Saturday, 14 December 2013

Christine * Stephen King

Christine by Stephen King

Evil is alive in Libertyville. It inhabits a custom-painted red and white 1958 Plymouth Fury and the teenage boy, Arnold Cunningham, who buys it from the strange Roland LeBay.

Helped by Arnold's girlfriend Leigh Cabot, Dennis Guilder embarks to find out the real truth behind Christine and finds more than he bargained for: from murder, to suicide, and a strange feeling that surrounds Christine - she gets even with anyone that crosses her! Can Dennis save Arnold from the evil that is Christine?


This is a story that has only been told four times and this, making it's fourth and hopefully the last for Dennis Guilder. Arnie Cunningham is Dennis's best friend, and a bit of a loner. There always has to be at least one of them in the whole High School and Arnie was one of them.

Being constantly bullied throughout primary school all the way up to high school, Arnie Cunningham was used to it, so long as he had his best friend Dennis by his side, his wing man and Savior. Everything would be fine, that is until a drive home from work changed everything. 

 For Dennis Guilder, he knew it was bad luck, that something could go wrong when Arnie first set her eyes on her, making Dennis reverse back so Arnie could get another look of her splendid view. Her beautiful curves, the bight colour of her, the way she sat on the side of the road peaceful and content. Though all Dennis saw was a rusty pile of junk. 

But Arnie saw through that and fell in love with a real beauty, a 1958 Plymouth Fury in cherry red and white, named Christine. Soon Arnie had got her up and running and working in perfect order. Her body was clean, smooth and Shiny. Free from scratches, rust and dents. Looking sleek and shine.
Until Buddy Repperton gets his hands on her and has his way alright, and soon Arnie is back to square one in the restoration process. 

Much to the happiness of his mother and father, Arnold becomes besotted with the beast and never leaves it alone. Even his new girlfriend Leigh cannot coax him out of his dreamlike state with the car. To Dennis this is very out of the norm for his pal Arnie and he starts to seek questions about what really happened with that Plymouth and what power it holds. As Arnie starts to become the boy he has never known and becomes dark and sinister.

Dennis starts to see less and less of his best friend and more of his mates girlfriend instead. Soon both Dennis and Leigh cannot see Arnie anymore, but the face of a dead man, the face of man who sold the car to Arnie in the first place. The rotting corpse of a man, Ronald D. Lebay. 

Soon after the change in Arine, a horrible pattern starts to rise as murders start piling up and so does the evidence around Arnold and his beloved Christine. Dennis and Leigh must work around the clock to find a way to get Arnie Cunningham back and to destroy the frightening Fury, before it's too late. 

Christine by Stephen King, is the second book I have read by him so far. And I thoroughly enjoyed it. I must admit from time to time I did feel a bit that it dragged and that I didn't understand some parts (mainly the car parts and what not haha) But I did enjoy it none the less. 

It had such an amazing story line and all the characters we're well written. I loved how Arnie was portrayed and how King manged to change his attitude in the character, Arnie turns into a nasty person, an evil person. And I think that he portrayed that change very well and the imagery it crated for me was amazing.

 I loved Dennis's character even more. To the fact how you could see how his and Arnie's friendship was. I think he captured friendship quite well in this book and how certain things and little changes can make a big difference in the way friendship goes and also changes. I was so shocked throughout the book! There we're so many things that I was not expecting! And the ending, I was sat on the tram on the way to work and there was a massive shocker at the end, and I was sat there on the tram with my mouth over shocked and the lady sat across from me was just staring at me! Haha.

All in all it was a great book, despise some of the time that I didn't understand certain things, but loved it none the less. Would definitely re-read it again. 

I will be giving this book an 8 out of 10


Wednesday, 27 November 2013

November Update

Hey all!

Hope your all well and keeping warm this coming winter, it's getting chilly up here now (Don't know where you all are, but wrap up and get a book going!) I know I haven't posted on here in a while, which I'm sorry for, it's taking me ages to read the book I'm reading at the moment, loving it to pieces. It's just trying to find the time, with work, family and my driving lessons and theory. Don't worry, I'll let you all know when I finally pass haha. 

I have LOADS of books that I still need to read and every day I find a new one I want to read, it's much easier having a Kobo as I have all the books with me and it's lighter, though it's still not the same as going out and buying a new book (something I still do though!) 


Anyway, just wanted to say and make a note of the amazing backgrounds and layouts this lovely lady does above. There so beautiful and there's a layout for everything and it's where I have got my layouts for the past 2 years. Her website it so cute and it's just wonderful! So yeah, just wanted to say if your in a bother of what to have as your layout, wanting a new one just for wanting a feel for your blog this Christmas, then look no further than Shabby Blogs! - See the link below!


- Carry on Reading! - Emma xx

Monday, 14 October 2013

Carrie * Stephen King

Carrie by Stephen King

The story of misfit high-school girl, Carrie White, who gradually discovers that she has telekinetic powers. Repressed by a domineering, ultra-religious mother and tormented by her peers at school, her efforts to fit in lead to a dramatic confrontation during the senior prom.

