Friday, 16 December 2011

Upcoming news

Hey guys!


So I thought I would do a quick blog to tell you that I have some new books. I should really stop buying them, since I have so many to read now, it's unbelievable! But I just can't stop myself. Do you like the change of background? I made it all Christmassy and stuff with Santa :) Who's looking forward to Christmas? I sure am!


I recently finished a book review on Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick, which was an amazing read and I really enjoyed it. Can't wait for the 4th one. But onto the important things, I have four new books to show you! How exciting.


And here they are, ta-da! So we have 3 Christmas books and just one normal book. I had been wanting Midnight by Josephine Cox for a while now, but it was too much for me to pay, since I could probably spend the money on some DVDs or Cd's, so I decided to wait for a while to see if the price would go down. And to my surprise, when I was working on my xmas temp job at Birthdays I popped to The Works for a quick look around, and saw the book for £3.99! Deal or what? It's original price is £18.99, it's a Hardback too and has a little bookmark with it. I was so happy, and snatched it up as quick as I could.


The next book is It Started With A Kiss by Miranda Dickinson which I bought with some money school gave me as a reward when I went to my reward ceremony after I left. I ended up buying Role Models on DVD and this book also, which is the book I will start to read in a moment, can't wait. Christmassy too :)


The two underneath are also Christmas books and they are Wrapped Up In You by Carole Matthews and The Magic Of Christmas by Trisha Ashley. And they we're bought for me as a surprise early christmas present from my dear friend, Jess :) Thought she was really buying me a Terry's Chocolate Orange, but once we got in the car she produced them out of her bag, placed them both on my lap and simply said. "There for you" With a big smile across her face. I really didn't know what to say! I was so shocked and nearly started crying haha but I didn't. I was just so touched that she bought them for me, she knew I was looking at them and wanted some Xmas themed books so she bought them both. Lover he to pieces. They were on sale at £3 each from WHSmiths :)


But I thinks that's me done for now, keep in touch and remember to always check back for reviews and other up to dates :) You can always follow my twitter which is located on the right hand side of the block. Click and follow if you wish :)


But that's it for me now! I'm off to do some reading, night all.
Happy Reading!


Emma xx

Crescendo * Becca Fitzpatrick

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Nora should know better than to think her life can return to normal after failing in love with a fallen angel.
And Nora's life isn't normal - her dad was murdered, and  the facts about his death just don't add up. Now Nora's own life is in imminent danger. Are she and Patch strong enough for the battle ahead?

The Review

Nora Grey's life is still chaotic as ever with new problems going on, that even she can't fix.
But it all starts crumbling to pieces when her relationship with Patch starts to fall apart.

Within a flash arguments are shared and Patch is gone, but a new guy is in town. Scott, one of Nora's old friends who she hasn't see since they we're young. Though Nora doesn't have fond memories of her times with Scott, not like the 'wonderful' times her mother and Miss. Parnell think.
But there's something strange about Scott, something that he's hiding from everyone, possibly something to do with the fact that he can speak into peoples minds, just like Patch.

Nora soon starts to think that Patch has a thing with her arch enemy, Marcie Millar and becomes slightly jealous. Things just don't add up as an envelope is handed to her at a restaurant with best friend Vee. A ring and a piece of paper that simple states.
'THIS RING BELONGED TO THE BLACK HAND. HE KILLED YOUR DAD'

She starts to believe that she can no longer trust Patch, thinking he has something to do with her fathers death. Nora is awoken every night by nightmares and strange dreams about her father and Hank Millar. Marcie's dad.
Soon Nora is on a quest to find who her fathers killer was, but she uncovers more than she bargained for. The shocking truth about her family, she will never look back at it the same again.  

As the story thickens, great things are uncovered and Nora begins to think if she can trust anyone anymore, Patch, Scott and even her own mother. She tries to solve the puzzles in her head as she finds out new clues everyday.

Who is The Black Hand? Who really killed her father? What would happen to her and Patch? And most of all, Was she safe?

What I Thought:

Crescendo is the second book in the Hush, Hush series by author Becca Fitzpatrick. And I thought it was bloody wonderful, if I'm quite honest. Once again Fitzpatrick has written a very amazing book with the choice of words and the imagery she creates.

I was always on the edge of my seat whilst reading this, especially near the end, and I was starting to panic what would happen next, and shocked by the twists at the end, I was so surprised! Becca Fitzpatrick makes you believe that it's the person who the main characters suspects, when in fact it's a completely different person, one who you thought was nice and caring.

The way she portrays some of the characters is astounding, I mean, look at the way she talks about Patch! Makes you want him yourself haha. But seriously, if you have never read any of the books, I oblige you to. It made my brain spark and realise that some characters weren't who they we're supposed to be, making me gasp in shock haha. The only thing I could say that got on my nerves a bit was with the way Nora and Patch we're around each other. I wanted them to have a fight, the be stubborn about it for a while (Not through most of the book, until the ending) and then for it to all work out again. But it didn't.

Though in all fairness, it did lead up to a great Cliff hanger at the end of the book, that got me saying "No!" over and over again as I closed the book.
I will definitely be reading her third book in the Hush, Hush series called Silence and will read the fourth after that one.

If you are a fan of paranormal books, and have yet not tried this one, I suggests you give it a read. You may like it, and go on to read more of her work. Or if you would just like a bit of difference to your style of reading. Pick up Crescendo, you won't be disappointed.

This book will get 10/10 from me :)

Hope you enjoyed the review.
Emma xx

Monday, 28 November 2011

There Is No Dog * Meg Rosoff

There Is No Dog by Meg Rosoff

In the beginning there was Bob. And Bob created the heavens and the earth, and the beasts of the field, and the creatures of the sea, and twenty-five million other species, including lots and lots of gorgeous girls.
And all of this in six days. Six Days! Congratulations, Bob. No wonder Earth is such a mess.


Imagine that God is a typical teenage boy. He is lazy, careless, self-obsessed, sex-mad - and about to meet Lucy, the most beautiful girl on earth.

