Monday, 26 January 2015

Understood * Maya Banks

Understood by Maya Banks

Jake Turner committed the ultimate mistake of falling in love with his best friend’s wife. The distance he puts between them costs both him and Ellie Matthews dearly. 

Jake will never forgive himself for not seeing what a bastard his friend was. Now that Ellie is free from her nightmare, Jake waits, needing and wanting. He’ll be there when Ellie is ready to spread her wings.

Ellie Matthews is still haunted with what happened to her in the past, and she won't ever be able to get over it. Not just yet at least. 

Jake has always been in love with Ellie, ever since she married his best friend and NFL Football player, Ray. When Ellie married "The golden boy" of the area, everyone loved it, everyone apart from Jake. It tore him deeply, cut him in two that she married Ray, so he kept himself at a distance to keep him away from the pain. 

But whilst he did that, Jake didn't know the shocking truths behind Ellie and Ray's marriage, until one night when she knocked on his door. In tears, ripped clothes, blood splattered legs and bruises all over her face, Jake soon realised that the grass was definitely not greener on the other side, especially not for Ellie. 

It's been two years since Ellie and Ray's divorce, though Ellie is still not up to scratch, mentally and physically. So when she walks into the local bar, shirt mini skirt on, boobs nearly on show and red high-heeled boots, Jake knows that there is something wrong. 

Soon Jake and Ellie are in it together, Jake trying to do anything to make her happy, and Ellie just trying to get away from it all. A relationship starts to bloom filled with love and sexual tension and everything is looking up for Ellie. 

But when Ray comes knocking on Ellie's door furiously and refusing to leave, Ellie soon goes back into her shell, refusing to come out and all of Jake's work has gone back to square one. 

Will Ellie go back to her normal ways, or will she be a scared woman forever? 

And will Jake ever get to love the woman of his dreams, or will it all shatter around his feet? 

Understood by Maya Banks, is the first instalment in the Unbroken book series, the series to my knowledge doesn't follow the story of Jake and Ellie, but it does follow other characters in the book and their relationships. 

I am quite happy with this book and feel I am a bit closer to finding some books that are like the Knight series haha. The book has a story line, more of a story line that a sexual story line, which is good. Although I do like the other parts. 

In some ways I did like the story line, but in other ways I didn't, simply because it had abuse in and no one wants to read about that. I loved Jake's character, he was so lovely and determined to look after Ellie and it didn't bother him at all if she had done anything, he just wanted to love and care for her, to not let anything bad happen to her and it was lovely. 

Ellie's character was very well written I think, the way she was described and her attitude towards everything was very well written. I loved how she was with Jake and her relationships as well as her emotions. 

All in all I liked this book, I thought it was okay and will happily read the next instalment in the series. 

I will give this book 6.5 out of 10 

Because You Are Mine: Part One * Beth Kerry

Because You Are Mine: Part One by Beth Kerry 

Francesca Arno has been commissioned to create a grand centerpiece painting for the lobby of Ian Noble’s new skyscraper. It’s at a cocktail party in her honor that she first meets him—and the attraction is immediate for Francesca. It’s also bewildering.

When Francesca Arno is invited to a dinner party to celebrate her paintings, she is a little bit nervous. Though it soon starts to change as she is introduced to the man who wants her to paint more pictures for him. 

Ian Noble is a highly successful billionaire. He has the brains, the money, women and a fine eye for art. So when his eyes fall onto the work of Miss. Arno, he can't wait to meet her face to face. Though though when he does, he don't think he will be able to hold himself back for much longer. 

When Ian invites Francesca back to his apartment, he is merely showing her around his house just so she can get a taste of where she will be doing her paintings. But something strikes her as unsettling, since when Ian shows Miss. Arno a painting he has of hers, she soon realizes that the man she painted years ago in the late night of the park, was in fact Mr. Noble himself. 

Soon their relationship starts to blossom as both Francesca and Ian can't stop thinking about each other. Will they start a new blossoming romance? Or will secrets start to come to the surface? 

