for Sally in the end.  

The story line was really good and had many twists and turns in the plot that I thought we're great. At some point's I did think that the book was a little slow on places, but soon picked it's pace back up! All in all I think this is a great book, and do really enjoy Lucy Robinson's books,  probably a bit too much! She's bringing another one out soon!! I can't wait!! 

I will give this book 9 out of 10 

Tuesday, 8 July 2014

Midnight * Jacqueline Wilson

Midnight by Jacqueline Wilson

Violet has always been in the shadow of her mesmerising, controlling brother Will -- by turns delightful and terrifying. Now that Will has learnt a shocking secret about his own past, things seem to be getting worse. 

Violet retreats further into her fantasy world built around the fairy characters created by her favourite author, Casper Dream. The arrival of Jasmine, a new girl at school who immediately befriends Violet, seems like it might change Violet’s life for the better and allow her to break free of Will’s spell. But is Jasmine a true friend?


Violet can't seem to understand why her brother Will is always nasty too her, making her join in on scary games, making fun of her fairies and always telling her that she has no friends. She can't understand this because when they we're little, they used to be so close, inseparable. 

Until one Christmas when there Grandma had got fed up of Will being ungrateful, so she blurted out a horrible truth and no one in the family can ever forget. Especially not Will. 
As soon as he's old enough, he's leaving for good and doesn't care what happens when he's gone. 

Though Violet does, and she wishes things could go back to normal, how they used to be when they we're little and how they seemed just like brother and sister, but Will didn't believe that anymore. Worst of all their mother was a coward in Violet's eyes. Never standing up for herself and her dad just walked all over her, and didn't really like Will either. 

But when Violet becomes good friends with the new girl Jasmine, things slowly start to make sense and come into place. Violet wishes she could just live with Jasmine and her cool, trendy father who lets her drink wine and who is in plays. Though Jasmine wishes that she could have a family like Violet's where everyone was still together. 

Then one night, Violet finds something in the attic whilst playing one of Will's spooky games that changes everything for a second time. How can this be? Violet soon finds out that there are more secrets that need to be uncovered, especially if  she wants to get her older brother and best friend back. All she needs to do is make one little wish. 

And there's only one person who can help her there. 

Midnight by Jacqueline Wilson is a great book! I found this whilst digging around in a box filled with old photo's and it's the exact same book that I bought when I was around twelve years old. It felt great to find it and I felt a big sense of happiness when reading it as I have good memories with this book. I remember going to see the play adaptation with my school and friends and because I had loved it so much, I asked my mum to take me to see it again before it finished. And she did, and I loved it. 

I find that Wilson's books have a great depth and meaning too them, one in which you can only relate to either whilst your young or have the memories of those feelings that the characters have, are the same as what you had when you we're growing up. 

Though that said, I do think her audience is based around young girls through the ages of 12-15 who are still finding themselves and what is happening whilst growing up. Boys, womanly things,s family, friendships etc etc. 

I think her books are fantastic and enjoyed reading it the same as I did when I was twelve. To which I am twenty in two months haha. I do recommend giving her books a read, whatever your age, because I am sure we can all relate to one book or another. 

I will give this book 6 out of 10