We've all been there bullied throughout the years at school or at some point in your life. But you can't possibly compare to a young girl that goes by the name of Carrie White. 

Carrie's been bullied throughout primary school, high school and even at church. She was never one of the popular children, the ones with all the best trends and fancy clothes. No make up, handbags or even real parents for that matter. 

Carrie has been brought up round religion and her mother has a very strong belief, though when Carrie does something even the slightest out of key, her mother raises hell. 
So when Carrie is sent home from school after Sue Snell and her 'followers' bully Carrie for having her first period at the age of seventeen, to which she is mortified, scared and horrified. It isn't any different and Carrie doesn't receive any motherly love or sympathy from it. Instead Sue and the gang laugh and through tampons and sanitary towels at her whilst she is in the shower crying and screaming. 

But when she finally gets home, her mother shouts, screams and abuses her distraught daughter, telling her that she is the spawn of the devil. To which Carrie is terrified and then thrown into the cupboard for hours on end to pray for her sins on what a terrible thing she has done today. 

As a new day passes, Carrie is forced to live by her mothers evil rules. Being forced into a religion she doesn't really want to be in, and constantly being abused by her mother. The slaps, choking, being forced into the dreaded cupboard to pray for 6 hours, with no food, drink or toilet breaks and having things thrown at her. 

Until one day, she snaps...

Carrie soon finds out that she has strange powers, being able to levitate things with her mind. Opening and closing doors without going near them, lifting tables, furniture and other things with her mind and also making a child fall off his bike. Soon Carrie starts to see potential in this and plans to get revenge. 

The day of the annual spring dance is coming to Carrie's High school and though she plans on not going, something changes when Tommy Ross asks her to prom. For once she is happy and will not let her momma stop her in going. But when her mother finds out that she's going with a boy, of all the sins, Carrie snaps. She starts to use her powers on her mother and she doesn't like it one bit. With her momma soon fleeing to the cupboard to pray for her life, not her daughters, but her own.

Carrie is happy for once and is having a swell of a time until some cruel and nasty people decide to pour something on her and ruin her night, her dress and every guest in that hall. Soon Carrie's little town is lost in amber as she walks the streets finding revenge on those who've hurt her, bodies lying in the streets, no help to be found. Blood everywhere.

One thing is for certain...
You will know her name.  

Carrie by Stephen King, is the first book that I have read of his and was amazed! I honestly never thought that I would get into his stuff, I tried reading one of his books a while ago and just couldn't get into it. But I loved Carrie so much. It has an amazing story line, I loved the way how it is done in the present and then also the past through different pages of different books that was wrote after the disaster in the book. 

If I'm honest, I did find Carrie's mother way to freaky, there's just something about the whole, getting to caught up in religion. I thing King portrayed her mother very well, she is a nasty piece of work and you could tell how he described her, really made me feel sorry for Carrie. I felt sorry for her anyway with all the bullying. 

This book is just based on getting revenge but in quite a big way, and how not all religious families are wonderful and nice. Well, that's what I think. Carrie's mother though, damn, she's creepy and horrid. 

I will be going to see the 2013 film next month but glad that I read the book first. 

I will give this book 10 out of 10!





Monday, 7 October 2013

October Update



Hey there everyone!

Thought I would do a Short update seeing as I haven't done one in a while. I have still got LOADS of books to read, both on the shelves and on the kobo so I need to get reading haha. I am only two books away from my 2013 goal this year! Hope to add an extra one onto the 14!!

I have recently posted two book reviews which I'm chuffed about, and also I have changed the background to make it more Octobery (I know that's not a word haha) But I'm loving the vintage Halloween style :) Then it will be changing again soon to Christmas! Oh how this year has flown by!

I'll be reading some horror books or Halloween ones this month (If I can get into the horror ones that is) So wish me luck! Don't want to be scared! If you have any recommendations, please fire away in the comments box, all would be appreciated!

On another note, it may quieten down a but on here as I have this lovely book to study upon!...


That's right I'm finally learning to drive haha! So wish me luck! :) 

But for now, goodnight! 

- Emma :)

The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones * Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Imagine having your world turned upside down overnight and not having anything to do with it. Being unable to stop what will happen next, and what you thought you knew about your family and past and how you grew up.

You were told it's completely wrong, and ever so different. Like your whole world was written for you.


For fifteen year old Clarissa Fray, she had a normal teenage life, the normal friends, normal family and school. Until she goes to a night club with best friend Simon, and ends up witnessing a brutal murder, committed by a group of teenagers round about her age. But when Clary screams bloody murder in the club, she soon finds out that there's something wrong when she is the only person who can see what is happening. 

Starting to get frustrated, she goes home to only wake up by strange drawings of a weird marking around her home. But there's a catch, she seems the same man who had murdered the person at the club, again at the coffee shop and once again, Simon cannot see him. She starts to confront the man, but is soon whisked away to her home, from a distressing phone call from her mother Jocelyn.  