Because You Are Mine: Part One by Beth Kerry, Is the first installment in the 'Because You Are Mine' series, it is another one of those series that is panned out over eight small erotic books, instead of a couple of larger books. 

To be honest with you, I couldn't fall in love with this book. I am still on the quest to find something as amazing as the Knight Series but I am failing miserably. I thought these new books could be the one, but I felt I nearly had to place matchsticks under my eyes to keep them up, I was that bored. This books honestly reminded me of Fifty Shades Of Grey, to me, it was boring. The same as all the others and lacked imagination. 

The same old billionaire, same old naive woman who can't fight her own battles and believes she needs a man in her life, the bloke brooding and being miserable, they end up having a "steamy" relationship and that's that. A book series that I can't see they hype about. 

No I can honestly say I didn't really like this book and don't think I will be reading anymore of this series. I may try some more of Beth Kerry's books but certainly not this series. 

I will give this book a 2 out of 10

Thursday, 22 January 2015

15,000 Views!!



WE'VE HIT 15,000 VIEWS!!





Hey everyone!

So I've just logged on again to write another book review and I am amazed! So it states in the title, the book blog has reached 15,000 views! WOW Thank you so much!

I know some people might think it's not a lot, and yeah I know that it does count for all the views since I started to blog back in 2010. But it means so much to me to have that many!

So you all may look at a lovely picture of Venice, why Venice you ask? 

Why,  because that's where I'm going for my 21st with Sam! And it's going to be epic! I can't wait to go back there, I love it so much :D *Squeals with excitement* 

Hope you are all having a fantastic day and a wonderful week so far! 
Don't worry, you only have one more day left then it's the weekend!

THANK YOU EVERYONE!! 

Happy reading!
xxx 




Wednesday, 14 January 2015

Hubble Bubble * Jane Lovering

Hubble Bubble by Jane Lovering 

Be careful what you wish for …

Holly Grey only took up witchery to keep her friend out of trouble – and now she’s knee-deep in hassle, in the form of apocalyptic weather, armed men, midwifery … and a sarcastic Welsh journalist.



When Holly Grey's best friend books them in for magic lessons, she can't believe her luck and not in a good way. Her bubbly friend Megan says it will be a great idea, but Holly has other opinions of the matter, though despite what she thinks, Holly backs her friend up so she won't be alone. 

So when Megan and Holly turn up at the witches house, only to discover that it is an elderly woman gone a bit mad, Holly just can't get over the amount of tripe the old woman says, especially when all the other women believe it. 

But when Holly is sent to go and take a look at The Old Lodge down in the woodlands for work, she didn't think she would encounter a tall, handsome but troubled looking man. 

Kai Rhys has some problems that he can't get rid of, the fact that his mother left him when he was a baby for no apparent reason, that he's trying to unearth a big secret for his journalism job, but doesn't know where to start. Or perhaps it's the one thing that lets him down the most, a relationship. 

Though on the night of making a wish with the witch workshop, bad things start to happen. From men on bikes following and threatening them, to the potion everyone drank and getting seriously ill, all part from Holly. 

When both Kai and Holly's paths cross, things start to get a bit complicated and not in the relationship department. There's something there about Kai that Holly can't shake off, she knows what she would like to shake and where, but there's something deep down, something raw and wrong with Kai that she is determined to find out. 

Kai knows something about Holly, something that has been eating away at her for years. So when he brother Nicholas comes over, he starts to think that something is wrong between them. He just doesn't know what, but he is determined to get Holly to come to her senses and look further into her relationship with Nick, something deep that she has been covering up for twenty years. 

Soon everyone's wishes start to unfold in the strangest of events, and their not all smooth sailing either. Most go with a bump, a shock, some adventure and definitely some excitement. All the wishes soon start to come together and are all apart of each others in someway, they just need an extra bit of digging to get there. 