Unfortunately, whenever Bob falls in love, disaster follows.

Let us pray that Bob does not fall in love with Lucy.

Bob is you're typical teenage boy, being lazy and constantly thinking of sex. But when his mother Mona wins a poker game, that soon makes her goddess on the world, she decided she didn't want it and passed the job down towards her son, Bob.


At first Bob is thrilled, and begins to create all the wonders of the world. Such as the animals, humans, the land and seas. The buildings and even different countries! But as he grew older it became as a chore for him and he couldn't be bothered.

And that's when Mr B was hired! To help out with all the mess that Bob had left piling up over the years, to answer every ones prayers, help fix the natural disasters and so forth. But as the papers are piling up on the desk, Mr B can't take it anymore and tries to get Bob to help him. Fat chance of that one happening. 

Down on earth, Lucy is loving her new job at the local Zoo. She loves animals, and wants nothing more to do with anything else but them. Well apart from an attractive man to love and share some time with. But the only one in her life at the moment is her boss, Luke. And even he doesn't give her the time of day to even speak to him, let alone speak to her. 
Lucy just can't see why he acts so strange round her and normal with everyone else. 

As the water levels are rising (Literally) cars are soon washed up in the tide, as they slowly move past Lucy's front window of her flat. The world has gone chaotic, fish flying in the sky, constant downpour for so many months, floods in Africa and a desert in America. What is happening?

But then Bob meets Lucy and all hell breaks lose down on earth, though Lucy and Bob hit it off pretty well for a slight chance to find love. Well, they do for now.

Okay, so in all honesty, I thought the book was okay. When I first saw the book at Waterstones and read the Summary, I was like "Wow, this sound really good" But I was mistaken.

Although there were some really funny parts, and some clever thinking behind the plot (Such as God is a teenage boy and so forth) I still think it lacked in the character department, I thought each character could of had a bit more sparkle to themselves. As they we're a little boring.

I loved the way Meg Rossof thought up the idea of a teenage god, and I think she got it exactly right about how Bob feels with his "Sexual frustration" half the time, and also the character for Mr B was quite alright. I also loved the idea of the Eck, Bob's pet penguin creature.

But I also think that the story dragged on a little and as it got halfway through the book, I found it a chore for myself to read. I know I usually write a much longer book review, but I honestly couldn't think of anything else to write. And also to not give away most of the story line.

Some of the words that were used also were a bit hard, I don't know if that sounds strange, but for me I found myself struggling with some of them, so I don't think people younger than myself will be able to, or even know what they mean, because I didn't. (Or maybe you do, don't get me wrong!)

All in all, I think that the books has it's good and bad points. Possibly a little bit more bad ones. I didn't enjoy the book as I thought I would, and thought it really dragged on, the characters were a bit plain and the book was a bit repetitive about things and sometimes it made no sense.

I recommend this book a bit more older readers such as 16+ and older. But possibly not to anyone younger than this since they may not understand some of the words used. (I didn't!) :)

I'm sorry to say, but I will be giving this book a 3.5/10 :/

Emma
xx

Friday, 4 November 2011

Falling For You * Jill Mansell

Falling For You by Jill Mansell

Summary:

NHS specs, unfortunate hair and wonky teeth were the curse of Maddy Harvey's teenage years. Thankfully she's blossomed since then.

But when she meets Kerr McKinnon one starry summer's night...well, that's when the problems really start. Because everyone in Ashcombe knows what happened eleven years ago and her mother, Marcella, would rather tear that family to pieces with her bare hands than see Maddy with a McKinnon.

And, OK, maybe Marcella isn't the real mother, but Maddy owes her so much. How can she possibly go against Marcella's wishes?

It's Romeo and Juliet all over again. Quick, hide those sharp knives and that bottle of poison...

What would you do if you fell in love with someone, but you're mother despised them and the person you love is from the same family that caused you're little sisters death?

Well, that's what it's like for Maddy Harvey.
When Maddy goes to a party one night she found herself jumping over a wall into the next door neighbours garden for a wee, since the door was locked to the house. But after failing to get back over, a young gentleman helps her back over, even if it does cause Maddy to accidentally show him her bright orange knickers through her ripped trousers.

But since that fateful night, Maddy soon had a feeling towards this man, and she couldn't stop thinking about him. Even though it was pitch black when she saw him. Though when Maddy goes on a sandwich delivery from Peach Tree deli and into Bath to Callaghan and Fox. Maddy is soon in doubt when then man she met that fateful night, turns out to be Kerr McKinnon.

Marcella, Maddy's mum, wanting nothing to do with any of the McKinnon's since the death of her step daughter years ago. But when Maddy ends up having a secret relationship with Kerr, and Marcella finally finds out. All hell breaks lose.

With Maddy finding it hard to cope with love, her friend Nuala who lives in the Angel pub with snotty boyfriend Dexter, she won't hear such nonsense that Dexter treats her like rubbish and that she is the only one who can't see for herself.

Kate who was Maddy's rival at school soon turns back up in Ashcombe, following a horrible accident to her face, Kate encloses herself to the outside world and decides to stay in Dauncey House, with her mother Estelle and her father, Oliver.
But Oliver has a few secrets tucked up his own sleeve about a certain someone who lives in Ashcome.

Meanwhile Jake, Maddy's brother basically sleeps with everyone woman he can get his hands on, Juliet, Maddy's work partner plans to keep her son, Tiff's real father a secret. Estelle has problems with her husband, Oliver. And Sophie, Jake's daughter, just loves Spiderman, playing with Tiff and Marcella's dog, Bean.

Throughout the story we meet many characters; Maddy, Kerr, Marcella, Jake, Juliet, Sophie, Tiff, Kate, Estelle, Oliver, Den, Pauline and Nuala. And of course the two dogs Bean and Norris.
We see each of their individual stories, the way they live and each of their secrets.

So what will happen between Maddy and Kerr?

What happened to Marcella's daughter years ago and how does it relate to the McKinnon's?

And what secret is Oliver hiding towards his family?

