Saturday, 22 December 2012

The Magic Of Christmas * Trisha Ashley



The Magic Of Christmas by Trisha Ashley


It's the most wonderful time of the year. 

In the pretty Lancashire village of Middlemoss, Lizzy is on the verge of leaving her cheating husband when tragedy strikes and she finds herself widowed. 

Her Christmas pudding circle - a group of friends swapping seasonal recipes - offers her a welcome distraction, whilst a simmering rivalry with local cookery writer. Nick erupts over who will will best mice pie at the village show. 

Meanwhile, the whole village is gathering for the annual boxing day mystery play. But who will play Adam to Lizzy's eve? Could it be handsome and charismatic actor Ritch, or will someone closer to home win her heart?
Whatever happens, it promises to be a Christmas to remember!

Stuck in a rut in her marriage, Lizzy Pharamound doesn't know what to do with her cheating and abusive husband Tom. Until one day things take a turn for the worse and Lizzy is tragically widowed. 

In a case of events Lizzy soon finds herself slowly befriending nick Pharamound, Tom's cousin, and becoming even closer friends, even though their friendship is a bit like love on the rocks. 

With young son Jasper, who is now leaving the nest to travel to Liverpool University, Christmas couldn't come sooner. Keeping herself busy, Lizzy is always at the CPC (Christmas Pudding Circle) preparing and baking to get ready for Christmas. Making sure she has an early start all the way up in September!

With Nicks love for cooking and his love life slowly, plus there's a new person in town. Things could start to get a bit messy between the two. But that doesn't stop handsome actor Ritch Rainford, who is new to the scene in Middlemoss and on the big screen shooting for the well known TV program being filmed in Middlemoss, Cotton Common.
He can't keep his eyes off Lizzy and she certainly start to find him attractive, until she finds out one of his little secrets, that puts her off him for good!

though things for Lizzy start to get a bit shaky, as the police come knocking on her small little cottage door and start accusing her of Tom's death. Distressed on how anyone could think that, Lizzy confides in Nick...again.

Soon there's all sorts kicking off and all of them revolving around her late husband. Affairs gone wild, debts to be paid, a small assassination by t he strange Gothic woman, a fight at his funeral and to top it all of a woman who is pregnant and claims that Tom Pharamound is the father!

And with helping her best friend Annie out, with her posh-pet sitters. Lizzy is busier than ever! But all this can't be that bad can it? Follow Lizzy on her crash course in writing, baking, dog walking, being a friend and a mother on the side. Then she'll tell you on what life is really like and a Pharamound.

The Magic Of Christmas by Trisha Ashley, is a heart warming tale that is full of friendship and love. On how to tackle the goals that life itself throws at you, non stop. And to believe in yourself and to have fun.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, which I was quite surprised by. Because at the beginning I found it hard to kind of get into it, and to like the book. But after a while I could not put it down! I love how Trish Ashley described the love both Lizzy and Jasper shared towards each other, because it was nice to read a bit about a mother and her child for a bit. I found this book really comforting for some reason, it's full of love and twists and turns on every page. Plus shockers a long the way!

It's highly funny, and will make you laugh out loud in some parts and giggle at some others, as you know how Lizzy sometimes feels in this book.

I will give this book at 5 out of 10

Thursday, 6 December 2012

Welcome To My World * Miranda Dickinson


Welcome To My World by Miranda Dickinson

Close your eyes and imagine the world is your oyster…

And now imagine never seeing it. Welcome to Harriet Langton's world. All her life she's dreamt of travelling the globe - fate always got in the way.

Working as a travel agent, the closest Harri comes to her dream destination of Venice is booking the trip for someone else. But everything changes when travel fanatic Alex drops in.

With her boyfriend Rob tied up with work, Harri is persuaded to help Alex in his quest for love. But in her attempts to help, Harri soon discovers that she's alienating those around her.

Desperate to leave her life behind, will her dreams finally come true? Or will Harri's leap of faith be her biggest mistake yet?


If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? France? Spain or even America?