Soon Clary's world is turned upside down, on a mission to find her mother before the deranged Valentine gets hold of her, she finds out who she really is. As well as finding out all about her past, her new life, her new powers and all the places her mind has blocked out and away from her own memory. The life she thought she knew and lived, has been a lie all her life. 

Just to top it all off, there's the charming, mysterious and quite sexy Jace Wayland. He steams to have a problem with Clary though, he's arrogant, big headed and sarcastic. But Clary can't seem to shake off his problem, and her feelings towards him. Though there's a horrible secret that is enough to shatter their worlds forever. 

As well as saving her mother and finding out about forbidden love. Clarissa needs to find the mortal cup to keep the human race safe. But when there's shadowhunters, warlocks, demons, vampires and werewolf's. She has quite a fight on her hands. 

The City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare, Is the first book in The Mortal Instruments series. And funny enough, I looked at this book years ago and meant to read it but never picked it up. I went to see the film first, which I personally think is way different than the film. I say way different, it's just how some things are reversed in the film than what the book is. And different settings, than the book also. 

Though needless to say I enjoyed the film so much and also the book as well so can't fault it. I have heard quite a few people saying that it's exactly like Harry Potter. Personally I think it's completely different, I mean don't get me wrong I love Harry Potter to death and that will always be my favourite book series, but I love this series as well and don't think it's the same or a like at all!

I loved the comedy in it, with everyone especially with Simon and Jace and I loved the friendship that was portrayed between Simon and Clary on how close they we're. 
The way Clary and Luke have been throughout the book and how they have been portrayed is beautiful. I really loved the way they we're with each other and how Luke protected her as his own child when they weren't related at all. 

All in all I loved this book and cannot wait to read the rest of them! :D 

I will give this book 10 out of 10!

Saturday, 5 October 2013

Take Me * Olivia Cunning

Take Me By Olivia Cunning

She is one woman he should never touch…

Sole Regret’s enigmatic vocalist, Jacob “Shade” Silverton, is a consummate womaniser, but even he knows better than to get involved with one special woman from his past. Mixing friendship and pleasure can only lead to a broken heart, and he’s suffered enough heartache to swear off relationships for a lifetime.


For Jacob "Shade" Silverton, things aren't always as good as they seem when being in a band. It's not all bad, having women chasing after you every night and being known in most countries and states, a string of different women in your bed every night and not having to worry about remembering their name or calling them the next morning. 

So when Jacob returns home on his day off from the tour, things don't go quite according to plan. To start, his prized possession has been stolen, his baby girl lives with the most evil bitch on earth, who just constantly wants to bust his balls and he's in a big disagreement with the lead guitarist Adam  Though he does get to see his baby girl, but only for as long as his ex-wife Tina wants him to, much to his dismay and his little princess Julie. 

Being pushed away from his old life and relationship and into the new world Jacob has to start again somewhere, but he didn't plan on seeing a hot blond in his hot tub on his return home, and when he takes a liking to Amanda, his ex-wife's little sister. Things start to get out of hand. 

Amanda's always had a soft spot for Jacob, the way he's a big rock star in the day and just extremely sexy, to a loving father at night who just wants to see his little princess. She hates the way her sister treats him but there's nothing she can do. Except offer him a ride home. Their relationship has always been a friendly one, so when they decide to watch horror films snuggled up on the couch with pizza, things couldn't get any better could it? 

Soon their relationship is spiralling into a hot and steamy love affair where they start to grow fond of each other and their sexual desires, but how long can they keep it a secret for? And can they hide their feelings from each other, themselves and Tina for long? 

But when Adam shows up on the door step there's only so much Shade can take before it starts to get out of control and Adam finally gets what he deserves, and to finally understand why Jacob has been mad at him all these years. 

Take Me by Olivia Cunning, Is the third novel in the Sole Regret series. In this book we follow the lead singer Shade and what happens in his life. As I've said before, it's a shame that the books are so short because it creates a short book review due to not giving away to much of the story and limiting it. But it's also good in a way that the review isn't so long like my last one. 

I'm afraid to say though that I didn't enjoy this book as much as the other two. I think it lacked a bit of, how should we put it? Umph! Though it was sexy in quite a few places, but I didn't think much to the story line. I did however liked that Jacob had a soft side to him, and in a way I could empathise with him, with his daughter and the way his ex wife is with him. Since I have a friend who is going through the same thing, so based on that story line part I think Cunning wrote that part very  well. Though in other places, I just thought it was flat. 

All in all I will continue to read all the books as there may be four crackers in the series, but I didn't enjoy this book much. Which makes it hard to rate it out of ten. Though I think I will be giving this...

5 Out of 10

Thursday, 12 September 2013

The Red House * Mark Haddon

The Red House by Mark Haddon

Two families. Seven days. One house.