Hubble Bubble by Jane Lovering, is the first novel I have read by this fantastic author! I picked this book up from the Library a couple of weeks ago and I'm so happy that I picked this one up and not the other I was going to get. 

I have thoroughly enjoyed this book, it's been a hilarious and fun read. I adored all the characters, I thought they we're thought out and described perfectly with their own little back ground stories. Holly Grey is a definite Heroine in this story and she's not half funny to show for it. Her feeling and character we're an appealing read, she's a though cookie who doesn't stand no messing, but sometimes her barriers have to fall down. 

I can honestly say it's not what I expected at all! I thought it would have been a lot darker and a totally different storyline, but I'm glad it wasn't. I will definitely be reading this book again and will also be reading more of Jane Lovering's books.

I also loved that it was based around Yorkshire! ;) I could understand and sympathise with the characters more on the weather. 

The only thing about this book and it's a tiny thing but I feel the need to mention it. Is that whilst I loved Kai and Holly's relationship and their characters, I also loved there sexual tension too and their romance to it as it was just plain sexy! BUT! I feel when they talked about their problems, they talked a bit about them too much, too much brooding and "Oh woes me" all the time which was a bit of a let down. 

But all in all I loved the book and will be reading it again! I couldn't really put too much into the review otherwise I would of given the book away! 

I will give this book 8.5 out of 10 

Sunday, 11 January 2015

Not Until You: Risk - Part Two * Roni Loren

Not Until You: Risk - Part Two by Roni Loren

Cela’s daring side started to expose itself in Not Until You Dare. Now Foster and Pike are determined to push her limits and let her wild side loose…
Cela's life has started to rapidly change, from being the shy goody-two shoes girl always obeying family rules, especially her fathers. 

To going with the flow and grabbing life with both hands whilst holding on for the ride, literally. Last time we saw Cela in a night club with the ever so handsome Foster and Pike, her sexy next door neighbours. Living up the nightlife, letting her hair loose and her feelings lost in a world of lust and erotic moments.

But when things start to get a bit more heated and personal, can  Cela still go along with it? With the three of them heading to the nearest but very posh hotel, Cela must decide whether she needs to tell the guys the truth, or to leave it as it is and get everything off of her list ticked. 

Foster has always thought of Cela as an innocent vanilla, too innocent for his liking, but when he gets a glimpse of who she really is underneath the walls she's built around herself, he soon realises that she isn't as innocent and everyone things she is. He sees potential in her to do well, especially in the kinky department, but all that soon change when he learns a massive secret, that wasn't put onto her Never Have I Ever list, which could change things altogether. 

Pike is on for the ride, the ride only. Nothing more or nothing less, but when he starts to see things kick off between Cela and his best friend, something isn't right and he's determined to find out what it is.

Has Cela already jeopardised something that has only just started? 

Not Until You: Risk - Part Two by  Roni Loren, is the second installment of the Not Until You book series, if you haven't read my review of Book One - Part One, then you may not know that the series is like a compilation of ebook shorts spanned out into eight books. Think so many chapters between a range of books and you're there.

In my last review (Which you can find here  Not Until you: Dare ) I stated that I didn't know what to think of this series and that I would read the next installment and find out. To be honest, I'm still not really sure what to think of it, I don't want to be one of those people who has to read the whole series to have a final verdict on a book, as it would be a total waste of time and money in my opinion. 

But whilst reading it there are some good aspects of the book and some bad ones too. Starting with the good ones would be, the story line is quite good. It's not too basic and not you're average CEO / Millionaire  / Lonely woman in need of finding herself, type of erotica, which is good cause they get a bit boring after a while.

The books are hot, very hot and sexy. Too say that I still can't make up my mind, it's got to be one of the most erotic and sexy books I've read so far, for just in that department. 

Now for the downside, the characters. Although in the first review for the first book I said that I liked them, it has changed slightly. In the second book you get to see more of each character, to which I kind of get the vibe from Foster that he can be a bit of an arrogant arse, which I suppose in someways that if you're reading a book that may involve BDSM then you're going to get that. But he's just  a bit too much in some places, don't get me wrong, he's lovely in other places but the arrogance is starting to overwrite the nice part of him. 