Falling For You by Jill Mansell, is a lovely heartwarming book about a couple who just can't be together, and no matter how hard they try it just doesn't work. Following the love life of Maddy and Kerr was just wonderful to read.
I really enjoyed this book, as it is my second one that I have read by Jill Mansell and I must say that I will be getting some more this Christmas and hopefully in the future.

The way that she describes the characters is amazing, and I love the fact that there's about four different stories going on at the same time throughout the book, or even more. But somehow they always get tied together, which I find an amazing writing skill.

The way that there are many characters in one book, and so many images that get your mind flowing with creativity and imagination is wonderful.
The only thing that I think there could of been more of, would be Maddy and Kerr, I know that it was all secretive, but it could of been more like it. As in more secret meeting up and things like that. The ending was lovely, but maybe a kiss in there at the end would of been nice too!

But other than those two things, I thought it was amazing. Another thing I like about it, is the short chapters. Which make each one snappy and by the end of the week you're already finished! Love that!

Go out and buy Jill Mansell's books, because I assure you that you won't be disappointed with them at all! There lovely, well written and beautiful story lines and imagery is created!

Rated: 9.5 / 10 :D

Monday, 10 October 2011

The Replacement * Brenna Yovanoff

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Mackie Doyle is the Replacement. Though he lives in the small town of Gentry, Mackie comes from a world of tunnels and black murky water, a world of living dead girls ruled by a little tattooed princess. He is a Replacement - left in the crib of a human bay sixteen years ago. Now, because of fatal allergies to iron, blood, and consecrated ground, Mackie is slowly dying in the human world.


Mackie would give up anything to live among us, to practise his bass guitar or spend time with an oddly intriguing girl called Tate. But when Tate's baby sister goes missing, Mackie is drawn irrevocably into the underworld of Gentry, known as Mayhem. He must face the dark creatures of the Slag Heaps and find his rightful place - in our world, or theirs.

Mackie Doyle is an average teenage boy that just wants to be a normal person and to be able to fit in. But life for Mackie isn't that easy since he's allergic to iron, blood and the cold damn ground. Pretty hard life to lead huh?
Since his sister Emma told him that he isn't her real brother, and was placed into the crib by a large man coming from the window, and her real brother was stolen. Mackie starts to think that there's something not right about him at all.


Gentry is a quiet little town where everyone is friendly, but they keep to themselves most of the time and try not to get up in each others business. But when Tate Stewart's baby sister Natalie goes missing, you would think all panic would break loose. When in reality, the little town see it as an everyday thing, and let it waver on by. Apart from Tate who thinks that something isn't right, and is pretty sure the baby they placed in the casket, was not her sister at all.


Soon Mackie is drawn to an underworld beneath Gentry that he thought never existed. With the place stinking like iron and filled with the undead, Mackie starts to question where he actually belongs when he finds out the truth about himself. Trying to save Tate's sister is going to be tough but, what isn't in life?


As Mackie starts to dig deeper (Literally) into the Slag Heaps and find out more disturbing stuff than he ever wanted to in his life, will he save Natalie Stewart or will she die as the clocks ticking towards the annual sacrifice of a child. What will happen? Who's side will Mackie Doyle end up on?

To be honest, I thought this book was okay. I thought it would be better judging by the cover and the summary on the back, but after a while it starts to get a little boring and repetitive.
For me at first, the book starts off at a great and interesting start. Then after a while it starts to loose it a bit and became too in depth with words, which just made it boring, and took too long to get to the point. Then it started to kick back upwards towards the end of the book and had an okay ending.

As much as I love books with more depth and describing than usual, I think this had too much. Don't get me wrong, the author Brenna Yovanoff chose some great words to use, which made reading it exciting in some places. But like I said, it was just too much in depth.
The characters were well written though, which was great. I also liked the really dark and Gothic side to the book, and also strangely the swearing, because you never get that much in a regular book.

All in all, I would recommend this book for young adults, or teens who are just starting to get into more in depth books. But if you're looking for a thriller or anything different, this book may not be for you.

In the end I would give this book 5 1/2 out of 10

Till next time,
Emma xx :)

Saturday, 1 October 2011

Long time no talk.

Hey guys!

Sorry I haven't been on here as much, been so busy with College and just life in general. But i'm back on track since i've got plenty of days off from College (Until I get a job/ or hear something from them) Which means I have loads of time to do some reading.

Last time I leaft you, I was reading The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff and still am, but hopefully I will have finished it by the end of the week, so I get get on with reading some new books.

I popped on here today to tell you that I have got some new books, and just some books that you have already seen, but have now been added to the
"To Read" pile. So here we go!...


So there we are! The books in my "To Read" pile. If you can't read what they are and wish to know, I shall type it up for you now from Top to Bottom.

Beneath A Rising Moon - Keri Arthur
Beneath A Darkening Moon - Keri Arthur
Falling For You - Jill Mansell
Good At Games - Jill Mansell
Crescendo - Becca Fitzpatrick
There Is No Dog - Meg Rossoff
Life - Keith Richards

There will be a book review to come soon, but for more information you can always keep an eye out for my twitter...
http://twitter.com/#!/LumosLemon

But for now I bid you a Goodnight! :)
Love Emma xx

Wednesday, 7 September 2011

Bite Club * Rachel Caine

Bite Club by Rachel Caine

Morganville is a quite college town where humans and vampires live in relative peace. But lately a great deal of blood is being spilt...

Having survived a number if adventures with her new night-dwelling friends, college student Claire Danvers has come to realise that for the most part, the undead just was to get on with their lives.

But someone else wants them to get ready to rumble.

There's a new  extreme sport being broadcast over the Internet: bare-knuckle fights pitting captured vampires against one another - or, worse, against humans. Claire soon discovers that what started as an online brawl will soon threaten everyone in Morganville. And if they want to survive, they'll have to do a lot more than fight...

We all know that Morganville can have it's ups and downs from time to time. Especially after the sun has set, but this have just been turned up a heat higher in the Texas state, and things can only get worse, can't they?