Angela and her brother Richard have spent twenty years avoiding each other. Now, after the death of their mother, they bring their families together for a holiday in a rented house on the Welsh border. Four adults and four children. Seven days of shared meals, log fires, card games and wet walks.

But in the quiet and stillness of the valley, ghosts begin to rise up. The parents Richard thought he had. The parents Angela thought she had. Past and present lovers. Friends, enemies, victims, 
saviors


Imagine going for a weeks holiday with another half of your family that you don't get on with much and never have. Well, this is what happens with two very different families but very much related set on an adventure together, and this is there tale of what can happen.

Being in close proximity, having to put up with the other side for a week and you're parents and children forcing you to get along with everyone. We all know how that feels don't we?

In the first family we have Dominic and Angela, both husband and wife married for year with three beautiful children and both baring secrets and problems away from each other. Dominic is a bit lost within their marriage and doesn't know where to turn.  So when his secret life with his co-worker gets a bit too much and out of hand he doesn't know where to turn, he can't tell his beloved Angela, but someone needs to know. 

Angela has bigger problems on her mind, it's the birthday of her first born on Thursday, she would be eighteen, something she can never forget. Those fin like gills on her baby, the way her face looked different from all the other babies on the ward. But she didn't have the heart to look at her fully, to cherish her in her arms and tell her child that everything will be okay. But she couldn't. And now it's coming back to haunt her, her little monster. It's haunting her, lurking in the darkness, watching Angela trying to enjoy her life, taking over her mind, with no-one there to help her.  

Alex, there oldest. The mountain biking, climbing, camping, athlete and adrenalin junkie of a son. Loving the outdoors and every minute of it, always wanting to be on an adventure and in the wilderness, trying to survive it all.

And then he finds something out that he shouldn't have, and something that her certainly didn't want to know. Though when your in a tricky situation, what do you do? Who do you turn to? Can he tell his mother or can he tell his younger sister Daisy? And to top it all off, when he has a crush on his bitch of a cousin, what does he do now? 

Then there's Daisy. The goody-two-shoes christian daughter. Trying to befriend people is hard since she joined the church, she lost all her old friends and gain new ones, but there not the same. She has mind games that are going on in her head, she has failed the lord and she believes she will truly by punished, and will be going to hell. In the end, does she follow what her heart tells her? Or what her mind tells her? What is right and what is wrong int he eyes of god. Does she become herself finally, or does she stay and please him and live with the doubt for the rest of her life? Because after all, it is god. 

Benji, the youngest of all three children and the one with the least problems on his mind. Running around without a care in the world, pretending to be a pirate, dinosaur, zombie. He doesn't want to be a group up like his mum and dad, he doesn't want the arguments that they have and what other adults have and the shouting at each other. 

He just wants to carry on buying plastic swords and fighting off the space aliens in the back garden. But this start to confuse him, when he finds something she should of found on a text. Though he doesn't know who to tell, and it's forever eating away at him. 

And last but not least welcome to the second family, which consists of Richard, Angela's older brother. He is in a bit of a pickle himself, with the operation that went wrong on the younger girl and not having spoke to Angela in sixteen years. Things are bound to bubble up and overflow. But he can't shake the feeling of there being so much tension between him and his little sister, was it to do with him or is parents? He didn't know, but what he did know, is that he didn't like his step daughter on bit. 

Louisa, Richards wife is a quiet one. She doesn't get into anyone's business, keeps to herself and loves Richard doubtfully. Though her relationship with her only teenage daughter is lost forever and strained. She misses her little girl, the way she would cradle her in her arms when she was so young. But those times are long gone. Though when her life long secret gets out to Richard, Louisa wants to hide away forever and never come back out of hiding. But it will never leave her. 

Last but certainly not least, there's Melissa, Louisa's daughter. Selfish, mean and spiteful Melissa is used to getting her own way and what she always wants. But when Richard catches her doing something she shouldn't be doing, she panics. Though Melissa has problems of her own, with all the teenagers at school. She certainly doesn't like Benji, he is too annoying and so is Daisy with her religious side of things and there strained relationship. She doesn't know what to do about her feelings with Alex either, everything is so muddled up. 

Join this family as they wade through there problems and how to fix them, and how they can turn from not liking anyone, to all getting a long with each other. 

Hi there all! First of all I would like to say sorry for not posting in a while and second of all, sorry that is is such a long review. I promise the next one will be quite short (which will be posted up sooner than you think) 

I really liked The Red House by Mark Haddon. It was a very different read from what I'm used to, but I'm glad I picked it up and had a read. it was a bit confusing at the beginning because I never knew who I was reading about, it doesn't have a title or go by each character by a different chapter. But after I got the hand of who the characters were, I understood it more. 

I loved the way it was family based, I really enjoyed it which surprised me because at first I found it a bit boring and confusing, but I'm glad I read it until the end, I couldn't put it down. It had so many twists and turns throughout the book I didn't know where to read! 