Pike on the other hand, I kind of like him. I don't know if that is because he's a drummer and I am haha or that he's a musician, either way I have started to like him more than Foster, though I think that is more because he doesn't seen so up his own arse and arrogant like Foster - for now. So I don't know if it will pan out in the future. 

As for Clea, this is a tricky one. Cause in some ways, I do want to like her, I really do. But how naive she is, it's just unreal and it starts to get in on my nerves, cause no one can be that naive surely? But I suppose they can, the way she always gets worried about everything to do with Foster and Pike. If she was that worried all the time she would either not go with them or just talk to them, not go and do it and then complain afterwards. 

After all t hat big review and rant, I don't know what to do about the next books in the series, I may read the preview but then leave it. I think I may leave the series for a little while and then come back to it later in the year or something. 

I will give this book 4.5 out of 10

Friday, 9 January 2015

The Ocean at the End of the Lane * Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. 

Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and her mother and grandmother. 

When a forty year old man returns to his hometown for a funeral, he finds himself driving back to his childhood home but not knowing why, especially driving down to the end of the lane that was at the bottom on his house. 

When he gets there he meets an old woman, and not just any old woman, there's something different about her, something that draws him in to her. He has a feeling that he knows the woman, but he's never seen her in his life.  

Then it all comes back to him, walking down to the small pond behind the old woman's house, he soon remembers why he knows her, his childhood and the dreaded memories that comes with it. 

Going back fourty years ago in the past, the young man is seven years old in his large farm house that he shares with his Mother, Father and younger sister and everything is perfect. Until a man starts to come and stay over to help his family, the Opel Minor he's called and  the seven year old boy isn't too fond of him, especially after he runs over his best friend, a little black kitten. Things all start to change. 

When their family mini is found down the lane by the police, the boy and his father go to pick it up. Only to find that it's not as white as it used to be and there's a dead man in the back of it, the man being the Opel Minor. 

Soon the events start to take on a snowball effect as one by one things start to get worse, there is a new nanny in town for the boy and his sister, and no one believes him that she is evil, apart from Lettie, Mrs Hempstock and Old Mrs Hempstock. So when the boys father becomes under the Nanny's spell and tries to harm his son, the young even year old decides to take action. 

With the help from Lettie and get family, they go on an adventure to try and track down the Nanny and the source of where she came from, to try and banish her back to where she belongs, all the while as things start to become a lot darker, and scarier. 

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, is one of the many books by the author Neil Gaiman. The book came out in 2013 and I have only just got round to reading it, it's been sat in my Kobo library for a year collecting dust and I do not know why I didn't pick it up sooner, I am ashamed. 

This is the first book I have read by Gaiman and it certainly will not be my last, I have watched film adaptations of some of his books, such as; Coraline and Stardust and I loved them, Coraline being one of Sam and I's favourite films to watch together, so why haven't I read the book yet? 

I feel I will like Gaiman's books a lot as they are magical and fairy tale like, but very dark. They remind me a bit of Ray Bradbury's books, which is a good thing! Seeing as Bradbury is one of my favourite authors!

I adored Lettie and the other Hempstocks, the way she has been written is fantastic, she's like a young heroine and it was a pleasure to read about her and her family, I loved the way she was a little mysterious too. I felt for the boy as he just wanted to be normal or so I felt he did, but something always happened that put him back to square one. 

The seven year old boy to me, is just trying to conquer his fears and he does just that, though as the book gets darker and more creepy, I do feel for the boy, but he does ever so well in growing up. The way his story is told is brilliant, it makes you feel like your seven again and all you want to do is go exploring, Gaiman has written this character out wonderfully, capturing the life of a true seven year old and just showing how the boy feels, thinks and wants to do. It's very imaginable and believable, it makes you feel that YOU are that seven year old yourself, and that nothing can harm you. 