When Claire is seated next to 'Stinky Doug' she doesn't like it one bit. He smells foul and Claire is pretty sure he's never heard of a good old shower or soap and water. Yet Doug is a really friendly guy, and she can't help but try to speak with him. Until he nicks some vials of blood from their practical lesson.


Soon later, Claire goes on a mission with Michael and Eve to win back the Vials before Doug gets seriously hurt, but when they reach his dorm room on the TPU campus and find him laying there dead in his room. It can only mean one thing.


Someone knew about the  stealing of vampire blood, and they definitely showed no mercy.


Though on the other side of college, Shane finds a leaflet that has been dropped off at the house, which indicates that battles against Humans and Vampires will be held. To Shane's surprise, he is shocked that he is finally allowed to fight vampires, and that there is something to take his anger and stress out on.

Shane heads straight off to the gym to see what all the fights are about, but soon becomes too interested, and slowly starts too loose himself. Acting and taking his anger on not only the vampires, but his friends Claire and Eve and forms a giant hatred towards Michael.

Claire, sensing that something is not right, heads down towards Myrnin lab and seeks help in him, to find out what's happening to the town and who is behind the mysterious fights being held. Which leads to the question of one of the most dangerous people to ever walk through Morgaville, could be back. Bishop.

As Shane starts to get more violent, angry and jealous that Claire spends so much time with Myrnin he leaves the house and doesn't speak for weeks. Claire is in pieces and Michael and Eve have big news to share, but it will have to wait. Because as the three friends set off on one mission once again, and battle to possible death, it is clear that all they need to do is...Save Shane.

Soon the clues come clearer and Claire has all the help she can from Eve, Michael, Mrynin, Amelie and Oliver, and also Frank (Shane's dead dad) They all battle it out to save a friend, boyfriend and son, but all is on deadline as buildings blow up, Kim makes a special appearance and a mysterious woman turns up to Morganville.

Bite Club is the 10th book in the worldwide book series
'The Morganville Vampires'. Like all the other books in the series, this one does not fail to keep me entertained! You can always count on the books and Rachel Caine to write such wonderful stories, that take you to another world. Like your actually there in Morganville but watching from afar. The books will always keep you on the edge of your seat and wanting more, biting your nails and never daring to put the book down. Because there just so amazing! I have never read such an amazing book series (Apart from Harry Potter) But Morganville Vampires are right behind the HP's.

When it gets near the end of her books, it picks up the pace and you begin to wonder what will happen when you turn ever page. If you put the book down, it will leave you wondering what will happen next and hoping nothing will go wrong. There are times when the book actually make my heart beat faster, my mouth open in an 'O', say "Oh my god!", Gasp and all the other emotions available. I loved the book and found it wonderful and amazing, and I hope you do if you read it.

Although I don't think it was as good as the one before, but it was still brilliant!

I can always count on them to make me smile and laugh and I can never want much more from a book. So that's why I think the book is amazing, and people should go read it! If that isn't enough for a reason to read a book...then I don't know what is!


I would give Bite Club by Rachel Caine 9/10 :)
Enjoy, happy readers!

Sunday, 14 August 2011

To The Moon And Back * Jill Mansell

To The Moon And Back by Jill Mansell



When Ellie Kendall loses her husband Jamie in an accident she feel s her world come to an end. But life has to go one and eventually she's ready for a new start - at work, that is. She definitely doesn't need a new man, not while she has a certain secret visitor to keep her company...


Entrepreneur Zack McLaren seems to have it all, but the girl he can't stop thinking about won't give him a second glance. Why can't she pay him the kind of attention she lavishes on Elmo, his time-share dog?


Having moved to an exclusive flat in North London, Ellie becomes friendly with neighbour Roo who's harbouring a secret of her own. Between them, can both girls sort out their lives? Guilt is a powerful emotion, but a lot can happen in a year at Primrose Hill.


Ellie and Jamie we're what you would call, uptown star-crossed lovers. They fought over the most silliest of things, enjoyed each others company very much, and loved to be around Jamie’s long time friend Todd. They were the three musketeers.


But everything changed one night, when Ellie and Jamie went their separate ways for the evening. Ellie going off to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show, with some of her work colleagues, and Jamie popping off to an old school reunion with Todd.


After that night, the missed calls and text from various people on Ellie's phone and the funeral later in the month. Ellie had it an all time low.
What was she supposed to do without her husband?

Ellie soon starts to go through all the grieving process, she blames Todd for not getting the tube down in London, rather than driving on ice, and crashing the car. She wishes horrible thoughts that Todd was dead instead of Jamie. Everyone treats her like she's fragile and like there walking on eggshells around her, and she hates it.


Ellie decides that she needs a change, she doesn't like the work she's in now, and the way people treat her. Her boss is a bit strange, and she has to travel miles to actually get to the job. So with help from her father-in-law Tony, he rents her a new uptown flat, and so Ellie begins to a fresh start.

During her first day, she has no friends, well apart from Tony. Until one day the woman next door leaves her key in the door and runs off into a cab, without question where she put it. Ellie pops down to the door to keep the key safe until she returns home and leaves her a note on the door on where to retrieve it.


Soon Ellie and the girl called Roo, hit it off and become friends in an instant, learning things about each others roots and what's happened in their lives so far, to get them where they are today. Though Ellie is desperate that she needs a job soon, otherwise she will just be depressed all the time about Jamie.


So when Roo seeks her a job working for Zack McLaren, one of the highest Entrepreneur's. Ellie doesn't know what to say, and decides to leave it for a while, but later on she decides to take the plunge for the job.


Primrose Hill soon has a romantic side bubbling in which every character finds happiness and love, sooner than they think. Tony meets Martha, a lovely artist who has captured his heart and there is no way of letting go. Roo is in a tricky situation with a married man and is starting to question herself on whether it's right and if she needs to change? Todd is in a heap over two women and doesn't know what to do with himself.


And as for Ellie, well she is forced between different men who she does like, but aren't exactly her number 10. And with things bubbling up working for Zack McLaren being his PA. What will happen in romance for Ellie, and Zack?