I think my favorite character was Benji, I think he was portrayed very well by Haddon, well written in the mind of an eight year old, just loved his character so much, he was so care free and didn't know what was happening within the adult and teenage world. I love the relationship Alex, Daisy and Benji had with each other, it reminded me of how my younger brother and I used to be and sometimes still are. The way Angela was portrayed was fantastic!

I really enjoyed this book and it will be re-read one day, I encourage people to read this if they want something different or along the lines of a family read. It's a wonderful heart warming story that involved becoming of age, sorting problems out and finding who you are. 

I will give this book 8.5 out of 10





Tuesday, 2 July 2013

Tempt Me * Olivia Cunning

Tempt Me by Olivia Cunning

For the five sexy rock gods of Sole Regret, finding love is easy, keeping it is hard.

One more night…

For almost a year, Madison has been Adam’s hook-up every time his band, Sole Regret, tours through Dallas. But in spite of the way he sets her body ablaze with passion, the occasional night of rock-her-world sex isn't enough anymore. She needs a commitment and knows that won’t fit into Adam’s rock-star lifestyle. Madison will take one more hot-and-heavy night with the sexy musician before she cuts all ties with him for good. Even if she must break her own heart to do it.


To tempt him…

Life isn't all bright lights and fan adulation for the lead guitarist for Sole Regret. Madison has seen Adam at his worst and still managed to bring out the best in him. Her cleverly concealed naughty side also brings out the beast in him. He’s never met a more tempting woman in his life.

Madison has no problem tempting Adam into her bed, but can she tempt his heart into taking a chance on love?


Sole Regret's back for another night in another place. But this time for the band it's guitarist Adam and his regular hook up Madison, who turn up the heat on tour and a romance starts brewing down in Dallas.

Being on the road can push you to the edge and to some extremes, but when former drug addict Adam Taylor meets his sexual hook up in Dallas, things will start to change for him. 

Madison had first met Adam in a rehab clinic in Dallas after he had a massive overdose on drugs, since then Madi has helped him recover and stay clear and clean of drugs for a year. She would do anything in the world to keep him safe, to know he was alright since she knew the cravings would start to come again. But they didn't and haven't so far since she started up a lusty relationship with Mr. Taylor, in her office of the day of him leaving rehab. 

Since then it's been a year and the couple have had regular sightings of each other in Dallas when Sole Regret's on tour. Madi is so pleased to hear about him being clean and welcomes him into the warm embrace of her arms and her thighs when they meet again on this tour. Adam can't wait to see her as he rushes to find her at the restaurant they always go to for a lovely meal, and hoping for some lusty romance in the bathroom of the restaurant.

Though there's still some problems lurking beneath in Adam's life that he just can't seem to shake free of. Such as him lying to Madison about being clean, trying to tell her his undying love for her. Or possibly the fact that his washed up junkie of a father is back in his life, and living in his apartment at home. The one man who decided to shoot him up with heroin on his sixteenth birthday as "A right of manhood" or so he Say's. And he's got some anger issues with the lead singer of the band, Shade. Which he just can't seem to understand why. 

Following a night of family issues, hot passion and romance as Madison and Adam's relationship grows closer. Go on an adventure with them into the world of Sex, Drugs and Rock N' Roll.

Tempt Me by Olivia Cunning, Is the second novel in the Sole Regret series. Though this story follows the relationship of Adam and Madi. Each book is a different band member each time, which I think is a great idea. I know that it goes through all the band members first and then starts at the beginning again, but like the second half to each members story. Which I think is good. 

It's hard though, writing reviews on small books like these, cause although the review maybe really short, I can't add too much in, otherwise the whole story will come out. I know that this review isn't all that great, but I'm tired and needed to write it. So sorry folks!

But! I did enjoy this book with these characters in more than the first one Try Me. I think this is because of the way Madi and Adam had a relationship beforehand, and you could see how they we're falling for each other, over the time they had had with each other. I'm not going to lie, I did enjoy the sexual side of the book (though some parts we're a bit too much for my liking) but I much rather prefer the romance side to there relationship. I can't wait to read where there's will go! 
Even Mr. Burrows was reading it and being nosey, and he usually tuts at books like that! Haha. 

All in all I will give this book an 9.5 out of 10 

Tuesday, 25 June 2013

Try Me * Olivia Cunning

Try Me by Olivia Cunning

For the five sexy rock gods of Sole Regret, finding love is easy, keeping it is hard.

Melanie has no desire to meet the members of the rock band, Sole Regret, but her groupie of a best friend gets them both backstage and then rushes off with the band’s lead singer.

Left alone at an after party with a bunch of scary tattooed and pierced metal-heads, sheltered Melanie is relieved when the only normal-looking guy in the room insists on keeping her company.

By the time Melanie discovers that Gabe is the band’s drummer and not as normal as she assumed, she has already made a complete fool of herself. She can’t help but be interested in him, not as a rock star, but as the sexiest man she’s ever encountered.