I guess what I'm trying to say is that you truly read and see through the seven year olds eyes, the way Gaiman has wrote this book, it makes you feel like you are transported into the book itself and that you are actually the character inside the book. 

Truly a brilliant read, I would recommend to all will definitely be reading this again in the future. 

I will give this book 10 out of 10 

Wednesday, 7 January 2015

Book Haul! - Late Update


Old and New Book Haul!

Afternoon everyone! Hope you are all well? 

I thought I would do a little book haul seeing as I haven't done one in a while. 
Some are quite old and I got them a while ago, but I will let you know a bit about them :) 

The first three at the top are all 'adopted' books that I got from Sam's older brother Craig :) He was getting rid of loads of books that he didn't want anymore and that he had already read so he just asked if I wanted to have any and I got to go through a massive box and pulled the top three beauties out :) With recommendations from Craig too! 

How to be Good by Nick Hornby Katie Carr is certainly trying to be. That's why she became a GP. That's why she cares about Third World debt and homelessness, and struggles to raise her children with a conscience. It's also why she puts up with her husband David, the self-styled Angriest Man in Holloway. But one fateful day, she finds herself in a Leeds parking lot, having just slept with another man. What Katie doesn't yet realize is that her fall from grace is just the first step on a spiritual journey more torturous than the interstate at rush hour. 

Come Together by Joise Lloyd & Emlyn ReesTold in "he-said, she-said" alternating chapters, this People magazine "Beach Book of the Week" takes you into the London singles scene, where a woman looking for the love of her life meets up with a man looking for the love of tonight -- and sparks fly in more ways than one.

Starter For Ten by David NichollsThe year is 1985. Brian Jackson, a working-class kid on full scholarship, has started his first term at university. He has a dark secret—a long-held, burning ambition to appear on the wildly popular British TV quiz show University Challenge—and now, finally, it seems the dream is about to become reality. He's made the school team, and they've completed the qualifying rounds and are limbering up for their first televised match. 

The Yard by Alex GrecianVictorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives—known as “The Murder Squad”—to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. 

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson On a cold and snowy night in 1910, Ursula Todd is born, the third child of a wealthy English banker and his wife. Sadly, she dies before she can draw her first breath. On that same cold and snowy night, Ursula Todd is born, lets out a lusty wail, and embarks upon a life that will be, to say the least, unusual. For as she grows, she also dies, repeatedly, in any number of ways. Clearly history (and Kate Atkinson) have plans for her: In Ursula rests nothing less than the fate of civilization.

The Watcher in the Shadows by Carlos Ruis Zafron - A mysterious toymaker who lives as a recluse in an old mansion, surrounded by the mechanical beings he has created ...an enigma surrounding strange lights that shine through the mists that envelop the small island on which the old lighthouse stands...a shadowy creature that hides deep in the woods...these are the elements of a mystery that bind will bind 14-year-old Irene to Ismael during one magical summer spent in the Blue Bay.

Sunday, 4 January 2015

Not Until You: Dare - Part One * Roni Loren

Not Until You: Dare - Part One by Roni Loren

On the night of her graduation, innocent veterinary student Cela decides to play a game of ‘Never Have I Ever’ with the two hot neighbours she’s been harbouring a secret crush on. 

Cela thinks she’s earned a wild night before she has to move back home under the watchful gaze of her family. But what starts out as a simple game is about to take a very sensual turn.

Marcela Medina hasn't done much in her life, sure she's gone to college for seven years to study what she wants to do in life, which is to become a Vet and work within her fathers Veterinary business. 

So when Cela finally graduates, on a drunken walk home she decides that she needs to make a change with her life, seeing as she's never been with a man or even had a boyfriend for starters. She's never been out drinking with mates either, always coped up in her own world of studying and obeying her fathers orders. 


Though after a spillage of Chinese food outside her door and a bottle of Tequila slowly falling out of her hands, her two neighbours couldn't of come out of their flat at a better time, or worse depending on her state of mind and ability to stand let alone walk. 