For Harri Langton, her dream destination is Venice. We all know what she's thinking, the city of love and romance. Our hopes and dreams of holding the lover of your life's hand in the warm, Italian sun.

Harri also shares this opinion, bur for Miss Langton she will have to make do of dreaming, as she has never even stepped foot out of the UK boarders.Though the closest Harri has ever gotten to see the world, is on the back of travel brochures in her local Travel Agents; SLIT. In other words Harri's day job.

Harri is what she describes herself as an "Armchair Traveller" meaning that she reads the books, magazines, watches the travel shows and has stacks upon stacks of DVD's. But never actually leaves the UK.

As for her best friend Alex Brennan, he's been all over! You name a place and he's probably seen it. Harri finds comfort in the stories he tells, the pictures he shows ans all the taste tingling meals he makes from around the world.
The only thing is that he's not so good at is finding the right woman.


So when Viv, Alex's over loving mother decides to set him up in a dating magazine, she soon hopes to find him the woman of his dreams. Much to the dismay of Harri, who has found herself doing most of the work.

Stella, Harri's ever so charming and fashionable friend has a friendship they could make you laugh and smile. Even when she still to this day and over the many years pesters Harri on here ever job loving boyfriend, Rob.

'Welcome To My World' by Miranda Dickinson, is a wonderful story based upon friendship and love. Testing how Harri would go to save a friendship and finding the love of her life. Whilst on the daydream cloud about finding her heart and soul, to believe in herself, for her travels sake.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading 'Welcome To My World' I loved how Harri and Alex's friendship is written and Harri's 'Armchaor Traveling'. The book is highly amusing at some point's, with the way Viv has been written, makes you smile and think to yourself that everyone knows someone who's just like her. I certainly do, and I love that I know someone like her.

Miranda Dickinson has captured true friendship at it's best and shared it in a wonderful lovely book. Though to be honest I did find at times it was a bit slow and felt like I had to force myself to read it a bit. But once I got back into it, it was a great read and couldn't out it down.
I do think that Harri should of done travelling a bit sooner in the book and not waited till the very end, but if she didn't then the story wouldn't of fitted together perfectly.

The book has heart ticking moments that make you giggle and smile at every page turner. There are a few shocks and bumps along the way, which you can relate to. Well, I could haha. The story-line is well written and will be reading more of her books in the near future.

I will give this book 6 out of 10.

Sunday, 23 September 2012

Don't You Forget About Me * Alexandra Potter


Don't You Forget About Me by Alexandra Potter 

After a bad break up, doesn't every girl want the same things?

* For her ex-boyfriend to stay single forever...

*Or maybe emigrate, to a remote, uninhabited island?

*Better still, that she'd never met him in the first place!

But what if one of those wishes came true?

Tess is heartbroken when Seb breaks up with her and can't help blaming herself. If only she'd done things differently. If only she could make tight all her regrets...But she can't. It's over. She has to forget about him. Drunk and upset on New Years Eve, she wishes she'd never met him. 

But when she wakes up to discover this dream has come true, she realizes she has a chance. To do it all over again. And, this time, to get it right...

Tess Connolly is madly and deeply in love with her wonderful, handsome American boyfriend Seb. Until she's sat across from him on his couch, hearing the dreaded six words any girl hates to hear. 

"I think we should break up"


Heartbroken and can't understand why, Tess starts to beat herself up about the things she should of changed, or things she should of said and done. But it's too late for that now, and nothing can get her man back. So taking a bottle of tequila and drinking alone in her room to the countdown of New Years Eve, Tess decides to think about everything in her past relationship, until a thought strikes her.


Whilst a little drunk and full of tears, she scribbles down that she had never met Seb on to a piece of paper and throws it into the fire. As well as a small box, that holds tiny memories of their relationship. Everything, evaporating into the air on the cold night. 


Though the next morning, everything is different. Her wish came true and now, she doesn't have any memories of Seb at all, even her flatmate and best friend Fiona cannot remember him, or even her grandpa. 


Soon Tess starts to rethink how to change her relationship, starting all over again in a whirlwind of emotions, love and friendship. Will she end up being Miss. Right for Seb? Or will he end up being Mr. Wrong for her? 