Strangely attracted to his hidden tattoos and body piercing, she wonders what it would be like to spend a night with a bad boy.
Gabe is more than willing to show sweet Melanie there’s more to him than meets the eye. All she has to do is try him. Will they only share a single night of passion? Or will their hearts entangle as quickly as their bodies?

For Melanie Anderson going to gigs is not her style. Much less if it's a rock concert with men covered in tattoos and piercings whilst wearing ripped jeans and leather jackets. She would much prefer to stay at home and study until the early hours.

But her friend Nikki is different, she's a wild child with an attitude and a string on casual one night stands. Melanie has been dragged along by her best friend in order to follow her favourite band Sole Regret. A mean looking rock band, to which Mel is quite scared.


Having been frightened and cornered by a gang of horrible, tattooed and smelly bikers when she was thirteen, they has said vulgar and vile things that they would do to her. Scaring her for the rest of her life, she could never see why anyone like Nikki would be attracted to such filth and horror.
But that was before she met Gabe, a good looking man who had lots of secrets and mysteries to uncover, but when he pulls back his cap and pulls his top up to reveal tattoos on his head and stomach, and a fiery red Mohawk. Not to mention he's the drmmer for Sole Regret. Mel still doesn't change her mind.
Though Gabe has a secret, something that his band mates don't even know. Why is his nickname actually Force? Is it because he's great in the bedroom? Or is it something more?
Following a night of passion and romance, more so passion. Gabe and Melanie hit it off into a passionate affair that soon blossoms into a relationship. Though Gabe soon has to go back on the road and when Melanie can't go with him what will happen?
Join Gabe, Mel and the rest of the band as they journey into the unknown of Sex and Rock N' Roll.
Try Me by Olivia Cunning is the first book of the erotic series Sole Regret. The book follows the band of five as they journey through the world of Rock N' Roll whilst trying to find love along the way.

I'll be honest, I've been trying to find a book like Fifty Shades of Grey, though one that I could actually stand to read rather than get to chapter 3, cringe all the way through at the poor writing skills and then close the book. Hiding it away on my bookshelf never to be opened again.

And I've tried to find other books to read but there all just spin offs of Fifty Shades of Grey, just under slightly different titles. But they still bore the same old high expected man, who's rich and fabulous and always a CEO. Followed by the young woman, who can't control herself because she is emotionally unstable and way to young.
But Try Me is completely different, I really enjoyed this book, probably because it was more on the rock music and musician side of things, in a way I felt I could relate to the whole being in a relationship with a musician at the moment, cause I am. And it is tough not been able to see him sometimes.
But it was just well written compared to all the drool that's been coming out in the erotic books at the moment. It was different and the characters actually seemed real, unlike uptight.
I do recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something erotic but doesn't want to go for the obvious Fifty Shades of Grey. Let's put it this way, if you want a short erotic read, that's well written and doesn't make your eyes close on the first page. Grab this book!

I will give this book 9 out of 10

Monday, 17 June 2013

The Greatest Love Story of All Time * Lucy Robinson

The Greatest Love Story of All Time by Lucy Robinson

It's Fran's thirtieth birthday and things are good . . .

She's bluffed her way into a Very Posh Job and her outlandishly handsome and talented boyfriend Michael is escorting her to the Ritz with a bulge the shape of a ring box in his pocket.

But something has gone wrong. Very wrong. By the end of the evening Fran is howling in bed with a bottle of cheap brandy and one of Michael's old socks.

In her quest to figure out why her life has suddenly gone down the pan, Fran comes up with a failsafe plan: live like a badger, stalk a stranger called Nellie and cancel her beloved Gin Thursdays in favour of drinking gin every night. But then Fran's friends force a very different plan on her and it's nowhere near as fun. How could eight dates possibly make her feel better?

But eventually she agrees. And so begins the greatest love story of all time . . .


What do you do when you're having the time of your life on your birthday, with the man you love who's about to propose to you. But then decides that he needs some time apart, and decides to give it three months with no contact between the two of you without an explanation of why he's done it?

You go to bed of course! Spend all day in bed for weeks, crying your heart out and drinking Gin and Tonics like your life depends on it. Well, it does if you're Fran. 

When her beloved Michael Slater wants a break for a while, Fran does exactly that, hibernating in her bedroom in a swarm of groggy tissues and Michael's old socks, drinking cheap Morrisons brandy from the bottle and crying to her best friends, Leonie, Dave and Stefania. 
Trying to get over the devastated state that she's in, her best friends make up a game for Fran to play. The Eight Date Deal. This meaning, that Franny has to sign up to an online dating agency and go on a total of eight dates before she can see her beloved Michael again. Though reluctant to this deal, Fran doesn't want to, she just wants to stay in bed and drink herself to death by Gin and Tonics.

When upon hearing the deal that Michael can be her eighth date, Fran agrees to go on them, even though she won't enjoy them one bit. The first bloke has a massive saggy bottom, the next doesn't care and rants on about his ex down the phone in the middle of the date, the one after that dresses like a cowboy and there's more to come.