Foster and Pike have been friends since they we're young, Foster making his way into the world of business, all suits and ties but definitely not work and no play, as there's always time to play in Fosters mind. Pike is a hunky drummer in a local band, given with good looks and a great beat on the musical instrument and with women when it comes to mind. So when they meet Cela, they can't help but stare and other body parts can't stay down. 


Cela has had a crush on Foster for as long as she can remember, although she has never had a steady relationship or been with another man, she wouldn't mind giving it a go with him though. But when they both invite her over for Pizza and a film to celebrate her graduation, she blankly refuses and goes home. 


Though Cela decides that she can't be a daddy's girl anymore, so putting on her best clothes and heels, she marches over to the boys and enjoys the party. Though things soon change when they invite her out to dance at a club, just dance. Foster has a thing for innocent women especially Vanilla ones, so when he starts to like Cela a bit more, it starts to become a problem. 


Do they all carry on with the dancing? Or call it a night? 


Not Until You: Dare - Part One by Roni Loren, is the first installment of the 9 book series and I honestly don't know what to think about it, I have a few mixed emotions that I will get all off my chest to you all. 

If you have read my latest book review on the Knight series then you will know that I have been trying to find another series just like it or one similar that will hold my attention and drag me into the books. I was hoping that these books might be able to as there are quite a few in the series. But I'm not too sure. 

One problem that I have is that it is written in first person, now I don't have anything wrong with books written in first person. I just personally don't think that erotic books should be written in the same text. I think they should be written in third, but then again that is just my personal opinion on them. 

With that said, I went at the book with Caution not knowing what to expect. Though it did surprise me a little I guess. The plot was okay for the first book, Roni Loren has done the book series in small short stories per each book, a bit like a chapter a book in my eyes. In ways I can see that this is a good thing, more money for the books and they are not that expensive, but a bit of a waste for the reader. If she could of done three books with three of the nine books in each and priced them up more I would happily prefer to do that. (With that said, I have just seen the whole series available on Overdrive for free if anyone is interested)

But I persisted with this book as I thought "why not? It's a free sample download and either way I can always do a review on it". The plot is okay I guess so far, I don't really like the erotic stories that much when the girl is portrayed as really naive and that she's just come out of college, as not all girls are like that and to be honest a little shallow, but that's my opinion. 

Foster and Pikes characters on the other hand, I like them, their funny with some witty humour about them as well, they have a bromance relationship so I would like to see how that unfolds in the story. I think I prefer Fosters character over Pike though. 

All in all I'll cut it short cause I've been rambling! I think it's an okay read, I don't think it's as up to standards as what the Knight series was - but I'm still on a mission to find a series as good as that, you have to kiss a lot of frogs to get to your prince! ;) I will probably give the next book a go and see how I feel about it, but I won't be going through the whole series just for the sake of it. I would like to see how the story line pans out and if it gets a little better. 

One thing I will say is  that I really, love the book cover for it. It's so beautiful, I know it's simple but I just love it and throughout the whole series it kind of stays the same but they use different colours for each book and there so vibrant and colourful! 

All in all, I will give this book 4 out of 10

Friday, 2 January 2015

January Update

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!



Ahh it's a New Year! Happy 2015 everyone!

Sorry it's a bit late, been  rushed off my feet, what with Christmas, New Year, meeting friends and family and sorting out the cake blog as well as the cake Facebook page. Phew! What a lot to go on!

2014 - What a year it was, had many ups and downs but it was worth every moment. Sam conquered his problems with his wrists and is now getting better with Guitar and playing, he's hoping to start a new band this year too which is excellent, very proud of him! 

Alzheimer's Memory Walk - Sam and I did the memory walk for Alzheimer's and we raised £125.50! I am very happy with this and plan to raise more money this year! It was such a great day and the amount of people that turned up was wonderful! Enjoyed every minute of it and was so happy and pleased how well it turned out and to everyone who donated - THANK YOU SO MUCH, FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART!! 