Tess finds herself, pretending and changing herself to become the best girlfriend, and with the help of her new found friend, Fergus. The sexy Irish courier, will things go the way she planned, or will it all just be heartache just like before?

Follow Tess Connolly, on a round of love, laughter, friendship and tears as she tried out her romance, for a second time. 


Don't You Forget About Me by Alexandra Potter, is a wonderful and lovely book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, it made me smile and laugh a lot, more than any other book has done so far. To me, it shows how you shouldn't change for anyone, no matter how good looking they are haha. I do recommend this for anyone who has ever been through a break up, because it will definitely cheer you up. For anyone who has loved and thought the exact same thing towards their ex's...I know I have.

Or just anyone who loves to read, it really is a great book that will get you laughing out loud. It's safe to say that I will be definitely be reading loads more books my Alexandra Potter, and her nooks will take pride on my shelf. All the characters are lovable and Tess makes you feel like you've been there before, all the things that have happened to her have happened to either yourself or someone you know, which makes you feel like you can really relate to her, I know I could. 

If you have already read it, let me know what your thoughts on the book was :) Would love to hear! 

I will give this book 10 out of 10!

Wednesday, 15 August 2012

Men, Money and Chocolate * Menna Van Praag

Men, Money and Chocolate by Menna Van Praag

Maya spends her days dreaming of a perfect life; a life filled with love, success and pleasure. She tries to find fulfilment in the pursuit of men and money, and when this doesn't work she looks for comfort in chocolate. But this just leaves her feeling empty and lost. Then Maya meets a mysterious stranger and is set on a spiritual journey to discover what she's been missing all this time...

A sweet and touching fable about love, courage and enlightenment, Men, Money and Chocolate reveals what is possible when you open your heart to the spiritual secrets within the material world. This tale of transformation shows you how to love a man without losing yourself, find work that fulfils your heart and enjoy chocolate as a source of pleasure instead of pain.


Maya Fitzgerald hasn't got it all going for her. Stuck in a job where she has no motivation to work there anymore, with no love life running her way and with financial debts piling up high into the sky. Maya is not a happy woman at all...Oh yeah, and she's a few pounds overweight. 

Maya feels like she is forever stuck in her mother's cafe, feeling low and down about herself, Maya can't help but snack on chocolate truffles and slices of strawberry cheesecake. All whilst trying to hide her 'cake' belly under her apron. 


But one day a kind old lady names Rose, walks into the shop and asks for Maya to join her for cake and tea and tea. Rose suggests way's that Maya could be a lot more happier if she didn't doubt herself all the time. She needs to see herself for who she really is and to think with her heart and not with her mind. 


Maya soon gets help and advise from many different people. There's Sophie the psychic, Rose and her goo, loving cousin Faith. Maya has her ups and downs on this joyous rise and makes a few mistakes along the way, but who doesn't?


Men, Money and Chocolate by Menna Van Praag, is a heart warming tale about following you heart and not your mind, and of a young woman trying to find herself again and re-living her hopes and dreams. 

At first I thought the books was a little bit of a 'Oh woes me, my life is so bad' kind of book. But once you get into it, you cannot put it down (Or so I thought) because you want to know if Maya will become her dream and fulfil her life in many ways. Or if she will stay in her mother's cafe forever, and will she ever find love?

I think Menna did an excellent job on writing this book and may just pick up some more of her work. I thoroughly enjoyed it all the way to the end, and as I said before, the beginning is a bit hard to get into, but once you get past that it's wonderful. 

To me, I found it a very relaxing read and very helpful in ways, as I too wish to write my own novel one day. So it helped me to gain more confidence and inspired me not to give up and to follow my dreams. It is a great book that makes you think of things differently and to have a new outlook on life and dreams themselves. 

If you're feeling a little down, fancy something different to read or even a kind of spiritual book. Give this book a go!