To The Moon And Back by Jill Mansell, Is one of the most beautifulest books I have ever read in my life. The book is filled with so much emotions, that you can actually feel them until you start to know how Ellie is feeling. The first page grabs you by the words used and makes you want to read more. I am actually quite proud of myself, since I finished the book in a week or so, but no longer than two. Which is something I haven't been able to do in a long time.


I'm very glad that I picked this one up out of all the others. And I'm also glad that Jill Mansell was my first choice in Romance and chick-lit novels. I really don't think I could of picked up a better author to start with. Jill Mansell's work made me laugh a lot, and always smile. And not until the very end, did it make me shed a few tears. I love the way how she has wrote the book and chose the right words for it.


So I am glad to say that I will give this book 10/10 because it was just a beautiful read, and to let you know that I will be buying more of her books.


Hope you enjoyed the review, Emma x

Saturday, 13 August 2011

Upcoming reviews and other news.


Hello!

So thought I would do a quick update, to let you guys know what's happening! Even though this never gets read by anyone but me. But anywho, I like doing them haha.

So anyways, I would like to draw your attention to the top photo where I am holding a new book, which I bought recently today :) If you can't see it well, he book is called, There Is No Dog, And it's by Meg Rosoff.
I have never read any of her books before, but saw the particular one a week back and added it to my list of books to buy.

Now a week later and I have swiped it off the shelf (I have bought it, don't be fooled) It's about God. Well, God is a young teenage boy, and be became God when his mother won the world in a game of poker and decided she didn't want it. So she passed it down to her son.

I bought it cause I thought it would be a good and funny read, which soon I will let you know with a book review and when I get round to reading it. Which brings me onto my next photo.



So these are all the books I have to read, and I can't wait to get stuck into them. Some, I have had for a while and I really need to get round to reading them. So from now on, I have made a pact to myself not to buy anymore books until! I have finished reading all these! Wish me luck.

If you can't see the names of the books, I shall make a list from top to bottom of the books...

Beneath A Darkening Moon by Keri Arthur
Beneath A Rising Moon by Keri Arthur
Witch & Wizard by James Patterson
Drummer by Jan Page
The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
Bite Club by Rachel Caine
There Is No Dog by Meg Rosoff
Keith Richards by Keith Richards

So I hope you enjoy reading my reviews and look out for one very soon!
Bye x


Tuesday, 9 August 2011

Torment * Lauren Kate


Torment by Lauren Kate


Summary:


Love Never Dies...


It took Lucinda an eternity to find her beloved angel, Daniel. But he waited for her. Now they are forced apart again, to protect Luce from the Outcasts - Immortals who want her dead. During their separation, Luce learns about her mysterious past lives. But the more she discovers the more she suspects that Daniel is hiding something.


What if Daniel's version of the past isn't true?
Is it really their destiny to be together?
Or is Luce actually meant to be with somebody else?


Fallen by Lauren Kate, is the second book in this thrilling series. The book picks up right where the last book (Fallen) left off, and is soon picked into the motion and chaos of Luce Price's life.


When we last left Luce, terribly things had just happened. The death of a friend lays deep within her heart and she has the feeling that if she never came to Swords & Cross Reform school, this would have never happened.


The battle that is currently happening with a mix of angles, demons and outcasts is still on the agenda and Daniel is forced to move her to a whole new different school.


Shoreline is different from Luce's last school Swords & Cross. The lovely Californian sun shines down on Shoreline constantly as the school is located just on the coast. Luce begins to like the place fast, and tries to start fresh to try and get away from the problems that had happened at Swords & Cross.


At Shoreline Luce meets Shelby. A tough looking, bossy and yoga loving chick. Shelby doesn't take to kindly to Luce's new appearance in her dorm room and wishes that she would find somewhere else to crash. But Luce decides to stick at it to see if she can make some type of friendship blossom between them both. While at Shoreline, Luce is put into the 'gifted' group with the Nephilim students.


Here she meets trustworthy and good looking Miles. He's charming, kind, loveable and just a happy person to be around, causing both Luce and Miles to be friends instantly.


Although the curriculum in Luce's classes, taught by and Angel and Demon (Which Luce finds it a little hard to get her head round) are a lot more different than the classes that were taught at Swords & Cross. Luce soon learns how to glimpse into the shadows that have bee following her round for all her life, and soon see's what they hold. Memories of her past lives.


Startled by the fact, Luce becomes more curious and goes on a hunt for the shadows in the woods to find out more about her life, where she came from, other parents she has had. And finds out that she had siblings.


Though with finding out her past, it still doesn't let the aching feeling go that she doesn't see Daniel as much as she would like to, and when she does. He's mean and too over protective for Luce's liking. Daniel doesn't tell her much about her past lives, which Luce soon starts to get mad about, and starts to question if she really loves him. And if there's any future for them both.


Luce realises that Daniel is holding her back, or so she feels that way. And starts to seek comfort from Shelby and Miles.
Which soon leads to Miles falling for Luce. Hard.


But the battle isn't over yet, and with so much to fight for: Daniel, her life, family, friends and Luce herself. Will Luce finally live to tell the tale of her life this time? Or will it be another past life put onto the shelf and inside a memory?


Will Luce ever be with Daniel again?
And will the battle ever end?
...
Will Luce come back?


Fallen by Lauren Kate, is an amazing book that made me dive straight into the first page, after reading the first book. A friends mother loaned me them and I’m so glad that she did. Because otherwise I wouldn't have had fun reading these books. Although I did find that the second book was a bit slow in places, and thought that the first book was still best out of the two. I stopped reading it after a while because I didn't want to take it on Holiday with me, since it's not mine and picked it straight back up when I arrived home. Though I did feel the struggle to read it, and found that it was a bit of a force to get me going again. But nonetheless, I am glad that I picked it back up and finished it to the very end.


My emotions were fixed with sad, happy and a little frustration at some of the characters. Not because they were not written well, but because of how they acted as a person. But that was part of the story. Also I nearly cried, because some parts are just cute, but then again I’m a sap for 'mushy' things haha.