Sprinkle, Sparkle and Magic - Last year was an amazing year for the cake page and I have done so much with I can't even begin to express of how proud of it and of myself for what I have achieved so far, It will have been a year on the 20th January and I can't wait to go for the other years to come, I plan to do so much with it and to work so bloody hard to achieve what I want to do! I started my Cake Decorating course - Level 1 and I don't regret it at all, it's worth every penny!

I can't wait to get on with this year and all the things I have planned out for it, I just can't wait at all! It's been wonderful. Now - On with the blog! 

This year I will be taking part in various Challenges, The main one I will be doing will be the TRB Challenge 2015 - Which is the To Be Read Challenge, basically I set myself a goal of how many books I want to read this year, which mine is 25. I will be tackling my bookshelf at home and the books of my Kobo, that have been on them for a while which need to be dusted off and read, which I have been meaning to do for sometime. So it's a perfect challenge!

Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge - As always, like the last 4 years (Wow, that's a lot haha) I will be taking part in the Goodreads reading challenge, I have set myself a goal of 25 books which you c an see the bar update on the main homepage on the left hand side down the bottom. Though this will link up to the TBR Challenge and my Classic Challenge, so any books on any of those challenges, will be ticked off on my Goodreads. Make sense? Good!

Classic Challenge 2015 - I started this last year and didn't really finish it, so I'm planning to finish it this year! Plus some of the books on the list I already have on my TBR pile which is good, so I'm going to attack those too! You will be able to see my little grid that I have made of all the books on the Classics's Challenge, they will start to go down once I cross them off as read. You can also look at the book I've read by clicking on the link. 

So without further ado! I hope you all have a very happy New Year and that 2015 is a brilliant one for you all! HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!

Alice In Wonderland * Lewis Carroll [2014 Read]

Alice In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

When Alice follows a white rabbit in a waistcoat down a hole, she finds herself in a mixed-up world where nothing is as she expects it to be and anything can happen. Alice meets a pipe-smoking caterpillar, a grinning cat, a Mad Hatter and the formidable Queen of Hearts.

Alice is fed up of the dinner party her family are throwing and is fed up of trying to be paired with someone to marry. So whilst on a walk through the garden, she notices a white rabbit, though not just any white rabbit, one that has a little waist coat, a pocket watch and most of all, can speak. 

Curious, Alice decides to follow the Rabbit, but when he jumps into the rabbit hole at the bottom of a far away tree, Alice doesn't know what to do. So when she looks further into the hole and falls down it, she is in a whole new world.

When she lands, Alice finds that she must go through the first door that she sees, though it is as small as a doormouse and there's no way that she will fit through the door. With various food and drink, such as a piece of cake that makes her tall and a drink that makes her small, Alice sets off on an adventure of a life time once she enters through the door. 

Soon Alice is in over her head with strange people and things, from a talking Cheshire Cat, a blue smoking and talking caterpillar, a Mad Hatter, hare and a doormouse plus more! 

It's soon to be an adventure of a life time for Alice.

Alice In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, is an all time classic at it's best! Though I have only just read this book, I have watched the animated Disney adaptation many times and the real life Disney version with Johnny Depp in. Both which I love and find them amazing. Though if I'm honest, I found the actual book a bit hard to keep up with. 

There is so much happening within the pages, where Alice is heading, who she's talking too and what the other characters are doing it soon started to send my head into a bit of a twist! Plus sending it into a frenzy of getting lost  and a bit hard to carry on with. Though I must say that after reading the book, I found that both films we're pretty much exactly the same. 

There wasn't much change in either adaptations which I am quite pleased about, as usual they change the books completely to the films, which is a bit rubbish, seeing as the author has gone to so much trouble to write it in the first place, it's a bit...I don't know...not offensive but, insensitive I think? I don't know. 