But when Fran hears about Nellie, Michael's secret lover, a whole  new world kicks off as Fran goes on one massive stalking mission, which has no limits to try and find just what on earth is happening, with her boy.

Though Dave and Stefania strongly disagree, they are trying there very best not to let anything come between Fran and Michael, by trying to find out all the evidence they can to prove it and to keep her going on her eight date deal.

Dave the big massive, Glaswegian "tough as fuck"  man as Fran says, is as lovable as a big friendly bear and one of Fran's closest mates, he knows what Fran wants and where her head really needs to lie. And as for Leonie, Fran has known her since nursery, growing up with her through Primary school, secondary school, college and even university, and even though she wanted to be an author, her dreams have faded away to the point where she is a charity worker on the streets. Not to mention brewing up a secret love affair with Michael's best friend Alex, much to Frans disapproval.

Then there's Stefania, Fran's lovely foreign friend. She's quirky and different and always manages to get her words mixed up, but she's as loyal as they come. Plus she looks after Frans cat Duke Ellington and sends her cooked dinners through the cat flap so she doesn't die from alcohol.

Frans father lives far away in sunny Spain and her mother lives at home, with a very bad drinking problem. She needs help, and Fran hopes to help somehow. But when the press get ahold of her, at the biggest moment in everyone's life, who will Fran turn to and who exactly ratted her own mother out to the press.

And with the only man out of all the eight dates apart from Michael, Fran finds someone who males her smile and likes her for who she really is. But is he closer than she thinks?

The Greatest Love Story of All Time by Lucy Robinson is a wonderful book! It made me laugh so much and I could relate to it as well, just like the other one. I really do hope she writes more as I really really enjoy them.

This made me laugh out loud so much, I loved the Character of Dave ever so much, I  just loved the way he was created and even his foul language. I honestly know someone like Dave and he's just like him. It was honestly like reading a book in his point of view.

And Stefania was such a lovely character, reminded me of one of my friends from the Ukraine. The character was friendly and different, made me giggle with her accent and she was just portrayed very well. Was nice to create an image of what she would be like

I even liked just the way of life of all three friends, like Gin Thursday's like just smoking weed (I myself have never done it and don't intend to) But I just like the way how there life was so chilled out. I loved the story line as well, it was one of those where you're certain you know who she's going to fall in love with, but as it starts to get more into the story you think "Oh hang on, I may be wrong"

All and all, the story line was marvellous, the character's we're great, made you think and it was the greatest love story of all time. Also I loved the name Duke Ellington for a cat. Think I might use that one day! Haha

I will give this books 10 out of 10



Tuesday, 11 June 2013

Welcome! To Kobo Mini

Welcome to the family
So following the last post I put on about one of these. I got paid and finally caved in and bought one.

I'm quite happy with it to! To say it was only £30 and the first one I have bought I am well chuffed.

The Kobo Mini is extremely light and also very small (who would of known!) It's lovely and compact and I love it, it's well worth the money and for anyone who is thinking on buying one, I recommend you buy this one if you're not sure. Therefore you can see how it feels, looks and just how it is to read on it, and not spend so much on it.

I really did want the Kobo Glo though, but decided in the end that I didn't want to pay about £100 for something that I may not enjoy. But I'm so happy I got this one instead.

The battery life is approx 1 month, that's If you don't go on wi-fi with it. So we shall see! I have a bet with Sam at the moment with this haha. I'm sure it will survive, and it can take 1,000 which is good.

The back is also changeable, with a range of different coloured snap backs, which is quite awesome! I love the idea of that, just need to understand how to take the silver one off without breaking it! Haha, has a lovely pattern too!

Though don't worry, I have not converted to technology completely, I will still be reading my beloved books, as there's nothing quite like it.

Have bought a lovely little purple case too to keep it safe! Haha I know, I'm strange. The last photo is to show how thin the actual eReader is, you might not be able to see how thin, but it is haha. Though it has a lovely feel none the less, and I'm ever so happy that I bought it.

If I am now reading a book that was an ebook I shall tag it in the book review :)

- Emma :)  



Monday, 10 June 2013

A Passionate Love Affair With a Total Stranger * Lucy Robinson


A Passionate Love Affair With a Total Stranger by Lucy Robinson

Charley Lambert has worked hard at creating a perfect life. She has an aspirational flat, a job of international significance and a very good pair of legs, thanks to a rigorous health and fitness regime. Best of all, her boss has asked her out after seven years' hard flirting and a covert fumble in a mop cupboard.
Then she breaks her leg in three places, watches her boss propose to someone else and - horror - is forced to hand over her job to her nasty deputy. Charley, a certified workaholic, fears that she will go mad.
Dangerously bored, she starts helping people who are talentless at internet dating. Then William arrives in her inbox and rocks her world. Helpless, she watches herself fall in love with him and discovers she's not who she thought she was.
But can she turn her back on her old life - all for a total stranger?
Charlotte Lambert is a workaholic, she aims and thrives achievement in her busy and scheduled life. Weather it be for her family or friends, but most of all it's for her high standard, high paying job at Salutech. Being the director of communications is the love of Charley's life at the moment, she has a job that she loves and can't thing of anything else she would want to do.
Other than be the lover for John McAllister. Her strong, dark, handsome and downright dirty boss. Who she's been in a love tiff with for nearly seven years. And not to mention the 'man of her dreams'.