All in all, I enjoyed the book very much and can't wait to read the third book in the series. I hoped my review helped anyone wishing to read or buy the book, and hope you have a good read. I would recommend this book for readers of any Vampire books e.g. Morganville Vampires or Twilight. And Angel books like Kissed By An Angel. And like always, someone who may wish for a change :)


I would rate this book at 7.5/10 :)
Enjoy, Emma x

Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Fallen * Lauren Kate

Fallen by Lauren Kate

Summary:

SOME ANGELS ARE DESTINED TO FALL.

Instant. Intense. Weirdly familiar...
The moment Luce looks at Daniel she knows she has never felt like this before.
Except that she can't shake the feeling that she has...and with him - a boy she doesn't remember ever setting eyes on.

Will her attempt to find out why enlighten her - or destroy her?
 
Luce Price is unhappy that she has to leave her school and gets dumped at Sword & Cross reform school, for disturb kids. She feels out of place, scared and lonely. She left her best friend Cally at her old school and can only have one phone call a week, which doesn't last long. Which then she is soon drawn between calling her Parents or Cally. Plus the dark, liquid black shadows that follower her around where ever she goes, that got her into the reform school in the first place, also that she 'supposeldy' set fire to a summer camp room where her summer romance, Trevor accidentally died.
 
But things start to change for Luce and turn to the bright side when she stumbles on a feisty, bouncy and hyperactive friend, Ariane. Luce finds it hard to believe that she has made a friend so soon, a friend who has been dropped into the school because she is a so called psychopath. Luce soon becomes friendly with Ariane as she teaches her the ropes of the school, the do's and dont's and who to stay away from. Then there's Penn, the girl with big purple glasses and cases of allergies to last her la lifetime, and ends up startling Luce when she hides out in the bathroom away from Molly. A mean punk chick, with an angry temper, which Luce gets in the way of. Penn helps Luce clean up and lends her clothes, which soon turns into a sisterly friendship, and an awful lot of spying on
a certain person.
 
But there's one person who catches her eye and she can definitely not stay away from him. Luce is convinced that she has seen Daniel Grigori before in her life. He's tall, has long blond hair, and charming grey-violet eyes. What more could a girl possibly want? Though Luce soon sinds that he is ignorant and flips her the finger when she was only taking a short look at him.
 
With Daniel in mind, along comes Cam and jumps into her life. Sweeping her up in his charms and arms. Luce finds herself slowly falling for Cam, since nothing will happen with Daniel. But the thought of him still tugs at her heart and she can't forget about him. Soon little things start to happen between Cam and Luce and they end up sneaking out of school to a run down bar. Which Luce soon starts to regret as the little 'trip' was not what she planned.
 
As the story unravels, Luce begins to find out more about her past life, where she's been, who she's met and what she's done. She starts to get close to Daniel but is soon pushed away again by a secret he unleashes on her stumbling her mind back into thinking mode, and beginning to re-consider what she feels for Daniel.
Is it true? Or is it just a sick twisted game to string her along?
 
Will Luce and Daniel go somewhere, or is it just a matter of time before things drastically go wrong?
 
Fallen by Lauren Kate is a fantasy based book about fallen angels and mortals. And I know what some of you are thinking if you are reading this
"God is that the only type she reads" But it's not I assure you. I just find myself drawn to books like this, all dark and mysterious. Plus a friend lent it me and said I would enjoy it, and you know what? I did! I thought the book was a great read, I do admit (and hate to) that there we're some part in the story that dragged on a little while, but it always kept me on the edge of my seat and wanting more.
 
I think that Lauren Kate has written this book wonderfully with the best language possible, it's well written out, good use of imagery and it's one of those books that you have to think about to understand I think. The main reason why I think it's so perfectly written is the way she referrers to certain parts int he stories timeline. How at the start of the book she starts in the past and starts to bring it throughout the book and gets you thinking
"Oh yeah, wow" I found it amazing.
 
All though in spite of what other critics have said about the book, thinking about it, I can see why they have compared some parts of the novel to 'Twilight' And I have to admit it does in some ways, the whole teenage drama, finding out about a secret, then falling in love with something immortal. But on the other hand I found the book wonderfully romantic, it pulled at my heart string many times. It made me smile, laugh, cry, and in some parts anger and got me thinking "No, why did that have to happen?" And
 "Don't trust him, it's not safe" In that kind of way.
 
I recommend this book for anyone who likes a dark romantic read, or for people who are interested in fantasy books. Great read!
 
All in all I would give this book...
8/10 Stars.

Saturday, 14 May 2011

Kissed By And Angel * Elizabeth Chandler

Kissed By An Angel by Elizabeth Chandler

Summary:
'If the love of your life died, what would you miss the most?
His voice? His touch? His heart beating against yours?

When Ivy's boyfriend Tristan dies, she's desolate without him, until she discovers Tristan hasn't abandoned her - he's her guardian angel, watching over her, close enough to hear, to see, to touch...


But Ivy's life is in danger. If Tristan rescues her, his mission on earth will be over and he'll have to leaver her behind. Will Ivy lose Tristan forever?

Kissed By An Angel is a heartwarming love story about a young couple who fall deeply in love with each other. But there's a twist.
When Ivy and Tristan set off on a date together and soon turn out to be late to their reservations, Tristan starts up the car and drives towards the restaurant, though when he starts to go over the speed limit a little, he can't slow down and there's something wrong with the brakes. Causing an accident to occur.


Ivy becomes depressed over Tristan's death and thinks that she will never feel his touch,  heard his voice or his presence at all. Though Tristan is still with her, he can hear her but he can't touch, he's an angel. And his one quest on his mind is to tell Ivy he loved her.
But when his angel tutor, Lacey, come to help him. He is soon pushed into another direction and a different mission.


Since Ivy's mother remarried into a wealthy husband, Andrew. She also got Gregory in the bargain with the house, Andrews son and Ivy's step brother. Ivy likes Gregory, she thinks that there is nothing wrong with him at all and thinks that he's just a loving, caring brother. And so does Phillip, Ivy's younger, blood related brother.