I gave this book 8 out of 10



Friday, 29 June 2012

The Road To Hell * Jackie Kessler

The Road To Hell by Jackie Kessler

Jezebel may no longer be a soul-stealing succubus, bus she's got a hell of a past. She'd love to come clean to her sweet, gorgeous boyfriend Paul, but how exactly does a girl start the conversation? There's no name tag that reads: "My name is Jesse and I used to have sex with men before taking their should!" Just as some people are worth being monogamous for (a recent discovery for Jesse), some secrets are worth keeping. Like the fact that bad boy incubus Daunuan keeps popping up from the Underworld to put some toe-curling moves on her, and that her former associates are trying to strong-arm her back into the fold.

But someone in the Underworld isn't ready to play nice, and this time the stakes are nothing less than Paul's immortal soul. If Hell want's Jesse back so badly, they've got to get her. But she's not going to play nice...

Jesse the ex-succubus and newly turned stripper, is back in action and ready to kick some demon ass. Following a recent argument with her sexy boyfriend Paul Hamilton, Jesse starts to contemplate her life as a mortal. Does she like it? Does she miss Hell? Will she miss Paul if anything happens?

Though as Jesse goes out on a small drinking binge, miss goody-two-shoes Angel, drops into say hello and warn Miss Jesse Harris, that things are changing down in the Underworld. Though Jesse doesn't want to hear, all she wants to do at this current time is drink and shake her ass about on stage at the strip club, feeling the music through her body and letting men stare at her will cheer her up more than anything right now. Though Angel, won't quit until she has warned Jesse that things are starting to get bad. 


Only when Lillith, the Queen of Lust and Alecto, her best friend Meg's, sister. Turn up in her apartment and try to drag her back to hell, explaining that there is a new king in order, Meg's in serious danger and that she must return back to hell immediately. Does Jesse start to agree and ponder with Angel that things have turned sour, down under. 


Though on returning to Paul's apartment with Angel, Jesse finds him under the spell of Lillith. Riding his body and seducing him, then taking his soul to hell with her and trapping him in The Endless Caverns. 


Jesse finds herself going on the biggest mission yet, to try and find her love and bring him back to Earth. But to do that she must call upon one demon, she has such strong connections with, sex connections. And will Daunuan want to help her save Paul, or will he wrap her around his litre finger and play puppet with her?


Wrapped up in mystery, love, sex, sweat, alcohol, dancing and fighting in hell. What could possibly go wrong along The Road To Hell.


The Road To Hell by Jackie Kessler is the second book in the Hell On Earth series. Although I think this book is wonderfully written, and that I really find Jesse a strong, sexy heroine who is capable of anything and always willing to put up a fight for herself and others amongst her. I didn't feel this book as much as the first one. 

I found myself getting bored easily and my eyes slowly edging towards sleep. I thought that it really slowed down in some places and found it hard to keep reading. It was good at the start but towards the end I felt like I had to force myself to read, which is a shocking feeling for me as I love to read so much! I just found it repeating in places and I felt that it was a pretty slow read for me as sometimes I just could't be bothered to read it. Though in some places we're so good I didn't wanted them to end. 

Although, I will still carry on reading the series as I want to see what will happen in the next few books. So you will be expecting more reviews about Jackie Kessler and the Hell On Earth series. But for now that is it, I shall be either updating you soon and if not another book review will be on it's way!

For now, 
Happy Reading!

Love Emma x

I give this books 3 out of 10

Saturday, 16 June 2012

June Update

Hey everyone! 

I thought I would do an update since I haven't done one in a very long time. So I thought I would share with you some new books I have recently bought, and I know that I keep buying them and saying I won't buy anymore, but I promise I've stopped now until I've read all the ones that need reading haha. 

So the total price of all these books should of come too...
£45.94 though I got them all for £7.47
How good is that! I picked them up various places such as charities and The Works. If you haven't been to The Works recently, you should get down there, as there's some great books on offer! 

Most of the books have been bought down in Skegness from a couple of weeks ago, and we're found in various charity shops. Some of the other books we're found at The Works in Rotherham. I went down there with the boyfriend to see his mum for a week. I had a lovely time, and honestly I couldn't stop myself from buying books, in the end he decided to help me look for some since he said there was no point in trying to stop me buying them. He learns quickly haha. 