Then it all goes down hill, literally, as Charely soon wakes up in hospital with a broken leg in three different places and a broken pelvis to go with it. Panicking about her job, Charley tries to force John to let he carry on working. But he is having none of it and soon requests Margret to take care of things. Much to Charley's horror.

Sam Bowes on the other hand is Charley's best friend, and also her flat mate, her smelly, childlike, womanising flat mate. He was the kind who sulked off to his bedroom with a bag of bread and a jar of Nutella and would stay there for hours. But she loved him none the less.

Following boredom taking over herself and a recent read in the newspaper, Charley sets out to make a new business, First Date Aid. Her very own dating site, which soon becomes famous for a couple called Shelly and William. Here's how it went, Charley was a ghost writer, helping other people find love and time to write to there chosen men.

Though when she teams up to work for and with Shelly Cartwright, a busy, bossy business woman like herself. Lambert soon realises who she's become and doesn't like it. Slowly falling in love with Shelly's chosen man. Charley starts to worry as she spirals into a loving tiff with William. Who happens to be some one she is quite close too. But doesn't know it yet.

Soon First Date Aid kicks up a storm in many peoples lives, including Charley, Sam and even her best friend Hailey's. Spreading the love is harder than it looks, especially if you the one behind it all, trying to sort everyone else's relationships out, and your own at the same time.

Follow Charley Lambert, as she falls in love over emails from a stranger, has fall outs with her best friend's, romps with her boss and a love for her family that make the whole book magical.

A Passionate Love Affair With a Total Stranger by Lucy Robinson is a wonderful book. I know I say this often about books that I like, but this has got to be now one of my favourites books, one that I will read over and over again. It's hilarious and I laughed out loud so much, I felt I could relate to this book quite a lot, not with the whole loving you're boss part, But the part in which falling in love with a friend.

Her relationship with Sam is a lot like mine (With my boyfriend Sam, who was my best Friend before) and it was just a lovely and pleasant read. It made me giggle and smile so much, her grandmother, granny Helen reminded me of my own nanan which I loved even more.

I love books that I can relate to and this is one of them, the book is well written and I love the story line, it made me giggle, laugh, smile, grin and was also really shocked to some degree in some parts.
This book is a real pager turner with some great twists in, I will definitely be reading more of Lucy Robinson's stuff when it comes out.

All in all it's a great read which you can really relate too. With some laugh out loud hurmor, tales of friendship and family and even some saucy bits.

I will give this book 10 out 0f 10

Tuesday, 4 June 2013

To get an eReader or not? That, is the question!




Afternoon everyone, hope you are all well!

As you can see by the title of this post, and possibly the photo. Yes, I may have possibly, been brainwashed into getting an eReader. 
I know that I've said on here at some point, and always to myself that there isn't much point in it, and that most books are pretty much the same price. I'm starting to think this isn't the case anymore, which in some ways sucks to a degree. 

I mean, don't get me wrong, I love to read actual books, physically. As there's no greater feeling like that with a book and when reading. To actually feel the book in your hand, to turn the pages and to see how far you have got left until you finish it, and counting the chapters left. I love that so much

But at the moment, I feel like if I could get one of these, it would help me out a bit. Cause let's face it, even at the moment when I'm at work, but finish it all off in about two hours since I've arrived and I'm just not busy at all. It's going to look bad if I just get a book out and start reading. I don't fear at all that I'll never buy a book again, or that I'll start to enjoy reading ebook's more, cause I simply won't and that's a fact that it will never happen. 

But with going away and wanting to take books with me, it would be a great thing to invest in, also I have the Kobo app on my phone at the moment. Which I'm sure some of you are thinking, why don't I just read them on there instead of buying one?

And that would be because, for one: It is running my charge on my phone and my Internet usage down loads so much so that I have to wait so long till the end of the month for my next top up, and I've only just got that data about a week ago. And as for my charger, I'm suddenly charging it back up within an hour or so after getting to work. 

A plus side to this would be those problems up top being resolved, and also reading on a phone or Kobo. Doesn't make me feel sick and dizzy whilst on a bus or on my travels in general. But having an actual book does! Which is a pain in the arse. 
Though if I got one it would be a second hand one as I wouldn't want to spend too much on one if I hardly used it, I've seen some for £20 and that's the most I would go for them. 

All in all ladies and gentlemen, I just want to know what you're verdict would be on this situation. Have you been in the same boat questioning about them? Or do you perhaps have one? If so please do leave a comment in the box about it, it may help me! Haha

And if you haven't got one, would you ever buy one?

Cheers guys!

- Em xx