Either way the book is extremely strange, weird and wonderful and it's just an amazing piece of Literature to read and to still be able to to read in this day and age. What a wonderful piece of work, such an inspiration into the world of literature, illustration and art! Fantastic! 

I will give this book 8 out of 10

Knight and Day * Kitty French [2014 Review]

Knight and Day by Kitty French 

Kara Brookes hates liars. 

Dylan Day hasn't told the truth from the moment his plane touched down in Ibiza. 

It's a recipe for disaster. 


Sophie, Lucien and Kara are on a business trip to Ibiza, for the opening launch of the next erotic Gateway club in the Knight Inc establishment, things couldn't run any smoother. 

Though Sophie's best friend Kara is down on her luck, after being jilted at the alter by her cheating ex-husband Richard, things could do with a change. So sun, drinks, a new sex club to get stuck into and her friends is all she needs to keep her going. Keeping her eyes on the job and not bothering with any men.  


Dylan Day is after a clean slate, after leaving the States in a rush and leaving behind his troubles, he is in search for a new home, a new job and a new life. So when he bumps into Lucien outside the club and with nothing to loose he asks for a job. Lucien doesn't like to trust people easily, but there's something about Mr. Day that grabs his attention. 


When Kara and Dylan first meet, it's not exactly love at first sight,it's more "come near me and I'll smack you in the face with a sex toy" which is just what happens when Dylan - newly joined barman and manager joins the team to find Kara going through a box of sex toys to get ready for the boutique which Sophie and herself run. 

Their relationship is off to a rocky start when Dylan forgets his jacket and Kara decides to return it to him, only yo discover he is living on a little boat called The Love Tug and is designed inside and out like a 70's porno den.  Dylan doesn't mind though, he's getting used to it, though he's not pulling the looks from the ladies and he would usually. 

Lucien and Sophie are in a world of their own, finding time to see each other and make love is hard, seeing as they are running both of their businesses and trying to get everything out of the way so they can plant o spend a holiday with the love of their lives. Their little daughter Tilly. 
When Lucien first met Sophie, he had no intentions on getting married and having children, but something about Sophie twisted his finger, his heart and his mind into something more softer on this inside, but not on the outside. 

Soon Kara and Dylan hit it off in a string of romantic nights and some steamy afternoons, not what either of them we're planning to do but things started to get heated and in the way. Though things aren't always as they seem, and Dylan has some skeletons in his closet, ones he isn't too fond of or proud of. 

So when they start to tumble out, will Kara still be there? Or will she run for the hills with the second biggest mistake of her life? Just how worse can Dylan's problems get? And why is his past lurking upon him now, just when things finally start getting good? 

Knight and Day by Kitty French, is the last of the Knight Trilogy and to be honest I and absolutely gutted! I can't believe there isn't anymore, I feel like I have watched a TV series, got to the end of it then just sat back and thought "What is life?" I think we have all had this feeling haven't we? 

Just what do we do now, when it's all over?! 

I know I'm probably being a bit over dramatic, but I really loved everything about this series and I feel I won't be able to find another one like it! I'm currently trying to go through every blog and source on the internet to see if I can find anything else but I just can't. It just leads me back to 50SOG and the series isn't anything like this at all. It's saddened me haha.

Anyway! On with the review, enough of my sadness In this book it's all about Kara and Dylan, it has some snippets of Lucien and Sophie but it is mostly based around Kara. To which at first I was a bit dubious about it, as I wanted it to be able Sophie and Lucien. But I'm glad I stuck through with it and finished it as boy, was it a roller-coaster of emotions, hotness and drama! 

The ending was just perfect and did not expect it, especially when I read the first book, you would just think no way! I loved all the characters and feel they we're portrayed wonderfully, they each had their own style and uniqueness and I will honestly miss reading about them. The series will definitely be going on my "Re-read" pile in the near future. 

If anyone has read the series and would like to recommend a new series, please feel free to comment :) I would be very happy! 

I will give this book 8.5 out of 10

The series 10 out of 10