The books in order from top to bottom are:

On, Off by Colleen McCullough
Original price: £6.99 / Bought for: £1.50
Charity Shop 

Happyslapped By A Jellyfish by Karl Pilkington
Original price: £8.99 / Bought for: £1.99
The Works

Perfect Timing by Jill Mansell
Original price: £8.99 / Bought for: £1.99
The Works

Welcome To My World by Miranda Dickinson
Original price: £6.99 / Bought for: £1.50
Charity Shop

I Heart Vegas by Lindsey Kelk
Original price: £6.99 / Bought for: £1.50
Charity Shop

It's A Kind Of Magic by Carole Matthews
Original price: £6.99 / Bought for: £1.50
Charity Shop

Getting Away With It by Julie Cohen
Original price: £6.99 / Bought for: £1.99
The Works

And there you have it, just a few new books I bought on my travels. There will be a book review soon, hopefully so keep you're eyes peeled. Until next time though!

Love,
Emma xx



Friday, 25 May 2012

Good At Games * Jill Mansell

Good At Games by Jill Mansell

Suzy Curtis falls in love with Harry Fitzallan the moment she shows him her husband's sperm sample. Actually it isn't her husband's, because she isn't married. It isn't a sperm sample either, it's a carton containing the dregs of her milkshake. (But when you're desperate to escape a speeding ticker you have to improvise, don't you?) Oh, and it isn't really love at first sight, it's a healthy case of lust. 

Suzy is the girl with everything - dream job, red Rolls-Royce and ravishing rock-star ex. Then she meets Harry - and his deeply sceptical brother Leo - and before long finds herself with a whole lot more...

When Suzy gets stopped for speeding, by Harry Fitzallan, she would never of guessed that a police officer could be so handsome. So telling one little white lie, about rushing to the hospital to get your husband's sperm to the doctors and telling the officer that it was your last and final chance to have a baby, isn't so bad...Is it? 

Though, soon following a fateful death in the Curtis family, Suzy gets knocked back a little by a sudden intruder rummaging around in her back garden. Suzy soon finds out that she has a long lost sister named Lucille. A woman who Jazz, Suzy's lovable ex-husband, can't take his eyes off. Harry and Suzy soon hit it off, though Suzy realises she bit off more than she could chew when she finds out Harry has a problem with his older, yet very attractive brother, Leo. Since he always feels second best between the two. 

As Suzy takes on a trip of a life time, there are certain things that happen along the way, to many of the characters. Such as her stressful brother Rory, who is always stuck in the office at Curtis & Co. Her over obsessive and sometimes moody sister, Julia. Who is a constant war with their new sister Lucille. 

Leo who has an eye kept on Suzy constantly, waiting for her to slip up with his brother Harry, to which Suzy hates. 
Fee, the ex-ex wife of Jazz, who is best friends with Suzy, finds herself snowed in on a trip to a relaxation weekend, and finds new love also. 
Though Celeste, Jazz's new fiance is in a world of her own, if she thought being bitchy towards Suzy was fun, well, she can't wait to start a mess with Lucille and her music career. 

And then there's Maeve, Jazz's house keeper. Who has a beady eye kept on all of them, watching all of their moves in love and war. Cause she knows what will happen, what with watching all the soaps and knowing full well, what happens in relationships. 
Join Suzy as she takes a crash course at life, though with a life like hers it would help to be Good At Games

Good At Games by Jill Mansell is a wonderful book, filled with plenty of romance and lovely friendship. There are old and new friends that are made and some that are broken. Mansell has shown the many different ways in which friendship can blossom, weather some people agree or disagree with whoever you befriend. And love for that matter. Jill has shown so many relationships in this book, and it just makes it a lovely read, to know that all the characters are happy at some point, throughout the book. 

There we're some parts of the book that I thought made it slow down the process of finding out if Suzy ever did get with that certain person (Not spilling anything here guys!) And thought that it could quicken the pace up in places. But other than that, it was a great read and really enjoyed it. I always find that Jill Mansell's books are great to read in the Summer, or at least hot weather. Like it is today! So all is great. Hope you enjoyed the review! 