Although, Gregory is not all that he appears to be. His mother was found dead at her home, yet he shows no remorse over his own mothers death, and uses this chance to get close to Ivy, but will it blossom into a relationship or just steamy kisses? Though Ivy cannot compete with her friend Suzanne who has had the hots for Gregory since they started High school, will the closeness of Ivy and Gregory ruin there childhood friendship?


As more strange deaths pop up in the sequence throughout the story, Ivy is drawn with who to believe and who to to be against, all deaths close to Gregory, she starts to wonder is he really is the nice, sweet step brother. Or a twisted phsyco who wants revenge.
Does Ivy take advice from Beth, her loving friend who always finds herself writing harlequin romances at ever hour of the day. About what is happening, due to the dreams and visions she See's or does she just wave them by and doesn't do anything. But when Ivy forgets about them, they come back to haunt her, but there not just dreams anymore. There the real thing.


But soon Tristan realizes that it wasn't a car malfunction with his brakes, someone had tampered with them. Tristan soon finds pieces to the puzzle that he needs to fix and with the help of Lacey, Ivy, Beth and Will they may find the reason for all these deaths.


Including Tristan's.

Kissed By An Angel is an amazing story that I found wonderful. It had me on the edge of my seat every time I read it. The story itself was very creative and full of different feelings, I found myself laughing, smiling, sighing, crying and even scared at once point in the book. I think that Elizabeth Chandler has wrote this book wonderfully, full of romance and passion but also with a twist full of fright and puzzlement. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat and you wont be able to put the book down or stop turning pages. The book has a wonderful and beautiful ending. Read it, you won't be disappointed! (P.s:: Sorry if this book review wasn't that great today)

RATED: 5 STARS! * * * * *

Upcoming Book Reviews!

Hey Guys!

So I know I haven't been on in a while again since the last post with me talking about the new book I got and why I haven't been updating as frequently. And the reason is pretty much the same to be honest, I have ton of art coursework that has to be finished by this Monday for marking and my actual GCSE exams start next week (The upcoming week) So I'm totally packed up. So I need to get some revision in, artwork and to top it all off I need to do another exam piece for Resistant Materials (Woodwork) that has to be in for Monday also, clean my room and a load of other stuff! Haha

But I thought I would let you know that I have finished Kissed By An Angel by Elizabeth Chandler and will be doing a book review on it shortly...Pretty much after this post :D So that's good news.
On the other good news spec, you may have noticed the photo up top, that's a building of books I will be reading through, if you would like to know. So those books will be  the upcoming reviews that I will be doing, and I can't wait to get my hands on them and open the page. Then later type it up and let you guys in on them.

But that is all for now, i'll keep you posted on what's happening :)
If you have any questions or would like to share you're opinions on some of the books that I have reviewed, and would like let me know.
Send me an email at: Helsinki.Vamp.69@hotmail.com. And I will get back to you as soon as possible, or you can leave you're comment at the bottom of any post.

Or you can follow me at: www.twitter.com/TBooksAndReview

Hope to hear from you soon!
Tink x

Saturday, 23 April 2011

March Update


Hey Guys!

So I thought I would update since I haven't in a very long time and thought I would tell you about some new things and why I haven't been updating as frequently as I used to.

The main reason is because I have been swamped! With so much coursework and there full of deadlines that I have too meet. And since I am leaving in about 2 weeks and 3 days (Yes from my last year in school) I will be concentrating more on that. Which means less reading time :'( Sad face I know.

Which also means less book reviews, I'm sorry guys but that's what happening for now until I leave.
But! I have some good news, I have been reading a lot recently possibly due to the fact that I am on holiday and have nothing else better to do...
(Yes I have a sad life) But I don't care cause I love to read haha

I am still however, currently reading Kissed By An Angel by Elizabeth Chandler. 5 chapters in a day! Wow that's a lot for me haha and I'm doing some more reading later :D
But yeah, I'm still reading that and now on chapter 19, which is not long to go before I finish it which also means I will be doing a book review and then onto another book.

Also you may have noticed the picture of myself and a book at the top. Well I got a voucher for Easter off my aunt and decided to buy a new book. This book in case you can't see the photo clearly is called
To The Moon And Back by Jill Mansell. Though on the front cover it says
How far would you go for love? and the obvious answer is To The Moon And Back.

I bought this book because I wanted myself to get out there and read other books besides vampires and angels and stuff. I mean don't get me wrong I love the Morganville Vampires and the book my boyfriend bought me for a present which is 'Kissed By An Angel'. (Which is also romantic) But I guess I just wanted one out of the "Paranormal Beings" Section. You know?

So yes, that's the great news for now haha. Hopefully the next time I write it will be a Book Review! (Also it's because the book is so thick when I'm used to reading small ones, which I tend to read quicker)

Happy Reading, and Happy Easter! 

Emma xx

Friday, 25 February 2011

Ghost Town * Rachel Caine


Ghost Town by Rachel Caine

'When Claire is ordered to repair the systems that protect Morganville, it's not just cutting into her study time, it's a
life-threatening problem. If there's one thing this
vampire-infested town is serious about, it's security.


But achieving the impossible only brings a whole new set of problems, and the upgrades have unexpected consequences: people inside the town are slowly beginning to forget who they are, even the vampires. Soon, the town's little memory problem has turned into a full-on epidemic. Now Claire needs to figure out a way to pull the plug on her experiment - before she forgets how to save Morganville'