I give this book 6 out of 10

Friday, 27 April 2012

Drummer * Jan Page

Drummer by Jan Page

Liam tries to stay away from home as much as he can - especially if his dad's around. 
Usually he just hangs out with his mates, skating. But today, Liam's had an idea: to form a band, with him on drums.

All he needs is a kit, so Liam heads for the local junk shop. But the owner, Weird Welly, freaks him out, hinting that something terrible is about to happen.

Something bad to do with the band. 

Then the really weird stuff begins...

What if you could rewind and fast forward your life. To be able to see what your life would be like int he future, to be able to know what was exactly going to happen? Would you take that chance, or would you change time itself, just to save one life? Or maybe more.  

For Liam Condie, this is exactly what happened. Yes, I know it's hard to believe. 
He and his friends CJ and Daz get a crazy idea to start a band. They hardly know any instruments themselves, but they are determined to learn something and get some music created. There is only one slight problem, they will need to ask CJ's ex, Gemma, if they can use her house for a practise room. Which may result in her being in the band. 

Liam decided he would be the drummer of the band, though there is another problem regarding a drum kit. He doesn't have one, yet alone how to play the instrument itself.
So stopping off at Weird Welly's Junk Shop, seems like a good idea. Well it was at the time, cause as soon as Liam enters the shop, Welly seems to know him from somewhere, and Liam just can't place his finger on it. Oh, Welly is weird alright. 

Things aren't that great at home, Dad's got no job and practically lives at the pub down the street. And when he does come home, he argues with his mum and sometimes hits her if he has the chance, though it doesn't happen if Liam's there. Mum is constantly tired since looking after all the family and Liam's little sister Zoe. Life's just not good at home. 

So when the band Salamander get their first gig at Scurvy Joe's, all is going great. Until during their performance, things  get rowdy and Liam ends up in a bad coma from a stage light crashing onto his head. Soon Liam in a world of his own with no one to talk to but Welly, being blasted into the past of 1986, the year he was born, Liam must find the reason why he is there, to stop his parents misery and to ask valuable questions that are on his mind. As the time is ticking, can he slightly change the past before it's too late?

Drummer by Jan Page is an excellent book, it's very well written and really enjoyable to read. I read this book some years back when I borrowed it from the Library, and decided that I needed a copy myself. I can understand why I liked it those years ago, as I still enjoyed reading it now, even though I knew what happened already. 

The book is quick and simple, though it has so many twists and turns in it that would wouldn't even think of. This is the only book I have ready by Jan Page and I can tell you that I will be definitively reading more from her. The way this is written is so wonderful, there's so many different stories to each character and it's a really in depth book. It's worth the read!

I give this book 9 out of 10

Friday, 6 April 2012

Last Breath * Rachel Caine

Last Breath by Rachel Caine

Claire Danvers is concerned when three vampires vanish from Morganville without a trace. The last person seen with them is someone new to town - a mysterious individual named Magnus.

Claire is convinced creepy Magnus isn't human...but is he a vampire, or something else entirely?

Claire's hunt for answers leads her to solving another mystery that's long been puzzling her: why do all the vampires live so far out in a sunny desert when they're sensitive to sunlight? The answer has nothing to do with the sunlight, but with water - and an ancient enemy who has finally found a way to invade the vampires' landlocked community. Vampires aren't the top predator on earth. There's something much worse.
Which means if Claire, and Morganville, want to live, they will have to fight on to the last breath...

When we were last with Claire, she had just arrived back home in Morganville after stopping illegal fights between Vampires and humans. I mean, come on, can her life get any worse in the old Texas town. The answer, yes. It can get a lot worse.

Things are going perfect for the four residents of the Glass House. Claire and Shane's relationship is still strong and going. And as for Eve and Michael, they are planning their wedding! So all is great right?...No.

There have been some strange things happening in Morganville recently, like people going missing, and I'm not talking about Humans, because, well that's normal. But no, Vampires are slowly disappearing around the town and no one knows where there going. Not even Amelie, and you know somethings wrong when she doesn't know anything about it.

But one day out of the blue, a boy comes running to Morganville, from the outskirts of town. With a simple envelope that can only be handed to the Founder of Morganville. Amelie. Though when the letter is opened, everyone wishes they didn't know as the only word that is written on the cream coloured paper is, Run.

As the clock ticks, everybody must find answers to what is happening. Amelie decides to get rid of all the Vampires and get them out of the town for safe keeping's, but are the humans finally free? Or will her plan just fall around her?

Why are the Vamipres so afraid of whatever is coming there way? How will Eve and Michael get married if Amelie won't allow it? And the question that is on everyone's minds...Are we going to die?

Join Claire, Shane, Michael and Eve as they go on another adventure around their hometown. Trying to fight for their right to live and for their town as well. Cause everyone needs a place to live right?

Last Breath by Rahcel Caine is the eleventh book in The Morganville Vampire Series, and so far I think it is the darkest book yet. The way that Caine has created so much darkness and mystery is amazing, and wonderful. There are also differences from the other books, like each chapter is titled with a characters name, so that chapter is in their Point Of View. 

I thought that this book was different, I liked the new POV parts of the book and the darkness of it all, but I don't think it was as good as the other ones in the series. Though it's worth the read and starts to go deeper into the whole story and each character, so you can get a better understanding. 

I give this book 7 out of 10 :) 

Saturday, 11 February 2012

Hell's Belles * Jackie Kessler

Hell's Belles by Jackie Kessler

Once upon
 a time, Jezebel was a powerful succubus, capable of seducing men and sucking out their souls. But that was before Hell out a bounty on her head. Now Jesse's only chance to escape a fate far worse than death is to live as a mortal, losing herself in a sea of unfamiliar humanity, in a place where sinners walk hand-in-hand with saints - a place like Belle's strip club in New York City.
Working as an exotic dancer is a piece of cake for a former demon that once specialised in sex.
Taking money from men? Please. But she hadn't counted on meeting sexy Paul Hamilton, a man haunted by his past.

Learning all about how complicated - and pleasurable - love can be, Jesse thinks she's turned her back on Hell. But Hell hasn't stopped looking for her. The secrets she holds are the most dangerous of all, the kind every demon in the Underworld would do it's worst to protect, and the demons are closing in...


When Jezebel knocks upon Caitlin's door, she doesn't know what to do. Running from the devil himself is a task, so knocking upon a mortals door and asking for help has got to be worse hasn't it? Though Caitlin is a witch and can do many powerful spells and whatnot.
Sow hen Jezebels asks her to make her a mortal, she agrees but Jesse also puts her under a spell and steals the shield stone, which makes her safe from all the band people coming after her.

Jesse soon realises that she needs a job to blend in more with the mortal community, and hunting for a job couldn't be easier when she walks into Belle's, a New York City strip club. So it may not be just like her recent job, which was sucking the souls out of men she slept with, but it was something she liked and she had the body to do it, plus the sex appeal.
Checking into the nearest hotel with Caitlin's bank cards and going on a shopping spree for new clothes could be every girls dream right? Okay, so maybe it might just be Jezebel's.

One day whilst strutting her stuff on stage, Jesse notices a rather sexy man. Though once confronted with him, she realises that it was the same man that she saw in South Station, and the same man who helped her with her luggage on the train. Paul Hamilton.
As both Jesse and Paul get to know each other, feelings are shared and Jezebel can't help but feel attraction towards him, and not just sexual but emotional too.

With Hell still hot on her heels, a romance blossoming and a burning desire to have sex with everyone she See's. Being human can't simply be this bad can it?
Will Jesse stay human forever, or does she still belong in hell as a former demon of lust?

This is the first book in the A Hell On Earth series by Jackie Kessler. I must say it was a very different read from what I'm used too haha. But none the less I thought it was a good read, it got a bit slow in some places, but all in all it was an okay book.
I will be reading the rest of the series at some point, but I can't find myself rushing to the store to grab the next book.

Kessler has a very different way of writing, not the the sex parts but by some of the words that are used also. To me it's a bit cheeky, with plenty of humour in places and twists with a bit of adventure. I love a good book with plenty of different things going off, instead of just one thing on constant repeat.

I will give this book 5 out of 10 :)

Wednesday, 4 January 2012

It Started With A Kiss * Miranda Dickinson

It Started With A Kiss by Miranda Dickinson

As the singer in a wedding band, Romily Parker has seen her fair share of happy endings, even though her own love life isn't quite as simple.

On the last Saturday before Christmas, shortly after disastrously declaring her love for best friend Charlie, Romily has a brief encounter with a handsome stranger whose heart-stopping kiss changes everything.

Determined to find him again, Romily embarks on a year-long quest, helped (and sometimes hindered) by enthusiastic Uncle Dudley, cake-making Auntie Mags and flamboyant Wren. Will she find the man of her dreams? Or could true love be closer than she thinks?

When Romily Parker tells her best friend Charlie that she loves him, she soon realises it was a bad mistake. But when she runs away from her problems, by crashing into a toy stall and ends up in the Christmas Market. What does she do next? Nothing.

Until she collides with a handsome man, who happens to be the same one who helped her out at the stall. All the memories of Charlie go flying out the window when the handsome strangers kisses her, then makes a dash for it.

Following the heart break about Charlie and wanting something to take her mind off things, Romily decides (With the help of best friend Wren) to start a year long 'quest' into finding her handsome stranger, before she turns thirty.

With the help of band mates; Wren, Jack, Tom, Sophie and sadly Charlie from The Pinstripes. As well as Uncle Dudley, Auntie Mags, Elvis the dog plus Mick, her trustful friend at Brum FM and her aunties sympathy cakes.

Romily embarks on a journey beyond her wildest dreams. Following her heart, mind and soul Romily does what is right and believes that she can do this, making her happy along the way, and hopefully staying happy for when she finally makes up her mind on the 24th December, the deadline for her mission.

Who will Romily chose as the date closes in?

 This is the first book I have read by Miranda Dickinson and I have to say that I found it amazing! At first I was like "Hmmm" But after a while I started to really enjoy it. The story line is great, the characters are well written and lovely plus it's full of Christmassy feel.
The thing I really loved about this book, is the friendship between all of the characters.

It was wonderful, and how all close friendships should be written (In my point of view). From going to band practise with each other, university, being in a band together and doing gigs. It's a lovely read, the way that Miranda has written this book is beautiful, there is more friendship than love in this book, if you ask me. And I think it's better that way for a book like this. 'It Started With A Kiss' is just a book about following your heart, and do what ever it is to make yourself happy in life. To stick by your friends through thick or thin and to always have each others back. To stick with your family always and never frown upon them.

If your looking for a Christmassy book this winter, then look no further than 'It Started With A Kiss' by Miranda Dickinson. I assure you that you won't be let down :)

I give this book 9 out of 10

Much love,
Emma xxx

Happy New Year!


Happy New Year everyone, sorry it's a bit late. But I haven't been online since last year (about 3 weeks ago) and I never thought to do one on the 1st January because in all honesty I wanted to spend it with my family :) But Happy New Year to you all and I'm wishing you a very happy year in 2012! Have lots of fun and smiles!


On to other things, I have once again fell into the hands of a bookstore and bought more books, that I don't possibly need, so now my 'Books to read' Has gone up even more!
I've bought...

Hell's Belles by Jackie Kessler
Bought on ebay, brand new for £3.99. Would be £7.99 in store.

Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick
Which I bought for £3.99, from Waterstones during the Christmas sale, and got some money off from Waterstones points. Should of been £10, hardback too!

Last Breath by Rachel Caine

I don't know where this was bought from since my boyfriend bought it me as a christmas present, so it's either from Waterstones or WHSmiths and I think it was £7.99 :)

So there the new books I have recently bought, and from now on I won't be buying anymore until I've  finished all the ones I've already got. That shall be another New Years Resolution :)

Hope you all are fine and well, as always thank you for following me if you do! :)
Emma x