Warning: This review will contain spoilers
Review
So I thought that this book was brilliant. It kept me on the edge of my seat time and time again and my heart skipped beats when I turned every page I turned. It was such a good read! If you haven't got up to this book yet in The Morganville Vampire Series yet, then hurry! This is the 9th book in The Morganville Vampire Series, and has got to be one of my top books from it.
After some time Claire and Myrnin finally finish repairing the machine after it had been destroyed in a frantic Battle to get rid of Ada. But Claire and Myrnin want the machine to help with security again to help sustain the Morganville residents in telling them their secret. There are really Vampires in the world. And from the past books we know that when people leave, their minds are wiped from memories of Morganville.
But things don't go according to plan for Claire and Myrnin.
The machine is supposed to take peoples memories when they leave. Not the people who live inside Morganville borders, it turns out that Myrnin switched the dial to 3 years inside of Morganville, which can only lead to bad things for Claire.
As Claire and Myrnin try to fix the machine again, things start going weird. People can't remember where they live, if they have moved house, their way to work and the loss of loved ones. But just as Claire thought it couldn't get more weird.
Michael starts to call her mum, things aren't looking up for Claire as she thought when Eve starts to forget who her own best friend is.
It comes down to Claire and Shane to defend for themselves, their friends and also their town. Soon the whole towns memory has gone, even Amelie and Oliver's as it starts to take effects on the vampires. Claire and Shane battle out plans on what to do, but soon the boy Claire's heart belongs to starts to fade away until he can't remember who she is at all.
More determined, Claire gets an army together to get down to the machine and stop all of this for once and for all. But it's not going to be easy, cause Myrnin has lost the plot for good this time.
Will Claire save everyone and the town? Or will she start to lose her own mind too, and not get there in time to stop it?
Well! I thought that this book was amazing! It really did keep me on the edge of my seat, cause my heart to skip beats, want to pick up the book and read it everywhere I go, never put the damn thing down, and made me think throughout the day.
Rachel Caine has seriously worked her ass off for this book, it's
b-r-i-l-l-i-a-n-t!
The way she writes it, and the words she uses are phenomenal! The way she captures you're mind and just helps you create these images in your head, it was like watching a film in my mind for me. It was truly wonderful. It amazes me how she can write like this, and her imagination is inspiring.
I hope you have fun reading this book as much as I have.
Got to wait till May now for the next one (I've finally caught up!)
Rated: 5 STARS!

Sunday, 2 January 2011

Kiss Of Death * Rachel Caine

Kiss Of Death by Rachel Caine

'Claire Danvers has a few things on her mind. First there is the laundry, which is now an unfortunate shade of pink.
Then there is her new boyfriend , Shane, who is never too far from her thoughts. Finally, there is her best friend Eve's relationship problems. As if life as a student wasn't complicated enough, Clair just happens to be studying in Morganville.
A town run by vampires.
Trouble seems to follow Claire and her friends like a Shadow and tonight is no exception to the rule. They must find the most difficult documents for a vampire to acquire; people passes that will allow 'bad ass' Morley and his friends to leave Morganville. But it's proving incredibly problematic, and with the odds seemingly stacked against them, the biggest question of all is...

Will they survive?'
Warning: This Book review does share some spoilers.
Review
Well, I must say that this book did not disappoint me in the slightest bit, I know that you all think that I am being bias towards the author but I assure you I am not. I just think these are amazingly great books and are meant to be read and to be known about! And I'm sure you all know that by the time you read this, the four of them are no longer in Morganville and are free to roam outside the borders of their hometown.

Kiss Of Death is the 8th book in The Morganville Vampire Series by the author Rachel Caine, this book will have you at the end of your seat and maybe in some places reaching for the light.

The book picks up where Carpe Corpus left us. A new vampire is in town and his name is Morley, doesn't sound very scary but what about this for you. He wants to get out of Morganville, and fast and since he tried to harm Shane and Eve, whilst they were trying to save Kim (in the last book) Claire made a deal.
Claire will get Morley and his crew passes, so long as he doesn't kill Eve and Shane. But all goes down hill when Claire asks Amelie for the passes, but instead she gives them to Clair, Eve, Shane and Michael. This could only mean one thing in there 18 & 17 year old minds.

Road Trip!

With the four of them now all going to Dallas, Micheal can finally live his dream to record his own album. Eve and Claire can have a small vacation out of the depths of Morgaville and shop. But for Shane, his dream has been granted because he can finally get out of Morganville. But like always there's a catch.

The has to be an escort with them at all times, and what could be worse than having one in the first place? Having one named Oliver.
The road trip can no longer be fun seeing as they have a vampire hippie crashing there style and the four of them start to ask themselves

'what could be worse?'

If you mean worse along the lines of,

*Nearly get beat up at a truck stop
*Oliver goes missing
*Your car gets set on fire
*And get put into jail

Yeah it can get totally worse.

Morley is not one to be taken for a sucker (well not literally) and he knows when he's been messed with, so when the four if them including Oliver, escape Morganville to assure their safety. He is coming after them.

Claire, Eve and Shane are soon in trouble and accused of a murder they didn't commit and are thrown into jail, but Michael was no where at the scene to be found. With the three of them discussing on how to get out, the jail is soon into pieces and the police officer is attacked, leaving a big hole in the wall with an open van at the end of it. And Morley stood with it.

As they are all forced onto the van with other innocent people, things are starting to get bad. Michael and Oliver are no where to be seen and there is no help on the way for them.

Soon in a little remote town called Blacke things are very weird and something is terribly wrong. As the four of them trying to save there lives the best they can, things start to clear up and they realise what is just so wrong about Blacke, it's the place where all the sick vampires are kept, and the worst off at that.

Things are bad, very very bad.

At the end of this book, I found myself hugging and smiling it, and it is nothing to do with it being signed the the lovely Rachel Caine herself. It was because it was exceptionally good, the way her books draw you into the story line is amazing. She is a wonderful and talented writer and she has become one of my favourite authors to this very day.

Kiss Of Death captures you from the start and makes you read every single detail possible. Very action packed than her others and in places it made me laugh a lot, though the romance is still there which I add, made me tear up just a few times. Filled with much more action than the others, there is much tension going on as you turn every page.

This book will have you on the edge of your seat no doubt, or reading till 12 midnight. And possibly reaching for the light in some places and checking around the room you are in. Kiss Of Death, takes you to a magical word at a first glance at the front cover and it is impossible to put down. One of Caine's best books yet. Better and better each book.

Like always I recommend for people who want something different to read, to get away from the 'Twilight' craze, books with real vampires in (My opinion) Or for people who just like a genuinely good read.

Rated: